Chickasaw County IAGenWeb (2024)

Chickasaw County IAGenWeb




Chickasaw and Howard Counties




History of Chickasaw County.




Lessening each year, under the relentless hand of death, the little band of hardy pioneers, who first broke the way for civilization and planted the broad marks of progress on the virgin prairie of Chickasaw County, are fast passing away, and before they have all been gathered to their rest let us hasten and gather from their lips the tales of bygone days, when hardy pioneers, both men and women, leaving the friendly shelter of the old home, pushed out into the domain of the wild beast and his scarce less wild brother the savage, and there essayed to carve them out a new home.

Their bent forms, their furrowed brows and hoary hair, tell of the fierce battle with trial and hardship-the fight for life with penury and want, but the bright eye, the firm glance, tell that they conquered, as only a noble band of heroes could conquer, and they seem spared to sanctify the homes that they have founded in this domain of nature. Their deeds deserve a place in history, that will long survive the monuments of marble that must soon mark the place where they will be at rest. Let us then gather the details from them before they go, that we may honor them as we should. And here let us draw


between the then and now. Although settled at a comparatively late date this parallel seems startling, those who have lived quietly upon their farms, which they settled when they first came, can hardly realize the change, having seen it grow up so gradually. But like the years of man the country has been growing steadily on. Thirty-five years ago these now productive acres, these rich grazing lands and fertile farms, were lying an almost unbroken wilderness, the hunting ground and often the battle ground of the red Indian.

The soil was rich and productive, but what sterling nerve and determination was required to make it a suitable habitation for man and to reclaim to the uses of civilization its virgin soil, verily, to turn the back on the older homes of our race and carve out a new one on the bosom of the praries was no light task. No roads laid out or opened, and the settler was often compelled to go thirty or forty miles to mill, and happy was he if he had grist to grind at that.

Agricultural and domestic implements were scarce and crude, and hard manual labor replaced them to a great extent. Contrast the difference between the rude appliances of those early days, O, ye pioneers ! with the manifold labor-saving implements of to-day, both in housekeeping and husbandry. The harvester with the scythe - the threshing machine with the flail - the sewing machine with its more humble sister the sewing needle, and so on, through all the long list, and then you can mark the change.

Contrast the rude log school house, which served its multiform purpose of school, church, court-house and often the only public building within the radius of a day's journey, with the more pretentious churches, school-houses and county buildings of the present day.

In those early days, "that tried men's souls," or at least their nerve and back bone, no handy market was there, for the farm produce, nor convenient store where he could purchase all his needs called for, but a long journey over a dreary road, often extending to 75 or 100 miles before he could reach a place advanced enough to boast of a buyer and seller of produce and merchandise, and his only conveyance the slow plodding oxen, or scarce more expeditious farm horse. Now the iron horse snorts almost at the very door, and towns and villages dot these boundless prairies, bringing in their train all conveniences of civilized life, and even all the luxuries of the olden home he left in the bye gone days. But let us to the facts.

The following facts as to the location, physical features, soil and drainage, and resources of Chickasaw County, are mainly taken from Andreas' State Atlas of Iowa, and are believed to be as accurate as are obtainable. They are supplemented with additional facts, wherever it is possible to procure reliable data and information:

Chickasaw is the third county west of the Mississippi River in the second tier from the north line of the State. It contains an area of 504 square miles, or 322,560 acres

The surface of the country is generally gently undulating, and in some places very nearly level. Very little rolling land is found within its limits, and this is confined principally to a narrow strip of the southwestern township, in the vicinity of Cedar River. The natural drainage of this surface is remarkably good, as the county is traversed by no less than seven streams of considerable size, all flowing in a southeasterly direction, and almost parallel to each other, which, with their numerous small affluents, drain nearly every section in the county. The current in these streams is uniformly quite rapid, but the nature of the rock underlying the entire county has prevented them from eroding deep channels.

The numerous streams supply the county with numerous water powers, which are being improved as the agricultural resources of the county are developed and require their use. It has so far been chiefly employed for milling purposes, as other manufacturing enterprises have not been inaugurated to any great extent.

The streams are also generally skirted with timber, of which, however, the county has not an abundant supply. There is enough to supply the ordinary needs of the county since the railroads have brought pine lumber within reach, as it is more economical both for building and fencing than native lumber. The timber is tolerably well distributed, and since the settlement of the county has diminished the ravages of fire it is growing rapidly in groves upon the prairies. The largest body of timber lies along the Cedar River in the southwest part of the county.

The county is almost entirely underlaid with strata of rock which geologists ascribe to the Hamilton group of the Devonian Age. It is an argillacious limestone. or highly calcareous shales alternating with bands of limestone. The following measurements of the different strata at a quarry near Bradford, on Cedar River, will indicate the general character of the rock formation:

Light-gray, fine grained limestone ............... 9 inches.

Dark-gray, thick shaly limestone ................. 7 feet.

Buff-gray crystalline limestone .................... 5 inches.

Hard, dark-gray shaly limestone ................. 8 inches.

Hard dark-gray limestone ........................... 7 inches.

Unexposed .................................................. 2 feet.

Light, buff-gray limestone ........................... 1 ft. 8 in.

The limestone exposed at this quarry is of medium purity, and quite hard. So for as observed, it is almost destitute of fossil. It is well exposed only along the banks of Cedar River. Elsewhere over the county the comparatively level surface of deep drift, and the shallow channels of the streams are causes which prevent its frequent exposure.

Materials suitable for the manufacture of brick may be found in nearly every township.

In an early day a large portion of the land in this county was considered rather too wet to be of the highest value for cultivation. The wet land was not found in the form of low marshes, difficult of drainage, for there were none of these, but was as frequent upon the highest prairies as elsewhere. This peculiarity has very rapidly disappeared within the last few years, as indeed it could scarcely fail to do with the excellent natural drainage already described. It was doubtless caused in part by the comparatively slight depressions made by the water course, but the principal cause is probably to be found in the nature of the soil and subsoil.The soil is a deep, rich black loam, abundantly supplied with vegetable mold from the decay of the wild grasses which grew profusely upon its surface. The subsoil is a deep bed of the drift deposite consisting of earth near the surface, and beneath this mingled clay, sand and gravel. Its texture was not so suitable for admitting the percolation of water through it from the surface as the light porous subsoil of other sections, and the limestone rock does not come near enough the surface to supply the under drainage afforded to still other sections. The luxuriant growth of grass and tough sward which it formed tended to retard the drying of the soil by evaporation. An undue proportion of water was retained near the surface by these causes. Cultivation in places and the pasturage of the intervening prairies, have tended to equalize the conditions and the wet character of the soil began to disappear without artificial drainage. Indeed, it is now satisfactorily demonstrated that cultivation alone is capable of effecting a complete cure ; that the soil, although in an early day appearing to be of rather a sluggish quality, not so easily or readily subdued as that of some other sections, becomes in the course of a few years, as lively and as well adapted to the plow as any other, and that it is rich and productive, possessing qualities of strength and durability found wanting in soils that were more easily subdued from a state of nature, and which also wear out more easily. The statistics published in another part of this work, show that in relative productiveness for the amount of land in cultivation, Chickasaw county takes rank among the foremost counties of the State of Iowa.

The principal grain products of the county are wheat, corn, oats, and barley. Wheat takes the lead slightly, followed very closely by corn, and to a somewhat less degree by oats. The soil seems to be nearly equally well adapted to all these grains, the relative profit to be derived from them, chiefly govern the extent of cultivation. Stock raising is an important branch of its industries, as both native and tame grasses thrive luxuriantly, and, indeed, cattle raising is by many deemed more remunerative than extensive grain growing. The county is therefore admirably suited for mixed or diversified farming, and is not devoted to one class of crops, or to grain growing or stock raising to the exclusion or detriment of the other branch, but most of its farmers cultivate the several kinds of grain and grass and raise small herds of cattle, thereby securing the rotation in crops and other conditions most highly advantageous and favorable a reliable productiveness, and have every year some surplus that will bring a good price in the market, whether any particular product be up or down.

The mineral resources of the county are comparatively slight, being limited to a few quarries, of building stone. Her agricultural resources are remarkably good, as we have already described, and must constitute the foundation of her future prosperity. There are excellent resources for manufacturing purposes, in her abundant water powers. These have been already improved to considerable extent for flouring mills, but with her rich agricultural resources and demand for machinery, ought to be made to propel a large amount of machinery employed in the manufacture of agricultural implements and woolen goods, which will doubtless be done in time.

The railroad facilities of the county are good. It is traveled from east to west by the Iowa and Dakota division of the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul railway, with stations at New Hampton, Lawler and Chickasaw, affording ready access to the best wheat market of the northwest-Milwaukee. The Cedar Falls and Minnesota branch of the Illinois Central railroad traverses the south-west corner, with an important station at Nashua. Both of these roads furnish ready communication with the principal pine lumber districts.

We would add, however, that the capability of the county for grazing purposes,, is largely turning the attention of the farming community in that direction, with marked success, as is instanced by an improved financial condition of all classes.

Already a large number of creameries dot these fertile prairies, and foreshadow a new era in the prosperity of the county. The population is largely made up of the emigrants from the over-crowded European countries, principally from Ireland, Germany and Scandinavia, with many from the older states of our own country, but all blend harmoniously in working for the present and future good of this their adopted home.



The first attempt at organizing the county of Chickasaw was made in 1853, the following, which relates thereto, being the first entry in the records of the county judge:

"The county of Chickasaw embraces towns 94, 95, 96 and 97, ranges 11, 12, 13 and 14, west of the fifth principal meridian; and by order of the county judge of Fayette county, state of Iowa, the same was on the 30th day of June, A. D. 1853, ordered organized. John Bird, organizing sheriff in the election held on the 13th day of August, 1853"

The following is a copy of the original notice to the organizing sheriff, marked, filed December 31st, 1854, in the office of the county judge of Chickasaw county, by J. Lyon county judge:



John Bird - Sir: By virtue of power vested in me by the code of Iowa, I have this day appointed you organizing sheriff for the organization of Chickasaw county. You are hereby required to post up at least five written notices in said county, that on the first Monday in August there will be an election held at the house of A. E. Haskel in the town of Bradford, for the purpose of organizing said county and electing county officers as follows. to-wit:

"County judge, district clerk, recorder, and treasurer, school fund commissioner, prosecuting attorney, sheriff, coroner, and county surveyor.

"And also one justice of the peace, one constable, three township trustees and town clerk. And make due returns to me of the same at my office in West Union.

"The above mentioned notices to be posted up at least ten days prior to the election.


"County Judge."

"June 30th, 1853.

The election was held as so ordered, and so far as can be definitely ascertained, G. R, Rowley was elected county judge; William Tucker, school fund commissioner; but for reasons satisfactory, no doubt, to himself, this result was not in accordance with the wishes of the organizing sheriff, Bird, who it would seem, consequently withheld all returns on his warrant, and ordered a new election, which took place April 3d, 1854, at which the organization of the county was duly effected.

The only record showing this election is the bond of John Campbell as treasurer and recorder signed by G. R. Rowley and James S. Frazee as bondsmen, and filed in the office of James Lyon, county judge, April 12th, 1854. The bond was in the sum of five thousand dollars. Tradition has it that S. C. Goddard resigned as clerk of the districts court, and his place was filled by J. A. J. Bird. To the filing of the finding of the commissioners, locating the county seat at Bradford, under date of August 14th. 1554, we find Bird's signature attached. An entry bearing date September 5th, 1853, records a session of county court held that day, Judge James Lyon presiding, at which no business was transacted, and the court adjourned. This is signed by S. C. Goddard as clerk.

The county of Chickasaw, as appears from the above, was organized April 3d, 1854, when the following officers were elected: James Lyon, county judge; John Campbell, recorder and treasurer; S. C. Goddard, district clerk; D. A. Babco*ck, prosecuting attorney; Andrew Sample, sheriff; Oscar Cooley, surveyor; Dr. S. C. Haynes, coroner.

At this election the whole county was treated as one precinct, under the name of Bradford. The following is a concise account of the subsequent township organization:

At the March term of the county court, 1855, it was ordered that the county of Chickasaw constitute five election districts, viz: 1. That town 94-14 and 13 be called Bradford district. 2. That town 95-14 and 13 be called Chickasaw district. 3. That town 96-14 and 13 be called Brink district. 4. That town 96 and one-half of 97-11 and 12, be called Obispo district. 5. That towns 94 and 95-11 and 12 be called Yankee district.

At the March term of the county court, 1856, township 96, range 14, and the south half of 97-14, were set off as a new township under the name of Deerfield, and organized at the ensuing election.

At the same term, township 94, range 13, was set off, and at the ensuing election organized under the name of Richland.

At the same term an order was made to organize township 96-13 and the south half of 97-13, under name of Washington, and the township proceeded to organize; but the organization was pronounced irregular, and it was attached to Deerfield.

At the April term, 1857, township 95-12 was ordered organized under the name of New Hampton; also 96-13 and the south half of 97-13, under the name of Washington; also 94-11 and 12 under the name Fredericksburg. At this term the west half of 94-12 was attached to Richland, and 95-11 was organized under the name of Stephen.

At the July term, 1857, township 95-13 was ordered organized under the name of Dayton.

At the March term, 1858, 96-12 and the south half of 97-12, were ordered organized under the name of Jacksonville, and at the same time 96-11 and the south half of 97-11, were ordered organized under the name of Utica.

In 1859, 94-12 was ordered organized under the name of Dresden. Subsequently, the east tier of sections of Dresden was detached and placed in Fredericksburg township, but these have been since replaced, except the southeast of section 12 and the northeast of 13.

A part of Dayton township has been taken from it and placed in New Hampton township, viz: the east half of northeast, and the northeast half of the southeast of section 12.

Precedent to its organization as narrated above, Chickasaw county was first created as a political subdivision of the State of Iowa, in 1851, by chapter nine of the act of the third general assembly, section that thirty-three of which reads as follows: "That the following shall be the boundaries of a new country which shall be called Chickasaw, to-wit: Beginning at the northwest corner of township 97, range 10; thence west to the northwest corner of township 97, range 14, thence south to the southwest corner of township 94, range 14; thence east to the southwest corner of township 14, range 10; thence to the place of beginning;" which act was approved on the 15th day of January, 1851.

A chapter one hundred and twenty of the acts of the fourth general assembly, the boundaries were changed as follows: "Section 1. Be it enacted by the general assembly of the state of Iowa, that the north half of township 97, of ranges number 11, 12, 13 and 14, following the line of the United States subdivision thereof, shall be, and the same are hereby detached from Chickasaw county and attached to Howard.

By the act of the fourth general assembly, chapter twelve, approved January, 1843, Chickasaw county, "attached to Fayette county for election, revenue and judicial purposes," and it was by Thomas Woodle, county judge of Fayette county, that the order appointing John Bird organizing sheriff of Chickasaw county, was issued June 30th, 1853, as related in preceding pages.

And here it will be in order to present a record of the


in Chickasaw county, beginning with the first canvass of election that appears of record in the election book in the office of the county auditor :

AUGUST, 1856.

The first canvass of election recorded is that of the election- held in August, 1856. For State Senator, 34th District, 296 votes were cast, of which Jeremiah T. Atkins received 219 and Edward Ellis seventy-seven votes; for Representative, 48th District, E. R. Gillett received 205 and William Pattee ninety-two votes. Timothy Davis and Shepherd Leffler were opposing candidates for Congress from this, then the 2d Congressional District. Davis received 225 votes, Leffler eighty-one. For Secretary of State, Elijah Sells, 224 votes; George Snyder, seventy-nine; scattering, three. Clerk of district court, George W. Reed, 166; Wesley Swazee, 140. Prosecuting attorney, Frederick Hall, 219; A. G. Case, ninety-two.

For county surveyor, C. M. Webster received 164 votes out of a possible 303, H. H. Shaffer, being his unsuccessful competitor. Edwin Cudworth was elected coroner, receiving 168 votes, Elijah Gunn receiving ninety-one and C. M. Webster forty-seven votes for the same office. Forty-five votes were cast against the "hog law" to 236 in its favor, this beneficent measure being thus carried by a rattling majority.


A special election in aid of McGregor, St. Peter and Mississippi railroad. Total vote, 536; "for the railroad stock;" 352 "against the railroad stock," 176; ballots incorrectly worded, eight.

APRIL 6, 1857.

At this election D. A. Jackson was elected assessor by a vote of 381 out of a total of 579 votes, M. B. Taylor receiving 195, J. Jack-son one and F. Padden two. At the same election 309 votes were cast in favor of granting aid to the Chicago, Iowa and Nebraska railroad and 216 votes against granting such aid. L. H. Bugsbee. received 329 votes for superintendent public instruction, Maturin L. Fisher seventy-nine. For commissioner of Des Moines river improvement. Edwin Manning received 329 votes to Gideon. S. Bailey's eighty-nine. For Register State Land Office. W. H. Holmes, 328; T. S. Parvin, eighty-nine.

AUGUST 3 1857.

Lorenzo Bailey was elected county judge, receiving 438 votes against I. C. H. Miller's 338. F. D. Bosworth was elected recorder and treasurer, the vote standing 421 for Bosworth to 353 for Wesley Swazee. For Sheriff; Frederick Padden, 414; A. E. Bigelow, 350. Surveyor, C. M. Webster, 430; H. H. Shaffer, 349. F. K. Figons was elected coroner and E. D. Filer, drainage commissioner. On the question of the adoption of the new constitution 685 votes were cast, 389 in favor of, and 296 against. On striking out the work "white" from the suffrage clause-ninety-one votes "yes," 109 votes "no."

OCTOBER 31, 1857.

In question of railroad tax-whole number of votes cast, 644; "yes," 270; "no," 375.

APRIL 5, 1858.

School fund commissioner, whole number of votes cast, 829; C. A. Orvis was elected. A. W. Billings, was elected surveyor;

Dr. J. Mack coroner; P. Green, drainage commissioner. On the question of locating county seat, 823 votes were cast the returns showing that Forest City received 432 votes and New Hampton 391. At this election a vote was taken on the question of rescinding the votes in aid of the McGregor, St. Peter and Mississippi and the Cedar Valley Branch of the Chicago, Iowa, and Nebraska railroads, the opponents of railroad aid coming out victorious by decided majorities. A proposed tax to the amount of $1,300 to aid in the construction of a bridge across the Big Cedar at Nashua was defeated.

OCTOBER 12, 1858.

C. O. Case was elected county clerk and William Tucker, drain-age commissioner. The vote for secretary of state was as follows: Elijah Sells, 427; Samuel Douglass, 322; total vote, 749. For member of Congress, 2d congressional district, William Vandever received 477 votes and W. E. Leffingwell, 322.

OCTOBER 11, 1859.

There were 730 votes east for county judge, E. H. Dore receiving 397, C. A. Orvis 333; W. E. Beach was elected recorder and treasurer; Patrick Gilligan, sheriff; G. J. Tisdale, superintendent; E. W. Davis surveyor, A. E. Bigelow, drainage commissioner and A. J. Smith, coroner.


C. O. Case was elected clerk of district court, receiving the entire vote, 854. The following gentlemen were elected members of the first board of county supervisors: C. D. Johnson, F. D. Bosworth, Vinal Thayer, E. Perry, E. W. Davis, Gideon Gardner, E. Darst, William Tucker, Almon Harris, J. H. Vantassell, M. L. Palmer, D. R. Kerby.

OCTOBER 8, 1861.

There were 700 votes cast for county judge, Caleb Arnold receiving 483, W. C. Mitchell 217. Other county officers were elected as follows: Charles. Fitch, surveyor; J. A. Sawin, superintendent; Buell Sherman, coroner; Edwin Cudworth, drainage commissioner. For representative 685 votes were polled, of which J. F. Wilson received 440, William Tucker 244, and one "scattering."

FEBRUARY 25, 1862.

This was a special election for state senator, 40th senatorial district. But 294 votes were cast, of which G. W. Howard received 223, A. G. Case thirty-eight, scattering thirty-three.

OCTOBER 14, 1862.

C. O. Case was elected clerk of the district court and Samuel H. Young, surveyor. There were 112 votes cast by Chickasaw county volunteers in the service in various regiments.

OCTOBER 13, 1863.

For representative, 49th district, 927 votes were cast, Henry C. Vinton receiving 666 and Daniel Powd 261. S. G. Meriam was elected county judge his competitors being Caleb Arnold and B. E. Morton. The other officers elected were, Samuel H. Young, surveyor, F. D. Bosworth, superintendent; Buell Sherman, coroner; Edwin Cudworth, drainage commissioner.

NOVEMBER 8, 1864.

C. O. Case was elected clerk of district court, receiving 772 votes, the entire number cast. B. E. Morton was elected recorder. One hundred and 35 votes were cast by soldiers in the field. The question to appropriate funds to build county building was decided affirmatively by a vote of 497 to 270, and it was also voted to appropriate funds to build bridge at Nashua, there being 445 votes for, to 336 votes against.

OCTOBER, 10, 1865,

The total vote for representative, 49th district, was 908, as follows: G. J. Tisdale 489, D. A. Babco*ck 409, A. G. Case nine, W. A. Pitts 1. G. A. Hamilton was elected county judge, his competitors being M. C. Ayres and John Mays. John Dixon was elected sheriff, J. C. Johnson superintendent, S. H. Young surveyor, John A. Green drainage commissioner, L. H. Weller coroner.

OCTOBER 9, 1866.

C. O. Case was unanimously elected clerk of district court, total vote 1,085; B. E. Morton was elected recorder, and C. M. Webster, treasurer. The proposition to devote the swamp land fund to the erection of bridges and to public improvements, carried.

OCTOBER, 1867.

The total vote cast for representative, 4th district, was 1,074, of which William Tucker received 493. His unsuccessful competitors were G. J. Tisdale and L. H. Weller. G. A. Hamilton was elected county judge, James A. Albertson, sheriff, W. W. Birdsall, treasurer, J. C. Johnson superintendent, H. H. Potter surveyor, William Everingham coroner, J. H. Powers drainage commissioner.


The Iowa Republican presidential electors received 995 votes; Democratic presidential electors, 520; total votes, 1,515. For Secretary of State, Ed. Wright received 1,023 votes; David Hammer, 492. William B. Allison received 960 votes for congress (3d congressional district); William Mills 529, and L. A. Thomas 4. "For the tax," 725; "against the tax," 619." Zelotes Bailey was elected clerk of district court. and B. E. Morton county recorder.

OCTOBER, 1869.

Representative, 57th district, total vote, 1,268; G. W. Butterfield 506, D. B. Hanan 441, William Tucker 311, one "scattering." The "stock act" was carried. W. W. Birdsall was elected county treasurer, G. A. Hamilton auditor, E. W. Beach sheriff, H. H. Potter surveyor, W. P. Bennett superintendent, Dr. Amos Babco*ck, coroner.

OCTOBER, 1870.

At this election 1,480 votes were polled, of which W, G. Donnan received 967, and J. T. Stoneman 517, for congress ; C. C. Cole, William E. Miller and James F. Day received majorities for judges of the supreme court; Ed. Wright received 988 for secretary of state, and county officers were elected as follows: C. A. Harris recorder, Joseph F. Grawe superintendent. Zelotes Bailey was elected clerk of district and circuit court. The proposition to establish a high school at Bradford was voted down.

OCTOBER 16, 1871.

For governor C. C. Carpenter received 1,001, and J. C. Knapp 694; for representative, 57th district, 1,677 votes were cast, of which D. B. Hanan received 889, his competitor being G. W. Butterfield. John Foley was elected treasurer, G. A. Hamilton auditor, R. O. Sheldon sheriff, C. Seeber Surveyor, J. F. Grawe superintendent, Dr. A. Babco*ck coroner, John A. Green members of board of supervisors. The proposition to restrain stock from running at large was voted down. The proposition to levy a tax of two mills to purchase a county poor farm, was decided affirmatively by a vote of 1,003 to 435.

NOVEMBER 12, 1872.

Total number of votes cast 1,660. For president, Grant received 1,122 and Greeley 501. Z. Bailey was elected clerk of courts, C. A. Harris recorder, W. D. Stafford member of the board of supervisor.

OCTOBER 14, 1873.

For representative, total vote 1,832; D. B. Hanan received 894 votes, F. D. Bosworth 641, William Tucker 296, and Daniel Pond one. George A. Hamilton was elected auditor, John Foley treasurer, R. O. Sheldon sheriff, J. F. Grawe superintendent, W. R. Geeting surveyor, Dr. I. K. Gardner coroner, E. R. Dickinson and E. C. Abbott member of board of supervisors. The county jail tax was defeated by a vote of 1,018 to 176.

OCTOBER 14, 1874.

Total vote, 1,500; J. M. Gilliland was elected clerk of the courts, C. A. Harris Recorder and E. C. Abbott member of Board of Supervisors.

OCTOBER 18, 1875.

The total vote for representative, 63d district, was 1,811; John McHugh was the successful candidate. Lee Chapman was elected auditor, John Foley treasurer, R. O. Sheldon sheriff, W. D. Collins superintendent, W. R. Geeting surveyor, I. K. Gardner coroner, Thomas Kenyon member of board of supervisors.

NOVEMBER 7, 1876.

J. M. Gilliland was elected clerk of the courts, C. A. Harris recorder, W. A. Eastman surveyor, E. R. Dickinson member of supervisors.

OCTOBER 9, 1877.

William B. Perrin was elected representative, 63d district; total vote polled, 2,471. The following county officers were elected: Lee Chapman auditor, John Foley treasurer, R. O. Sheldon, sheriff, W. D. Collins superintendent, W. A. Eastman surveyor, I. K. Gardner coroner, John Houser member of the board of supervisors.

OCTOBER 8, 1878.

Total vote, 2,539. J. M. Gilliland was elected clerk of the courts, C. A. Harris recorder, George W. Cotant surveyor, Thos. Kenyon supervisor.

OCTOBER 14, 1879.

Total vote, 2,974. W. B. Perrin was elected representative, 67th district; E. P. Sheffield auditor, John A. Green treasurer, R. O. Sheldon sheriff, Henry A. Simons superintendent, A. E. Quaife surveyor, I. K. Gardner coroner. At this election it was voted to increase the members of the board of county supervisors from three to five.

NOVEMBER 2, 1880.

Total vote, 2,758. J. M. Lynch was elected clerk of the court, A. H. Wight recorder, John Hauser, Hiram Bailey and Charles cumme*rford supervisors. The act restraining stock from running at large was voted down.

OCTOBER 11, 1881.

The total number of votes cast for representative, 67th district, Was 1,763, of which James F. Babco*ck received 1,005, and Buell Sherman 758. E. P. Sheffield was elected auditor, John A. Green treasurer, Horton Mandeville sheriff, J. A. Lapham superintendent, C. L. Gabrilson supervisor, Geo. W. Cotant surveyor, I. K. Gardner coroner.

JUNE 27, 1882.

The vote on the Prohibition Amendment in Chickasaw county was as follows: Total vote, 2,450; for the amendment, 1,382; against the amendment 1,068-majority in favor of the amendment, 314.



While the question of who has the honor of being the first white settler within the borders of what now constitutes the county of Chickasaw, lies clothed in doubt, misty tradition hath it, that several parties during the year 1840, came to the Indian Reservation, at or near where Bradford now stands, and staid all summer, breaking land, fencing, etc, (SEE BRADFORD TOWNSHIP). Still, as they did not remain permanently, they can hardly be considered in the light of first SETTLERS. The balance of evidence seems to point to the fact that Truman Merritt, who settled near Greenwood in the year 1848, is entitled to the name of being the first who brought his family into the county with the intention of remaining.

The first child born was a daughter of the above Merritt, who first saw light during the year 1850.

The first male child, however, was Elmer Case, whose birth in 1851, near Greenwood, brought joy to his family and a prospective voter to the county.

The first sermons preached were delivered in the year 1853, by aMr. Ingam, at the house of Mr. John Bird, at the village of Bradford.

The first store ever opened in the county we are credibly informed was owned by J. A. J. Bird at Bradford and the date of its initiation was probably 1853.

For fuller particulars of all these events, we would respectfully refer our readers to the history of Bradford township, where, as that being the first settled portion of the county, these matters have been treated more in detail.

The first entry in the records of the county judges of Chickasaw county describes the boundaries of the county, and recites the order for organization and the appointment of John Bird "organizing Sheriff" in the election held on the 13th day of August, A. D., 1853. This, together with the entry recording the session of court held Sept. 5th, 1853, at which no business was transacted, signed by J. Lyons as county judge, and attested by S. C. Goddard as clerk, has been already quoted.

On the 5th of September, 1853, appears the first record of a marriage license granted, the contracting parties being Joseph Aving and Elizabeth Jarrard.

October 10, court again convened, but no business was trans-acted. At the session held November 7th, a petition signed by John Bird, Andrew Sample, E. A. Haskell and others, for a county road, to be called the West Union and Bradford road, was referred to E. A. Haskel as commissioner, to report at the next term of court.

On the 31st of December, 1853, a marriage license was granted toJohn Kerr and Loraine Philps.

On the 2d of January, 1854, Joseph Andrews was appointed selecting agent for swamp lands. On the 10th of February, 1854, S. E. Hackleton was granted license to peddle for three months, and on the same date a marriage license was granted to C. Rowley and Mary A. Thouraman. After this date matrimonial permits are of increasingly frequent occurrences.

At the April term, 1854, a petition of D. A. Babco*ck, S. C. Haynes and Joseph Andrews for a county road, to be called the West Union and Greenwood road, was referred to Samuel Thompson as commissioner ; road petitions and proceedings consequent there-on, forming a very considerable portion of the business transacted from and after this date. At the May term it was "ordered that the West Union and Bradford road become a road sixty-six feet wide, and that all roads hereafter be of the same width."

At a special term, August 28th, 1855, [From the connection of this paragraph with others, it is evident that this date should be 1854,] it was ordered that a tax on the taxable property in this county should be levied as follows : for state purposes, 3 mills ; for county purposes, 4 1/2 mills; for school purposes, 1/2 mill ; and a poll of 50 cents on each person liable thereto.

August 29th, 1854, "ordered that E. A. Haskell receive the appointment of recorder and treasurer."

Applications for county roads were especially numerous during the year 1855.

At a special term held July 23d, 1855, the following tax rates were established for the current year: for state purposes, 11 mills; for county, 6 mills; for schools, 1i mills; for roads, 3 mills; and a poll tax of 50 cents. An order was issued for an election of county officers, a vote for or against restraining hogs from running at large after April 1st, 1856, and a vote for or against vacating Greenwood village, the election to be held on the first Monday in Au-gust; and that Brink precinct be attached to Chickasaw for election purposes.

On the 20th of August the village of Greenwood was ordered vacated. On the same date appear the following entries:

"Ordered that Hazzard Green be appointed to sell intoxicating liquors for medicinal, sacramental and mechanical purposes only, for the salary of $50 per year, to sell in the Obispo precinct only;" and a similar entry with reference to J. A. J. Bird in the town of Bradford.

The first entry of B. E. DePuy as county judge, is of date October 1st, 1855, and has reference to the appointment of a commissioner, to locate a road to be known as the Waucoma road.

November 5th, 1855, James Lyons qualified as a justice of the peace.

At the February term, 1856, a petition was presented by OsgoodGowen from J. C. H. Miller and 224 others, for the selection of the-county seat at New Hampton, in the geographical center of the county, and an order was granted for a vote to be taken at the April election.

At the May term, 1856, W. E. Andrews, county judge ex-officio, "Samuel P. Elder was appointed liquor agent for the town of Bradford, at an annual salary of $100, and it was ordered that any liquor agent now acting in said county, or hereafter appointed, shall charge 25 per cent. profit on the cost of any intoxicating liquor sold by any such agent, until otherwise ordered by the court."

At the July term, 1856, it was ordered that a "road poll tax of $2 be laid on each person liable to pay county poll tax." The total tax levy for 1856 was 81 mills. One mill of the tax levied for road and bridge purposes, was "for building bridges too expensive to be constructed from the ordinary road tax.

"In pursuance of the code of Iowa, and by request of the people of Chickasaw county, an election was called for the 15th day of October, 1856, to vote upon the following question : "Whether the said county of Chickasaw will take $100,000 of the stock of the McGregor, St. Peters and Missouri river railroad company; said road to run by the way of Bradford; and issue bonds in payment therefore, bearing interest at the rate of ten per cent. per annum, the principal sum payable in twenty years; and that a tax be levied on the taxable property of said county, for the payment of interest and principal; said railroad company to pay the interest on said bonds until said road is in operation to the west line of said county. The form of the vote shall be: `For the railroad stock,' or, `Against the railroad stock.' "

By reference to the record of elections, it will be seen that at the election called for the above purpose, the question was decided in the affirmative, by a vote of 356 to 176; but at a subsequent election, held April 5th, 1858, this vote was rescinded by a majority as decisive.

The first record of naturalization is of date October 22d, 1856, when James Prior, a native of England, declared his intention to become a citizen of the United States.

At the November term, 1856, S. B. Carpenter was appointed liquor agent for Richland and adjoining townships, at a salary of $70.

The following is a copy of the settlement with the county treasurer of Chickasaw county, from September 1st, 1865, to March 18th, 1856:

G. W. Howard, County Treasurer,

To Chickasaw County, Dr.

To tax-list for 1855 ...................................... $ 5,853 14

" 281 polls........................................................ 140 50

" marriage fees................................................... 10 00

" fines................................................................ 10 00

" balance for 1854............................................ 183 43

Total..................................................... $ 6,197 07


By delinquent tax.......................................... $ 1,635 72

" county warrants paid...................................... 787 97

" road " "......................................... 212 77

" error in tax list................................................. 21 83

" payment to state treasurer............................. 500 00

" " " school fund commissioners............. 486 65

" " " " " "........................... 15 00

Total....................................................... $ 3,659 94

The amount of taxable property as returned by the assessors for 1856, was $1,071,726.

There was placed in the hands of the county treasurer for collection, on the 15th day of September, 1856, the sum of $9,045.74, divided as follows: Amount of tax on property, $8,841.74; amount of poll tax, $204.00.

At the March term, 1857, a proclamation was issued, calling an election, to be held on the 6th day of April, 1857, to vote upon the question of taking $100,000 of stock of the Cedar Valley branch of the Chicago, Iowa and Nebraska railroad company; said road to be run on the east side of the Little Cedar river, from a point near Bradford to a point at or near the village of Chickasaw; issuing bonds bearing 10 per cent. interest and running twenty years therefor. This proposition prevailed at the election by a vote of 309 to 216, but was also subsequently rescinded.

At the May term, 1857, the commissioners appointed by an act of the legislature to relocate the county seat of Chickasaw county, reported in favor of the geographical center at New Hampton.

The total tax levy for 1857 was 111 mills. A road poll of one dollar was levied, in addition to a poll tax of fifty cents, for county purposes.

We find under date of June 2d, 1857, that the county judge is-sue two marriage licenses, one to C. W. Taylor, and one to Geo. B. Holcomb, both to marry the same lady, and tradition hath it that the old adage in regard to two stools was borne out in this case as the lady remains unmarried to this day.

The first mention of Nashua in the county judge's record is, under date of December 15th, 1857, as follows: "Ordered that $1,000 of the special property tax be expended to construct a bridge across the Big Cedar at Nashua."

At Forest City, May 12th, 1858, the board of equalization reduced the assessment of 1857 upon real estate fifty per cent. The tax levy for 1858 was 91 mills.

Frederick Padden resigned as sheriff November 3d, 1858, and Charles E. Zwicks was appointed to fill the vacancy. W. S. Mower was appointed deputy sheriff and E. M. Aiken was appointed deputy clerk by C. O. Case. For 1859, a county tax of 4 mills, and a school tax of 1 mill were levied. On the 27th of October, 1859 the official bond of the county treasurer was placed at $8,000. For 1860, the tax rates for county and school purposes were the same as for the previous year.

The records of the board of county supervisors begin with the first meeting held at New Hampton on the 7th day of January, 1861. The following is a list of the


C. D. Johnson, Bradford twp. E. Darst, Dayton twp .

F. D. Bosworth, Richland " Wm. Tucker, Chickasaw twp.

Vinal Thayer, Dresden " Almon Harris, Deerfield "

E. Perry, Fredricksburg " J. H. Vantassell, Washington twp

E. W. Davis, Stapleton " W. L. Palmer, Jacksonville "

Gideon Gardner, New Hampton D. B. Kerby, Utica

M. L. Palmer was elected president of the board, but resigned, and William Tucker was elected in his place. The appropriate committees were then appointed. On the following day rules and regulations were adopted, and miscellaneous business proceeded with.

At this term H. C. Baldwin was allowed ten cents per night for sleeping in the county office until further arrangements were made. The sheriff was instructed to move the safe, books, stationery and wood, for the use of the county officers, from the school house in New Hampton to the court room, and was given general charge of the few effects of the county. Blank books, to cost not more than seventy-five cents per copy, were voted the justices of the peace in each township, to be used as dockets. The total expense of this session, including pay of the supervisors, was $141.40.

On the 1st of June, 1861, the total amount of money in the county treasurer's hands for disbursem*nt, was $3,302.93.

At the June term, 1861, it was ordered that the partition of the school building be removed, that the room be also used for district court purposes, and that Cotant & McCullow's building be rented for county offices, for one year at $60 per year.

At the same term the clerk was authorized to advertise for sealed proposals for the purchase of a farm, to be used as a county poor farm. At the October term, it was reported inadvisable, in the then condition of the county finances, to purchase a poor farm.

In the proceedings of the January term, 1862, appears the following entry: "Warn-no-cat and Mich-a-gan (Indians) presented accounts for bounty on wild cats. It was moved and seconded that the said accounts be allowed. The yeas and nays being called for, resulted nine yeas, and three nays. The members voting in the negative, said they did so on account of the oath of an Indian not being considered valid by our laws."

A resolution was introduced at this session, authorizing the employment of an attorney to represent the county in the case of Chickasaw county vs. Lorenzo Bailey, in the supreme court of the state, and reccommending J. O. Crosby.

A. W. Billings was appointed county surveyor in place of Chas. Fitch, who had left the state. The appointment of D. A. Jackson to be deputy sheriff was approved.

H. C. Baldwin, deputy recorder and treasurer, was requested and authorized to sleep in the county office, the records and moneys of the county being deemed liable to robbery and destruction, and Mr. B. was authorized to choose a person "as his company nights in said office," both to receive a suitable compensation, and accommodations to be furnished them by the county.

At the June term, 1862, citizens of Nashua asked an appropriation of $1,000 to build a bridge across the Big Cedar, which petition was referred to the committee on roads and bridges.

At the September term, 1862, Eli Darst was appointed county surveyor, vice E. W. Davis resigned, and Emily Stebbins was appointed deputy recorder and treasurer. At the October term, T. N. Skinner was appointed to fill vacancy as county superintendent occasioned by the removal of J. H. Sawin from the state. At this term, also, C. O. Case was authorized to purchase a county seal; and the salary of the clerk was fixed at $500 per year, deducting therefrom the amount of fees received.

At the September meeting of the board, 1863, the salary of the clerk was fixed at $600, exclusive of pay for assistance.

At the January term, 1864, the county treasurer's bond was fixed at $16,000. A petition from Nashua for $3,000 to build a bridge across the Big Cedar at that point, was denied, on the ground that the law prescribed the course to be pursued in such cases.

As an indication of the mighty onward march of progressive civilization, it may be mentioned that the board at this term authorized the clerk to purchase two kerosene lamps, one for the clerk's and the other for the treasurer's office.

At the June meeting, 1864, Mary Case was appointed deputy clerk.

J. H. Powers, for many citizens of the county, asked that, at the next regular election, the question of a sufficient appropriation from funds accruing out of the school lands to construct a bridge across the Big Cedar at Nashua, be submitted to the voters, and also asked that action be taken in the matter of providing a suitable county building, the latter of which requests is treated of in detail elsewhere in this book. The board arranged for ascertaining the amount necessary to construct a suitable bridge at Nashua,preparatory to submitting the matter to the voters.

The following bounties were fixed for scalps of wild animals; gray gophers, three cents; pocket gophers, five cents; wild cats, $3; prairie wolves, $5; timber wolves, $5.

At the September meeting, 1864, it was decided to submit to the voters, at the November election, the question of appropriating $4,000 out of the swamp land fund, to construct a bridge over the Big Cedar, at Nashua.

The tidal wave of progress still sweeps onward, over the bosom of the mighty west, and the sheriff is authorized to "procure a stove-pipe and fit a room for holding court."

At the meeting of the board of supervisors in June, 1865, the clerk was authorized to draw a warrant for fifty cents to pay for recording the deed given for the land donated by G. Gardner for the site of a court house, also a resolution was passed, appointing Messrs. Palmer of Jacksonville, Haslam of Dayton, and Wood-bridge of Bradford, a committee to enter into a contract on the part of the county, with some party or parties to build a court house.

The above contract was immediately placed before the board and bears date of June 6, 1865, and recites that the said court house was to be completed by November 25, 1865, and the terms of payment, according to the contract, were to be $840 cash down, $500 when the frame was raised, $500 when enclosed and finally eleven hundred and forty dollars when the building was completed and accepted by the county. The three last sums to be paid out of the funds known as the swamp land fund. J. H. Powers was the contractor, who filed his bond for the faithful performance of said contract, June 7th of the same year.

The tax assessments for the year are set as follows: state tax, 2 mills; county, 4 mills; school, 1 chill; bridge, I mill, and volunteer fund, 6 mills.

A resolution was passed by the board of supervisors at the September meeting, 1865, whereby W. B. Grant, W. Tucker and N. F. Lighthall were appointed a committee to oversee and take charge of the building of a bridge across the Cedar at Nashua, the erection of which was at that time being canvassed.

In October, 1865, a resolution was brought before the board, and by them passed, appointing to the office of county judge, G. A. Hamilton, to fill the vacancy occasioned by the removal from the county of S. G. Merriam.

In January, 1866, at a regular session of the board of supervisors, W. E. Beach, E. D. Woodbridge and E. K. Morrill were appointed a committee to ascertain the present and prospective indebtedness of the county, and devise some honorable means to re-store the warrants of said county to par and preserve the credit thereof.

At this meeting, the committee appointed at the September term, 1865, to oversee the building of the Nashua bridge, reported that the amount appropriated for that purpose would not be enough by two thousand dollars, and asked the appropriation of that sum, but after much discussion the matter was laid over until more prosperous times would allow it.

The indebtedness of the county as reported to the board, Jan. 1866, was as follows:

Outstanding unpaid warrants............................$ 8,510.98

Account of volunteers presented this session .... 13,315.51

Ordinary accounts................................................... 991.12

Probable additions.................................................. 100.00

Total indebtedness.................................. $22,917.61

Again at the meeting of the board of supervisors in June, 1866, the matter of the bridge at Nashua comes to the front and E. D. Woodbridge, Michael Cagley, and H. Case were appointed a committee to let the contract to build it if possible, and adding the sum of five hundred dollars to the four thousand dollars already appropriated for that purpose and to be helped by a private subscription of fifteen hundred dollars, the said bridge to be finished by March 1, 1867.

The tax rate fixed by the board for 1866, was as follows: state tax, 2t mills; county tax, 4 mills; with a poll tax of fifty cents; school, 1 mill; bridge, 3 mills, and volunteer fund, 10 mills.

According to a report made by the assessors of the several town-ships, to the board, the total valuation of the county for the year 1867 was $1,177,959.00.

At the June session, 1867, we find a report signed by A. G. Case, S. F. Eastman and E. H. Hall as commissioners, that they had let the contract for building the bridge over the Big Cedar at Nashua, to A. Spaulding, and that he had complied with the terms of the contract, and that the bridge was finished or so nearly so as to warrant them in pronouncing the contract complete.

At the meeting of the board, September, 1868, a resolution was adopted, wherein it is recited that as "Chickasaw county was in debt over seven thousand dollars, in the county fund, its warrants were depreciated to a ruinous rate, and as it is best to pay as promptly as possible to restore credit, Resolved, That a special levy of tax be made, of 2 mills on the dollar, to be levied from year to year until such debt be wiped out," which measure was to be submitted to a vote of the people at the regular election in November, 1868, said tax to be levied for 1869, and subsequently at the election above mentioned, the people of the county endorsed the action of the board and the tax was levied.

At the June meeting, 1869; a petition was presented, asking that the board take some steps toward building a jail, but on its being referred to a committee it was returned with the report, that in their opinion there was no necessity for one, and this action seems to have been final, for the county, although owning very fine buildings, still does not possess a jail, but send its prisoners to Decorah for safe keeping.

At the June term, 1872, the board consummated the buying of the farm now used as the poor farm, together with all the improvements, and offered to receive bids for the erection of suitable buildings.

They also contracted with Mosler, Bahrman & Co., of Chicago, Ill, for two large safes for county records, at a cost of $2,450.

At a special session of the board held October 7th, 1872, the contract was let to A. W. Utter of New Hampton to erect the house on the poor farm at an expense of $1,360.8

The following report shows the condition of the revenue in said county from Jan. 1st to June 2d, 1873


Cash in treasury ........................................................... $266 37

Total collections ............................................................ 3,706 16

Total ..................................................................... 3,972 53

Disbursem*nt ............................................................... 2,914 82

Balance in treasury ............................................... 1,057 71.


Cash in treasury ........................................................... 173 21

Total collections ............................................................ 9,502 58

Total ..................................................................... 9,675 79

Disbursem*nts .............................................................. 9,675 79


Amount of outstanding warrants, last report 2,708 05

" " warrants issued since " " 5,769 09

Treasurer's salary .......................................................... 1,388 65

Total ...................................................................... 9,865 79

Amount warrants reduced since last report .................... 9,673 98

Amount of outstanding warrants ............................ 191 81


Cash in treasury. January report .................................... 419 93

Total collections .............................................................. 1,487 72

Total ....................................................................... 1,907 65

Disbursem*nts ................................................................ 1,642 64

Balance in treasury ................................................. 265 01


Cash in treasury, January ............................................... 798 81

Total collections ............................................................... 1,593 38

Total ........................................................................ 2,392 19

Disbursem*nts ................................................................ 939 10

Balance in treasury ................................................. 1,453 0


Cash in treasury ............................................................. 295 41

Total collections .............................................................. 2,555 94

Total ....................................................................... 2,851 35

Disbursem*nts ................................................................ 1,587 13

Balance in treasury .................................................. 264 22


Cash on hand, January ................................................... 1,193 35

Total collections ............................................................... 6,727 43

Total ........................................................................ 7,920 78

Disbursem*nts ................................................................ 6,203 58

Balance in treasury .................................................. 1,717 20


Cash on hand, January .................................................. 2,870 37

Total collections ............................................................ 10,819 85

Total ...................................................................... 13,690 22

Disbursem*nt ............................................................... 11,243 63

On hand ................................................................ 2,446 59


Cash on hand, January .................................................. 1,140 26

Total collections .............................................................. 4,586 70

Total ........................................................................ 5,726 96

Disbursem*nts ............................................................... 4,713 53

Balance in treasury ................................................. 1,013 43


Cash in treasury, January ............................................. 765 40

Total collections ............................................................. 2,374 80

Total ...................................................................... 3,140 20

Disbursem*nts .............................................................. 1.092 15

Balance in treasury ............................................... 2,048 0


Cash on hand, January ................................................. 178 42

Total collections ............................................................. 668 69

Total ....................................................................... 847 11

Disbursem*nts ............................................................... 829 12

Balance in treasury ................................................. 17 99


Cash in treasury, January .............................................. 160 15

Total collections ............................................................. 1,823 95

Total ...................................................................... 2,984 10

Disbursem*nts .............................................................. 2,115 51

Balance in treasury ................................................ 868 59


Cash on hand, January ................................................. 912 35

Total collections ............................................................. 1,592 01

Total ...................................................................... 2,504 36

Disbursem*nts .............................................................. 882 43

Balance in treasury ............................... ............... 1,621 93


Cash on hand, January .................................................. 47 00

Total collections ............................................................. 1,478 68

Total ...................................................................... 1,525 68

Amount loaned .............................................................. 1,175 68

Balance in treasury ............................................... 350 00


1868 on hand ................................................................ 20 85

1870 " " ................................................................ 126 86

1872..." " ................................................................ 74 20

Total collections ............................................................. 113 40

Total ...................................................................... 336 61

Total disbursem*nts ...................................................... 117 41

Balance in treasury ............................................... 117 90



"Commissioners' report. Filed in the office of the clerk of the district court, August 14th, A. D. 1854. J. A. J. Bird, clerk

"To the Hon. County Judge of Chickasaw county, Iowa:

"The undersigned commissioners appointed by the judge of the second judical district for the state of Iowa, to locate and establish the county seat of said county of Chickasaw, respectfully report that, having had the same under the due consideration, they have selected the town of Bradford in the county and state aforesaid, as the point at which said county seat is hereby located and established.

"Given under our hands at Bradford in the county of Chickasaw and state of Iowa this fourteenth day of August, A. D. 1854.

"Commissioners WM. MCCLINTOCK,


At the February term of the county court, 1856, a petition of J. C. H. Miller and two hundred and twenty-four others was presented, praying "that at the next April election to be holden thereafter in said county, a vote shall be taken between Bradford, the existing county seat of said county and New Hampton, for the County seat."

The prayer of the petitioners was granted, and in accordance therewith an election was held, and at the canvassing of the votes, the vote of Washington township was rejected, and the board of canvassers declared that "Bradford received 203 votes and New Hampton received 203 votes." On the 6th day of June, 1856, an information was filed by Osgood Gowen in the office of the clerk of the district court, asking for a writ of mandamus, and in accordance with the prayer a writ was issued against the board of county canvassers on the same day. On the day following, two of the members of the board, W. E. Andrews, ex-officio county judge, and John Bird, justice of the peace, filed the following response, which is given in full, as it contains nearly a full history of the case, and is moreover, a unique specimen of that legal explicitness which is supposed to be attained only through a multiplicity of technical verbage:

"THE STATE OF IOWA, In the District Court of said county."

"CHICKASAW COUNTY. To June term thereof, A. D. 1856."

"In the matter of the information of Osgood Gowen for mandamus against the board of canvassers of Chickasaw county afore-said, in the matter of an election between Bradford and New Hampton, for the establishment of the county seat of said county.

"And the said W. E. Andrews and John Bird, canvassers of election in said information, mentioned, come, and answering, say that they admit that at the February term of the county court, of aid county of Chickasaw, A. D. 1856, a petition was presented to said county court, by J. C. H. Miller and two hundred and twenty-four citizens, as alleged in said information, upon which said petition an order was made by said county court that the question of a relocation of said county seat of Chickasaw county be submitted to a vote of the legal voters of said county in the year A. D. 1856; and that, in pursuance of said order submitting the question of a relocation of said county seat to a vote of the legal voters of said county at the April election A. D. 1856, said question was submitted and voted on at the said election. And your respondents, further answering, say severally and respectively, that in the re-turns of said election and according to the same, it did appear that the town of New Hampton had received the number of two hundred and thirteen votes for the county seat of said county, and that the town of Bradford received two hundred and six votes for the county seat of said county as appeared on the face of the papers purporting to be said returns of the said election. And your respondents aver, and so they answer, that all the returns so made to the county judge of the county of Chickasaw, embracing to-wit: all the returns from the several townships and precincts of said county of Chickasaw at the election so held in and for said county, were then and there, to-wit: at Bradford in said county, duly examined and canvassed as the law directs, by said board of canvassers; and that after such canvass and examination as aforesaid it was found that the said election returns at the election held as aforesaid for the purpose aforesaid, were duly and properly made in compliance with law, with the exception of the township of Washington in said county; and after duly examining and canvassing the returns of said election so held as aforesaid, for the purpose aforesaid for all the townships and precincts in said county, it was found that returns of the votes for the said town-ship of Washington were insufficient, irregular and of no effect, and utterly null and void in law. And so said respondents, answering as aforesaid, aver that said votes of the town of Washington, given at said election, having been found and decided by the said board of canvassers, after due examination and canvass, to be insufficient, irregular and of no effect, and utterly null and void, were then and there, to-wit: at Bradford, aforesaid within the time required by law, duly canvassed and examined by said board of canvassers, and were then and there within the time aforesaid duly and legally rejected by said board of canvassers, after a legal canvass of the said votes and returns, then and there held for insufficiency, irregularity and nullity, and for no other reason.

"And your respondents, further answering, say that after said returns of all the said townships and precincts of the said county of Chickasaw, were so canvassed as aforesaid, and the returns of the votes of the said township of Washington were so rejected as aforesaid, the state of the canvass was as follows, to-wit:

Bradford received two-hundred and three votes, and New Hampton received two hundred and three votes; and of the votes so rejected after said canvass as aforesaid by the canvassers aforesaid, ten votes were cast for New Hampton and three votes for Bradford; and that your respondents there made out and signed a statement of the canvass aforesaid, specifying the said number of votes so cast for the respective places aforesaid, which remains of record in in the office of the county judge of said county, by reference to which will more fully appear

"And your respondents, further answering, deny that they have done aught in the premises aforesaid; they have acted fairly, honestly and in good faith, and as they believed, and still believe, in strict accordance with law and their duty as canvassers as afore-said. And your respondents, having fully answered herein, beg to be discharged.



It was claimed by the relator, that the board of canvassers having decided the returns from Washington township irregular, were in duty bound to return them to the township officers for correction, and to stay the canvassing until the returns were completed as corrected. The cause was never prosecuted to a final result. A change of venue was applied for, and the case fell between the courts as it was claimed that the proper fees were not paid for the transcript, and the county seat remained at Bradford under the decision of the board of canvassers.

On the 5th day of April, 1858, another vote was taken upon the county seat question, and, according to reputable authority "the board of canvassers, by excluding the returns of Washington township for informality, and counting ten less than were actually cast in the township of Deerfield, decided that Forest City had received a legal majority."

The same authority continues: "The vote of Washington town-ship was excluded on the ground that the poll list was wanting, and the ten from Deerfield on account of the returns not showing the full amount, they having been changed from fifty-three to forty-three in favor of New Hampton. Immediately on the result of this canvass being known the county judge adjourned court to meet at Forest City at 2 o'clock P.M.

"Within a few minutes the books, papers and furniture of the office were in transit for Forest City, as teams were in readiness, and a long string of oxen attached to a wooden "drag" for the purpose of moving the safe. During this time, and while all was activity in the removal of the county offices, a meeting of citizens claiming that their rights had been invaded, was being held in an adjoining building, to take into consideration the course to be pursued.

"This meeting was addressed by some who were in a perfect frenzy of excitement, and who were in favor of taking possession of the office and retaining it where it of right belonged. Others more discreet counseled milder measures; the cooler ones finally triumphed, and a committee was appointed to commence legal proceedings to reclaim rights that were claimed to have been taken from them by those in power. In accordance with instructions, a suit was commenced at the next term of the district court, and on the 3d day of June, 1858, an information was filed in the clerk's office, asking for a wit of mandamus compelling the board of canvassers to count the votes that had been cast, including those of Washington and the ten in Deerfield. A special term of the district court was called to meet in August to hear the case at the August term on alternative writ, and after hearing, a peremptory writ was issued as prayed, and respondents appealed.

"At the same time of filing the information for a writ of mandamus, an information was filed asking for a writ of certiorari. At the special sesion of the district court these papers were lost, and leave was granted to file new ones at the next term of the court.

"The mandamus case was reversed in the supreme court as being an improper remedy, and in the opinion it was intimated that the proper remedy was an injunction. On the 12th day of April, 1859, an application was made to the district judge for an injunction restraining the county officers from holding their offices at any other place than at New Hampton.

"The writ was granted, final hearing to be had at the next term of district court. At the spring term of the court the injunction and the certiorari cases both camse up for hearing, and were decided in favor of New Hampton, whereupon the records and county offices were again returned to New Hampton.

"This episode in the history of the county," continues our informant, "was marked with many interesting scenes, such as civil and criminal prosecutions, indictments, informations, etc., in which some of our prominent citizens found themselves under bonds to appear at the term of the district court, or in durance-vile. At one time an attempt was made to resist a warrant, and subsequently a writ of habeas corpus, and a large number on either side came in collision in the lane in front of Judge Lorenzo Bailey's and a general fight ensued, in which both parties were considerably damaged. This encounter has been humorously termed the "Battle of Bailey's Lane."

"The curtain has fallen, the scene has closed, and many of those who were then the bitterest of foes are now the warmest of friends."

The election of April 7th, 1856, in addition to the county seat struggle, developed a contest over the election of officers that for a time seriously threatened the peace of the inhabitants and engendered bitter personal quarrels that were slow to subside. An account mainly taken from the records, is here in order:

As before stated, the difficulty occurred in consequence of in-formality in the returns from the township of Washington. The original order for the organization of Washington precinct is as follows :



Mr. Thomas Steveks-Sir: You will take notice that the county judge of this county has formed a precinct to be known as the precinct of Washington, out of the following described territory viz: township 96, north of range 13 west, and the south half of 97 north of range 13 west; and you are hereby authorized and appointed a special constable to organize the same, by posting up notices in three of the most public places in said township, that the first election in said precinct will be held on Monday, the 7th day of April 1856, at the house of S. W. Byers, for the election of the following officers and the transaction of other business named in the warrant:

"Officers, county : One county judge, to fill vacancy; one clerk of district court: one county surveyor, one school fund commissioner, full term.

"Also that a vote shall be taken on the relocation of the county seat of this county, between the present site, Bradford, and New Hampton, or the geographical center of Chickasaw county.

"Officers, township: Three township trustees; one township clerk; two justices of the peace; two constables; one assessor; one one superintendent of roads.

"Notice should, be given at least fifteen days previous to the day of the election, and the electors must elect by ballot or other-wise a chairman, and proceed to elect three persons, having the qualification of voters as judges of the election, who shall. appoint two clerks; and both judges and clerks must be sworn by you to faithfully discharge the duties of their respective offices.

"Given wade- my hand and seal this 14th day of March, A. D. 1856.

B. E. De Puy,

County Judge."

At the contest of the election, Osgood Gowen filed the following statement:

"That the county canvassers declared Lorenzo Bailey elected to the office of judge, George W. Reed elected to the office of district clerk, and William F. Wright elected to the office of school fund commissioner; and that there was a tie vote as between John A. Billings and C. M. Webster for office of county surveyor; whereas, in fact, J. C. H. Miller was duly elected to the office of county judge; Thomas A. Jacobs was duly elected to the office of district clerk; William Tucker was duly elected to the office of school fund commissioner, and C. M. Webster was duly elected to the office of county surveyor, each, having received a majority of the legal votes cast in said county at said election for his said office."

Among other things as causes of contest, the following were set forth:

"1st. That the judges of election of Washington precinct in said county, neglected to sign the returns sent up to the judge, and left the same otherwise informal; by reason of which informality and neglect, the county canvassers, or a majority of them, cast out the entire returns and vote of said Washington precinct, in which precinct there were fourteen votes polled, and all for the said J. C. H. Miller for county judge; and all for Thomas A. Jacobs for district clerk; and also twelve votes were given to William Tucker for school fund commissioner; and all to C. M. Webster for county surveyor."

And then he charges the canvassing board with error in not counting the vote of Washington township.

The contesting board consisted of W. E. Andrews, prosecuting attorney and ex-officio county judge, and a resident of Bradford; George W. Howard, selected on the part of the incumbents in office, at that time treasurer and recorder, and a resident of Bradford; and Henry H. Shafer selected by the contestant, Osgood Gowen, and a resident of Obispo township, now Jacksonville. The contesting board decided adversely to the contestant, and affirmed the decision of the board of canvassers. No further legal proceedings appear of record, and the incumbents held under the election.

"The public mind was in a high state of excitement, and local party feeling ran high. A public meeting was called to meet at the Brink House-a well known hotel on the banks of the East Wapsi, about one and one-half-miles northeast of New Hampton-the objects and proceedings of which will be more fully under-stood by a personal of the following gem of the past."


Pursuant to notice, the citizens of central, western and the northern parts of Chickasaw county, assembled at the Brink house, on Wednesday, April 23d, 1856, and organized by calling the Hon. J. C. H. Miller to the chair, and electing E. R. Gillett, Esq., secretary.

The chairman stated the object of the meeting in a few words. "It seems, he said, "that we are called together again to deliberate upon the ways and means, whereby the people-the majority of the people-claiming to be republicans, shall be heard, and the `elective franchise' vindicated." On motoin, a report (minority), from G. R. Rowley, one of the county board. of canvassers, was read, and ordered to be printed in the Dubuque Tribune. On motion, a committee of three were appointed to procure counsel. Osgood Gowen, T. A. Jacobs and David Edwards were appointed said committee. Mr. Cutler inroduced the following resolution, which was unanimously adopted:

RESOLVED, That the proceedings of this meeting, and the report of Mr. Rowley (together with 200 circulars struck off,) be published in the Dubuque Tribune.

On motion, the meeting adjourned sine die.

E. R. GILLETT, Secretary. J. C. H. MILLER, Chairman.


To THE ELECTORS OF CHICKASAW COUNTY, IOWA,-AS one of the canvassers of the election held in Chickasaw Co, on April 7th, deem it my duty in justice to you; to inform you of the number of votes cast at that time for the different county officers, and also for the county seat. They were as follows:

Whole number of votes cast for connty judge was .... 426

Mr. Miller received of these votes ............................. 215

Mr. Bailey received of these votes ............................. 210

Leaving a majority in Miller's favor of ............... 5

Whole number of votes cast for county clerk was ...... 423

Mr. Jacobs recived of these votes .............................. 216

Mr. Reed received of these votes ................................ 207

Leaving a majority in Mr. Jacob's favor of ......... 9

Whole number of votes cast for county surveyor was. 423

Mr.Webster received of these votes ............................ 196

Mr. Billings received of these votes ............................ 183

Leaving a majority in Mr. Webster's favor of ....... 13

Whole number of votes cast for

school fund commissioner was .... 412

Mr. Tucker received of these votes ............................... 219

Mr. Wright received of these votes ............................... 206

Leaving a majority in Mr. Tucker's favor of ........... 6

[NOTE.-It is evident that there is an error in the figures as to the above office, probably a blunder of the printer's.-ED.]

Whole number of votes cast for county seat, was ......... 420

New Hampton, or geographical center, received of

these votes ................................ 213

Bradford received of these votes .................................. 206

Leaving New Hampton, or center, a majority of ..... 7

The Hon. W. E. Andrews, then acting as county judge, John Bird, Esq, and myself, constituted the board. We differed on the validity of the returns from North Washingington precinct. [The reason assigned by the canvassers for throwing out Washington precinct, was this: all the board of election in that precinct did not sign the returns, and hence this ousting business. Washington is a new precinct, having only organized at the last election, and they had not the code to guide them.] But there being two to one, they overruled me, and threw out those returns, even after having had them down on the clerk's tally list, which, if not destroyed, can yet be seen in the office; they were crossed off, and the remaining precincts counted, which changed the result of the election. If, fellow citizens, this was the first time that Bradford and its hirelings had polluted the sanctity of the ballot box we, might overlook it. It is no longer ago than last August, that we elected this same J. C. H. Miller as our county judge by over fifty majority. Then the Hon. Judge Lyons and E. A. Haskell, Esq., perverted the will of the majority of the votes of this county by throwing out a precinct with over sixty votes to obtain their ends without any just cause, as I verily believe, and so the court decided, before whom the Hon. Judge was taken, and it saw fit to bind him over to answer for fraud and corruption in changing the result of the election.

But what do we see now? The same prosecuting attorney, who took such an active part against the Hon. Judge Lyons, and had him bound over; now he is called upon to act as judge and canvasser. How much does he lack of perverting the will of the people? Has he not also taken advantage of ignorance or oversight, and changed the result of the election, when it was in his power to have avoided it? "O consietency thou art a jewel."

Fellow citizens, the day of our freedom and independence, has gone by in this far-famed county of Chickasaw; the will of the majority has to succomb to a meagre minority. The democratic will, "the greatest good to the greatest number," is perverted, and its glorious precepts trampled on with impunity. Again, the American principles, "the majority shall rule," is cast aside, and a new plank is instituted, thus : "The minority shall rule in Chickasaw Co. henceforth and forever." Fellow citizens, was ever so palpable gross a fraud perpetrated, as this? Were ever inconsistencies so glaring, as those of our Bradford. neighbors? We may boast of our love of liberty, and expatiate with owlish gravity upon the 'wrongs of Kansas; but I will tell you, the home ruffians in this county tower in brutal atrocity and unmitigated villainy above the Kansas-Missouri brigands. We may talk of going to Kansas to defend the ballot box from a Missouri mob; but we know little of our duty when we thus talk and act; we little think the same thing is transpiring in our very midst; the ballot box is wrested from us, the palladium of our liberties assaulted the voice of the majority slighted-the rights of the people taken away!

Fellow citizens, how long shall we be slaves to the minority in this land of liberty, in this "land of the free and home of the brave?" If our voice is not to be heard and heeded at the ballot box, what security have we for our lives and our property? Are they not in jeopardy? Are they not in the hands of those that could barter them away for a "mess of pottage?" What! The minorty to rule? If the minority continue to rule, how long before we are burdened with taxes. How long before we are called upon to build county buildings in Bradford.? The minority rules, and we must . submit! Shall we let this wrong pass unnoticed and unrebuked? Is there any assurance that there will not be a repetition of the same offence next year? and the next? and so on, for a series of years? In the language of Patrick Henry, "shall we gain strength by inaction and irresolution? shall we lay supinely on our backs, and hug the delusive phantom of hope, until our enemies shall have bound us hand and foot?" Answer these questions, fellow citizens, upon the altars of your hearts. Answer them with an eye single to the welfare, happiness and prosperity of this beautiful county.

As your canvasser, fellow citizens, I have laid the subject before you for your consideration. Hoping that you will take notice of such facts as I have submitted to you, I am, respectfully, your humble servant. G. R. ROWLEY.

"The seed thus sown," continues our chronicler, "was destined to become prolific of bitter personal, partisan and local feeling, arousing the strongest jealousy and bitterest animosity. The first and leading question, on the advent of a settler, was, 'is he a northern or southern man?' Now that the mantle of peace has fallen upon the county, we can but look back and suppress a smile at these intestine wars and rumors of wars, that so absorbed public interest, and, in passing, express no opinion as to the justice of either party, for a majority of the actors are still upon the stage of life."

Years have passed since the above was first written, and the solacing hand of time has further smoothed the wrinkles in the front of war, until the asperities of conflict have been softened into healing retrospect and quiet, kindly amusem*nt; but it is not for the editor of this work to pry into the motives of men, or take sides in a cause that is dead. Sufficient it is to know, that these conflicts form part of the history of the county, and without mention of them, the history would be essentially incomplete.

With reference to the exciting county seat fight of 1858, a few additional facts may be stated by way of completing this record of early struggles for political supremacy. The more essential facts have already been given. The records in the auditor's office, are peculiarly silent concerning this interesting era. An entry in the county judge's book under date of March 2d, 1858, states that "a petition of Hiram Bailey and 398 others, for a vote on the relocation of the county seat at a place known as Forest City, situated on sections 12 and 13, township 94, range 10, "was granted by Lorenzo Bailey, county judge. Another, entry states that the election was "canvassed April 12th, 1858, and Forest City was found to have a majority for the county seat." "I hereby declare Forest City to be the county seat in and for Chickasaw county, Iowa. LORENZO BAILEY, County Judge," On the opopsite page another entry recites the same alleged facts, and also orders that the "court, adjourn to meet at Forest City at 2 o'clock p. M.," and the county officers are "ordered to remove their records to Forest City. Signed. LORENZO BAILEY, County Judge.

[Attest.] J. H. POWERS, Deputy Clerk.

Out of this order grew the excitement and complications heretofore mentioned, which led to the scenes of disorder and the celebrated "Battle of Bailey's Lane." An old and responsible citizen, an eye witness to the scenes, thus briefly relates some of the occurrences:

"You see," said he, to his inquisitor, "Judge Bailey lived at Forest City, had property there, and was naturally interested in the growth of the place. Immediately after the canvassing of the election and the throwing out of enough votes to give a majorty to Forest City, a posse was brought to New Hampton to remove the records. The posse numbered about seventy-five persons who came principally from Forest City and Bradford. The people of New Hampton at first refused to submit to a removal of the records, and made preparations to resist, many coming in from this vicinity to fight against the removal if necessary.

"The opposing forces met over Gurley's store, where the county safe and books were. The Forest City people first went up, and were followed by the opposing faction. For a time there was the wildest excitement, and it looked as if trouble was imminent. But, under peaceable advice, the Forest City people were permitted to take the records. They threw the safe out of the second story window, removed the records, an I carried the effects of the county to Forest City.

"New Hampton then began to fight through the courts. A warrant was issued for the arrest of Judge Bailey, and a posse went to his house and arrested him. There was a good deal of excitement and considerable delay, the judge and his family making various pretexts to that end, until up came a man with what purported to be writ of habeas corpus, and took the prisioner away from his captors. This writ purported to have been issued from the office of the clerk of the court, but it is claimed, was it in reality issued by the deputy clerk. Bailey was released, but in the interval during which he was held for consultation, a general fight ensued. The judge found it convenient to disappear, and for a time the conflict waged warm and the fighting dangerous. This was in front of the judge's house, and there were probably seventy-five persons present. Several were hurt, Daniel Shook perhaps the most severely. He was injured, I think, in the side, and marked in the face, which mark he will carry to his dying day."

It is unnecessary to add that the invaders came away without their intended prisoner. Many of them were arrested and taken to Williamstown, and thence to Nashua, where a show of prosecution was made, but nothing resulted therefrom other than their ultimate discharge. It was while going home from the scenes of intestine strife that Lawyer Babco*ck, of Bradford, lost his horse, the animal being drowned in a slough of the Wapsie. It is but fair to state that the gentleman from whom the above information was obtained, was a staunch supporter of New Hampton's claim. To mention the "Battle of Bailey's Lane" at this day, only creates a smile of retrospective amusem*nt, although, it is easy to imagine, the affair was sufficiently serious at the time.


Almost of a necessity a county seat controversy, in its progress provoked much bitterness and wrangling, so active and zealously does partizanship become, so prone is man to magnify or belittle facts on either side, that it becomes doubly hard for the historian to calmly and dispassionately sum up the various evidence, and try and place clearly before the reader the true inwardness of the matter, but we will endeavor to make as plain a statement of the facts as they occurred.

The old court house, located at New Hampton, took fire and burned to ashes on the evening of March 26th, 1880. The cause of the fire has been ascribed to incendiarism, but this has never been fully proven. However on the 31st, of the same month the New Hampton Tribune in an editorial suggested that now as the old land mark had gone up in flames that the county should build a substantial court house that would be an honor the county. On the same day, viz: March 31st, 1880, the following paper was circulated and sign by good and substantial citizens of Nashua and Bradford township, to-wit:

To the Honorable board of supervisors of Chickasaw county, low:

We the undersigned residents and tax-payers of said Chickasaw county, respectfully petition you that you take necessary steps to build a court house, upon the court house square, New Hampton, as soon as the same can legally be done. Dated March 31st, 1880.

A. G. Lawrence, M. Stewart, Jr.,

C. A. Greely, S. E. Preston,

A. A. Turner, J. W. Kellogg,

Amos Case, J. P. Parrish,

Jos. F. Grawe, B. A. Billings,

Wm. B. Perrin, Hazlett and Sons,

F. Hollenbeck, and 125 others.

However many of the citizens of Nashua and vicinity retrograded from the above peition on the question on the agitation of many people in the balance of the county, who suggested the location of the county seat at Nashua, and the building of the court house at that place.

On the 3d day of April, at a meeting held in the town of Lawler a resolution was passed protesting against appropriation of any money by the county to build a court house until the town where it was built should make liberal appropaiation therefor.

This resolution seemed to cast a firebrand in to the hitherto peaceful question, and to set the county in a blaze and every man seemed to take some part, for one side or the other.

However, the citizens, of New Hampton, met the question, by appointing A. E. Bigelow, H. M. Mixer and Jno. Foley, as trustees to raise and hold a fund, of $5,000, to be given to the county of Chickasaw, or as much of it as was needed to complete the court house building, provided, the county appropriated the sum of $5,000 in addition.

To this liberal offer it was raised in objection, that the sub-scribers were only bound for a small sum in reality, as but little more than the $5,000 of the county would be needed to build the court house, according to plans adopted by the board of super-visors. This led to much dispute and mangling. The citizens of Nashua, agreed on their part, that, if the county seat was located in that place, they would erect a building suitable for the purpose, at a cost of $25,000, which the county might occupy as a court house, at a nominal rent of $1.00 per annum, but which building they would not donate to the county.

Finally at the September meeting of the board of supervisors, the question of locating the county seat was taken up, and a petition signed by a large number of the voters of the county, was presented, asking the honorable board to relocate the same at Nashua, in the township of Bradford. Also a remonstrance, signed by a larger number of votes of said county, was presented remonstrating against the board relocating the county seat at Nashua, and we find the following upon the records of the board.

"The question of the relocation of the county seat was taken up by the board, and the following action taken by them:"

We, the board of supervisors of Chickasaw county, Iowa, at the suggestion, and by the expressed consent of the petitioners, by their attorney, without a close investigation of either the petition or remonstrance, but taking the names as they appear upon the face of said petition and remonstrance, and being satisfied that the names upon the remonstrance exceed the names upon the petition, therefore the prayer of the petitioners is hereby declared, not granted."

This ended the matter and the county seat still remaining at New Hampton, the building of the court house was proceeded with; for account of which we refer to chapter on county buildings.



The inception of journalism dates from remote ages. The institution now known as the newspaper was preceded nearly a thou-sand years by manuscript publications, in which the accounts of public occurrences in Rome were made known to the public, these were known by the name of "Acta Diurna;" but their issues, in time of scarcity of news, was irregular, the editor either engaging in some other calling or indulging in the sports of the day.

But little progress was made from this until 1622, the date of the first publication worthy of the name of newspaper. Prior to that time, the mental appetite of modem Europe had subsisted upon periodical manuscript literature. In England, the written news-letter, furnished only at fabulous prices, was, for a long time, in vogue. The news pamphlet was the nearest approach to the newspaper that had obtained up to 1622; when, as has been said, the first regular series of newspapers was born. It was about that time that the "Weekly News from Italie and Germanie" made its salutatory to the London public. It was printed upon a mechanical contrivance-perfected by one Nathanial Butler, who is the progenitor of the newspaper proper. The first attempt at the publication of parlimentary reports was made in 1641, when the parties of the realm first occupied a place in the paper. The first advertisem*nt was inserted in 1648, and was in verse form, and tradition truly says that it paid then as now.

The first daily morning newspaper was the "London Courant," published in 1708 and consisted of only one page or two columns, each five paragraphs long; and was made up from translations from foreign journals. Fifty years had not elapsed before there was over seven million papers sold in England annually.

The revolutions in journalism during the present century have been of so stupendous a type as to be almost beyond comprehension were we not brought face to face with the fact day by day. Nor has the press failed to increase in power and usefulness. It is an instrument calculated to elevate and enlighten the people, as well as aid in the enforcement of the laws and the perpetuation of good government. It is its mission to make wrong doing odious, by airing the misdeeds of those guilty of crimes agoinst law and society; and to point the admiring finger at the good and pure deeds of men of nobility of soul, who are worthy of respectful homage.

And the printer, whose ceaseless placing of type on type makes possible these labors of the brain of men; the printer who garners. up the thoughts and actions of men and spread them upon the snow white page and send them to your very door, is he not worthy a place in the history of our time.

To use the beautiful words of that gifted journalist, Benj. F. Taylor, when speaking of the printer:

"The printer is the adjutant of thought, and this explains the mystery of the wonderful word-that can kindle a hope as no song can-that can warm the heart as no hope-that word `we,' with a hand in hand warmth in it, for the author and printer are engineers together. Engineers, indeed ! when the little Corsican bombarded Cadiz at the distance of five miles, it was deemed the very triumph of engineering. But what is that range to this, whereby they bombard the age yet to come.

"There at the case he stands and marshals into line the forces armed for truth, clothed in immortality and English. And what can be nobler than the equipment of a thought in stetting Saxon-Saxon with the ring of spear and shield in it, and that commissioning it, when we are dead, to move gradually on to the -`latest syllable of recorded time'. This is to win a victory from death, for this has no death in it.

"The printer is called a laborer, and the office he performs, toil. Oh, it is not work, but a sublime rite that he is performing, when he thus sights, the engine that is to fling a worded truth in grander curve than missle e'er before described-flung it into the bosom of an age yet unborn.

"He throws off his coat indeed ! we but wonder, the rather, that he does not put the shoes from off his feet, for the place whereon he stands is holy ground.

"A little song was uttered somewhere, long ago-it wandered through the twilight feebler than a star-it died upon the ear But the printer caught it up where it was lying there in the silence like a wounded bird, and equips it anew with wings, and he sends it forth from the ark that had preserved it, and it flew forth into the future, with the olive branch of peace, and round the world with melody, like the dawning of a spring morning.

"How the types have built up the broken arches in the bridge of time ! How they render the brave utterances beyond the Pilgrims audible and eloquent-hardly feeling the free spirit, but moving not a word, not a syllable lost in the whirl of the world-moving in connected paragraph and period down the lengthening line of years."

The first newspaper published in the county, was the Chickasaw County Republican, which made its appearance at Jacksonville in May, 1857, under the proprietorship of Isaac Watson, who brought the material from Missouri. Watson was subsequently killed by the rebels in Missouri during the war. Following the Republican very closely, in the same month, and during the succeeding week-the Cedar Valley News was issued at Bradford, with A. J. Felt as editor. Felt sold to a Mr. Bushnell, and he to D. A. Babco*ck, who represented a stock company. The stock company sold to G. M. Reynolds, who, in connection with Babco*ck, ran the paper for some time. The News finally succumbed to adverse circ*mstances, and after a flickering existence, its "light went out." It was neutral in politics, and, says our informant, "was published for a republican constituency by a democratic editor."

The Jacksonville newspaper enterprise was republican in politics, and it, too, fell into the hands of a stock company, which, as in the case of the Cedar Valley News, also proved to be the pre-cursor of death. We have before us as we write, the paper relating to the organizing of the stock company, purchase of the paper etc., which we herewith present in full:

"In pursuance of a call of individuals that have proposed taking shares and forming a joint stock association for the purpose of purchasing the press, fixtures, furniture and books of the Chickasaw County Republican, under the name of the Chickasaw County Republican Association, a meeting was held at Jacksonville on the 7th day of November, 1857, and on motion William Little was called to the chair and J. H. Powers appointed secretary. On motion the articles that had been circulated for the purpose of eliciting stock were presented, the blanks filled, and were unanimously adopted as follows:

" `The stock of the association shall consist of shares of ten dollars each, and each share shall be entitled to one vote. The stock shall be paid in installments as follows, to wit: one-half dollar down, two dollars in four months, and the remainder in six months.

" `The stockholders shall at the annual meeting on the second Wednesday of November, elect by ballot a president, vice-president, secretary and treasurer, and an executive and such other committies as they shall see fit, whose duties shall be as prescribed by the by-laws of the association.

"The treasurer shall, before entering upon the duties of his office, give bonds in the sum of two thousand dollars, said bonds to be approved by the president and filed with the secretary.

"The stock holders shall have power to make by-laws not in-consistent with these articles.

" `No share shall be entitled to a vote after an installment becomes due, until paid.

" `One-half of the shares taken, represented by at least five stock-holders, shall constitute a quorum for transaction of business.

" `These articles may be amended at any annual meeting by a majority of shares represented, by giving two months' notice prior to said meeting.' "

These articles were signed as follows: D. A. Babco*ck, 3 shares, $30; R. C. Horton, 3 shares, $30; G. W. Howard, 3 shares, $30; B. E. DePuy, 2 shares, $20; A. W. Billings, 3 shares, $30; M. B. Taylor, 1 share $10; Thomas Poole & Co., 5 shares, $50; Luthan Morgan, 1 share, $10; L. L. Morse, 3 shares, $30; W. W. Foster, 1. share, $10; A. E. Bigelow, 1 share, $10."

The proceedings of the meeting were continued as follows :

"On motion they proceeded to ballot for officers, which resulted as follows: President Hazard Green; vice-president, D. A. Babco*ck; secretary, J. H. Powers; treasurer, J. H. Dickens; executive committee, G. W. Howard, F. D. Bosworth, J. Cole; committee on. by-laws, W. E. Beach, J. H. Dickens, J. Cole, J. H. Powers, G. W. Howard."

Shares were limited to two hundred at ten dollars each, and the installments were made payable as follows: five dollars down, two dollars in three months and three dollars in six months. The corporation began its existence on the 14th day of November, 1857' and was to continue ten years, subject, however, to dissolution by a two-thirds vote of all the shares taken. Private property was exempt from the incorporate debts, and the indebtedness of the association was never to exceed three hundred dollars at any one time.

Isaac Watson's assignment of the property is as follows: "For the consideration of the sum of six hundred dollars in hand paid, I hereby assign and sell to the Chickasaw County Republican Association, all the material and fixtures of the office of the Chickasaw County Republican; also the stock and books on hand, the job type now at the river, and all the stock now on hand connected with the office; and authorize the association to appropriate the same to the use of the association."

Isaac Watson

The following is also from the records kept by the association:


Cole ............................... 20 $200 Receipted

H. Green ............................. 15 150 "

W. E. Beach ........................ 1 10 "

A. Vaughn ........................... 2 20 "

Willliam Little ...................... 5 50 "

J. H. Powers ........................ 1 10 "

J. P. North .......................... 3 30 "

F. Coover ............................ 2 20 "

H. H. Brakeman .................. 6 60 "

C. Pitch ............................... 1 10

E. R. Gillett ......................... 1 10

D. A. Babco*ck ..................... 1 10 Receipted

J. H. Powers (for Gurley)...... 1 10 "

"The amount of shares set against the names above will call for shares in the Chickasaw County Republican Association, on presenting the receipt of Isaac Watson.


"Sec. of C. C. R. A."

Recd. on the above the amount set opposite each name in full, in payment on account of the Chickasaw County Republican office, with the exception of A. Vaughn, Charley Fitch and E. R. Gillett, and $40 on H. H. Brakeman.

"Jacksonville, December 18th, 1857.


Certificates of stock appear to have been issued as follows:


F. D. Bosworth ......... 1 1

D. A. Babco*ck ........... 2 1

J. H. Powers ............. 3 1

W. E. Beach ............. 4 1

J. Cole ...................... 5 to 25 20

H. H. Brakeman ....... 25 to 31 6

G. W. Howard .......... 31 1

J. P. North .............. 33 to 36 3

Little & Wood .......... 36 to 41 5

A. Vaughn ............... 41 to 42 2

Coover ............. 43 to 44 2

The certificates of stock were in form as follows, being a copy of an origonal one now before us:





Issued to ....................................................................J. COLE.

December 25th, A. D., 1857.

Chickasaw County

Republican Association


J. H. POWERS, Sec. H. GREEN, Pres.

After a brief and unsatisfactory existence the Chickasaw County Republican Association, which had been started with such careful preparation, sold the Republican to L. J. Young, who moved the material to New Hampton and with it began the publication of the New Hampton Courier, in connection with W. E. Beach. In payment for the material Young executed the following instrument:

`Be it remembered that I, L. J. Young, for a valuable consideration in hand paid by J. H. Powers, as agent of the Chickasaw County Republican association, do hereby sell and deliver unto the said powers as the said agent, one yoke of white-faced oxen, now used by me, and one spotted cow; and make and deliver unto the Chickasaw County Republican association a good and sufficient warrantee deed of lot number three in block eighteen in the village of Chickasaw, Chickasaw county, Iowa, or at their request to any other person that they may direct instead thereof; and to give over to him the following donations, to-wit:

"Gardner & Hamlin, $20; D. Edwards, one lot in New Hampton; H. Gurley, $10; S. Cotant, $10; D. A. Jackson, $10; E. T. Runion, $10; Powers, balance due him on note holden by H. Gurley; said donation to be collected by the said agent.

"Witness my hand and seal this 11th day of November, A. D., 1859.


The New Hampton Courier made its first appearance on the 16th day of January, 1860, as a six column folio, Beach & Young editors and proprietors. The first number was evidently put together under difficulties, not the least of which was the scarcity of proper type. On the fourth page the proceedings of congress are set in double column measure, in great primer type, but the proceedings not "filling out" the double column, capitals of the German text alphabet are inserted to fill the vacancy. An item from the Charles City Intelligencer, predicting the early demise of the new venture, is quoted in this number, with appropriate comments to the effect that the Courier has come to stay, etc., an assertion which has proven more than usually correct as regards such enterprises, the Courier being at this writing in its twenty-third year, and so far from showing signs of decay as to evince, on the contrary, increased vigor, ability and prosperity with its increasing years.

Of the home advertisers in this first issue of the Courier, we note the following, doing business at that time in New Hampton, except where otherwise stated: Waite & Albertson, dry goods and groceries; A. & N. Vaughn, general merchandise, Jacksonville; H. Green, tavern stand, Jacksonville; William Beebe, blacksmith, "clocks and watches cleaned, guns and gun-loch repaired," Jacksonville; H. Gurley, general merchandise; Cotant & McCullow, general merchandise; J. H. Powers, counselor at law; W. E. Beach, notary public; Caleb Arnold, justice of the peace.

W. E. Beach subsequently sold his interest to G. M. Reynolds, who, after a time, purchased Young's interest also. Mr. Reynold's continued to publish the Courier until his death in 1878, on June 22d, of which year the. paper passed into the hands of W. R. Ed-wards and J. R. Carleton, who continued its publication until Oct. 11, 1882, when Mr. Edwards sold his interest to C. F. Geer. The Courier is now published by Carleton & Geer, editors and proprietors, is an eight-column folio, republican in politics, and in every way creditable to its owners and the county of Chickasaw.


In the days when the feet of the pioneer first pressed the prairie sod of Chickasaw county, no guiding road had they on which they could travel to reach their destination. A pocket compass, the North star, the course of the streams, or often blind chance were their only guide. Before their coming, to select their lands and build their cabins, the prairie grass and flowers had never known the disturbing feet of the white man. Few railroads were their in any parts of the United States, and in this country they lay as yet in the bosom of the unborn years. The hardy pioneer seeking out a new home, came by wagon, on horseback.; yea, often on foot; the ferries across the streams were rude enough when there were any; but often the immigrant was compelled to ford the creeks or raft himself over the rivers. Sometimes, wagons were transported across the river in small Indian canoes, that were lashed together at a width to accommodate the width of the wagons; the wheels of one side of the wagon being placed in one canoe, and the wheels of the other side in the other canoe and then "paddled" across. The horses and oxen being swam by the side of the canoes, and another voyage being made to "set over" the family of the emigrant who shared his toil and privation.

As the country settled up, the needs of the pioneers began to increase, stores and trading places to spring up, goods and merchandise were hauled by wagons from McGregor and Dubuque, the nearest landing places on the Mississippi. In those days, and until the railroads crossed the Mississippi river-and followed the settlements into the interior, freighting and staging was a prosperous business, and laid the foundation for fortunes to the men who engaged in it. The old four-horse stage are still remembered with much pleasure, as being the joy of their early days, when the farmer stopped the horse in the furrow, the mechanic dropped his tools, and the merchant came from behind his counter, all to see the stage go by. What a hero-a man to be envied-was the driver. The young man's mind could conceive no higher ambition than to drive a four-in-hand stage. And in fact, it made many of the fathers and men in middle-life feel wonderfully proud, when, for the first time, they took a seat in one of those old coaches to be whirled back to the east, from which he had so laborously toiled with plodding oxen but a few years ago.

In 1856, the people of Chickasaw first began to agitate the subject of railroads. The McGregor, St. Peters and Mississippi rail-road company being then in process of formation with headquarters at Decorah and McGregor, a special election was held in Chickasaw county on the question as to whether the county should subscribe to the stock of said company to induce them to run their line through the county. The election was held on October 15th, 1856, and the whole number of votes cast were 536, of these 352 voted for the subscription for the stock and 176 against it, with 8 ballots rejected on account of being incorrectly worded.

On October 6th, 1857, a vote was taken in the county as to whether the county should aid in the construction of the Cedar Valley branch of the Chicago, Iowa and Nebraska, and resulted in 309 votes being cast in favor of so doing and 216 against it. But the McGregor, St. Peter and Mississippi railroad having collapsed about 1860, the county held another election and recinded all votes cast in aid of both the above roads, by very large majorities.

The first company who broke ground within the limits of the county, was the Cedar Valley and Minnesota, who during the summer of 1868 graded the road and laid the rails through the south-western part of Bradford township. The station at Nashua was erected in July of that year. Immediately on the completion of the road, it was leased to the Illinois Central railroad, who furnished the necessary rolling stock to transact the business and who operate the road now under the name of the Cedar Falls and Minnesota branch of the Illinois Central. There are, however, but seven miles and a small fraction lying within this county.

On the 9th day of September, 1868, however, ground was broken at Calmar, Winnesheik county, by the McGregor and Sioux City railroad, and in the early summer of 1869 had entered the boundaries of Chickasaw county. This road traverses the entire breadth of Chickasaw county, crossing the townships of Stapleton, New Hampton, Dayton, Chickasaw and a small fraction of Utica, and having stations at Lawler, New Hampton, Chickasaw and Bassett It is now under the control of the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul railroad, and designated the Iowa and Dakota division.

Several attempts have been made to induce the building of other roads, notably those running north and south, to secure additional facilities and produce competition, and thereby cheapen freight, but at present nothing has come of it, although there seems to be a prospect, in the future, for at least one to be completed.




The United States, although the youngest in the bright brother-hood of nations may in truth be said to be the parent of the public school. Two hundred years ago, the stern and rigid Puritan, on the bleak and rocks shores of New England, originated the district school for the inculcation of ideas, to the youthful mind, and it exists to this day in that far away portion of our great republic. Our forefathers, in the mighty emgrations which they made toward the setting sun, brought with them the germs of t he precious seed, and where ever they settled planted it in a fruitful soil. Some came to our own noble state, and though the seed was in small quantity, verily the harvest is abundant. It can now without any fear of contradiction, be said, that Iowa possesses the best school system in the world; and Chickasaw county is by no means, in the rear of the other counties of the state, in this respect. Let the following exhibit of the use of the educational system vouch for the truth of this.

The first school opened in the county, was one at the old village of Bradford in the year 1852, and from this small beginning, in thirty years it has grown into a mighty tree, whose outreaching branches overshadow every part of it. The first schools were apparently independent movements brought about by the communities in which they were planted for we find no records of any thing approaching to concerted action or system until 1855, from that period until 1858, there are no records at all owing partially to the loose manner, in which all the early papers were kept. After that date there seems to be more effort to keep them in proper form, and from them we collate the following:

In 1858 the secretaries of the several school districts, returned the following tax rates for school purposes: New Hampton town-ship, seven mills; Richland township, five mills; North Washing-ton, one mill; Bradford, one mill; Dayton, five mills; Jackson - (or Jaxonville, as here spelled,) five mills.

September 12th, 1859, the permanent school fund, and the school tax collected in Chickasaw county were apportioned as follows:



Jacksonville .................... $ 62 12 $ 39 15

Utica ............................... 66 86 42 11

Washington ..................... 31 32 19 44

Deerfield ......................... 56 38 35 53

Chickasaw ...................... 104 40 65 80

Dayton ............................ 32 88 20 92

New Hampton ................. 49 59 31 26

Stapleton ........................ 33 41 21 06

Fredricksburg ................. 51 68 32 57

Dresden .......................... 34 97 22 04

Richland ......................... 53 77 33 89

Bradford ......................... 143 03 90 15

Totals $720 41 $453 92

October 3d, 1859, J. C. Strong, county superintendent of Chickasaw county schools, filed the following abstract of the number of youths, between the ages of five and twenty-one years, residing ineach township and school district:


Bradford ................ 143 144 287

Chickasaw ............. 125 90 215

Dayton .................. 22 23 45

Deerfield ................ 51 60 111

Dresden ................. 25 43 68

Fredericksburg ...... 47 32 79

Jacksonville ........... 62 56 118

New Hampton ........ 71 57 128

Richland ................ 33 57 90

Stapleton ............... 35 34 69

Utica ...................... 73 73 146

Washington ............ 33 30 63

Total ...................... 720 699 1419

Apportionment of school moneys April, 1860:


Bradford .....................$170 38 $ 163 14

Chickasaw ....................127 55 122 21

Dayton ...........................26 70 25 58

Deerfield .......................65 87 63 10

Dresden .........................40 35 38 65

Fredricksburg.................46 88 44 90

Jacksonville ...................70 03 67 07

New Hampton ...............76 00 72 75

Richland ........................53 40 51 15

Stapleton .......................40 94 39 22

Utica ..............................86 64 82 99

Washington....................37 39 35 81

Totals .........................$842 13 $806 57

Report of G. J. Tisdale, county superintendent, for 1860:


Bradford...................144 149 293

Richland.....................31 53 84

Dresden .....................35 40 75

Fredricksburg ............52 50 102

Stapleton ...................33 37 70

New Hampton ............81 66 147

Dayton ......................27 25 52

Chickasaw ...............118 101 219

Deerfield ....................51 54 105

Washington ...............37 35 72

Jacksonville...............51 60 111

Utica .........................82 78 161

Totals 743 748 1,491



Bradford ............ 213 233 299 153 1.60

Chickasaw ......... 169 121 240 122 1.85

Deerfield ............ 224 191 286 182 1.60

Jacksonville ....... 231 239 282 177 1.64

Utica .................. 254 240 443 177 1.24

Dayton .............. 138 130 198 99 2.33

Dresden ............ 126 138 252 115 1.67

Fredricksburg ... 148 124 236 128 1.69

New Hampton ... 112 118 203 95 2.08

Richland ........... 145 169 237 122 1.24

Stapleton .......... 150 136 221 124 1.49

W ashington ..... 259 224 298 169 1.33


Chickasaw ......... 47 49 78 33-1/2 .79

Fredricksburg .... 36 38 86 62 .95

Ionia .................. 54 72 82 62 .95

Lawler .............. 145 125 166 116 1.04

Nashua ............ 194 188 354 214 1.03

New Hampton ... 195 228 311 178 3.23

The earliest records in the office of the county superintendent of schools begin on the 20th of October, 1862, on which date it appears of entry that the board of supervisors appointed Thomas N. Skinner, superintendent in the place of J. A. Sawin. Skinner entered upon the discharge of his duties the same day, and went to Bradford to attend a teachers' institute. Skinner's last entry is of date January 6th, 1864, and the first entry by his successor, F. D. Bosworth, appears on the blank day of January, 1864.

Records of examinations for teachers' certificates comprise the greater portion of Skinner's entries, together with itemized accounts of his expenses and sums due for official services. The enteries show, however, a very fair degree of energy on his part and quite a number of visitations upon the schools of the county. In the light of latter-day blank forms and other facilities for making out reports, etc., these early records appear somewhat primitive, but none the less evince the progressive spirit which has paved the way to the present orderly system.

The first entry of an official visit by superintendent Skinner is given below precisely as it appears in the records, as a specimen report of the more or less simelar memoranda which follows:

"June 2, 1863, journalized from memorandum

Teacher Miss Rose Doud.

Wages $12 per month.

Faulty orthography.

Stapleton school district, May 20, 1863.

Visited school in sub-district No. 2 in Stapleton. School taught by Miss Rose Doud. School room neat and in order. Vase of flowers.

Pupils enrolled .....................................8

Pupils 2 in first grade ..........................2

Pupils 2 in 3 grade ...............................2

Pupils 4 in 4 grade ...............................4



Wages $12 per month. A first-class school for a small one. Rented room for school."

Mr. Skinner is not always so complimentary in his reports, however; "faulty in orthography" is a comment which frequently appears, and there are other criticisms set forth with a charming degree of frankness unusual in our day of apologetic literature. Mr. S. evidently believed in calling a spade a spade. One teacher is "not well qualified;" in one school the room contained "no flowers or anything to make it pleasant; another is "too full a school for the house;" one school house is in "common order," and the school under "medium government." Then there are "a poor teacher, not fitted for the school;" a school that is "not neat;" a teacher that "hasn't energy enough for teaching successfully," and a teacher who "needs more education." Indeed, according to Mr. Skinner, there is quite a number of the latter class. We learn also of a "good teacher" who is "conceited" and "does not stimulate to higher standards;" a "national" teacher; a "nervous" teacher; a "middling" school, and are informed that "every school in the county is deficient in books"-better supplied, hewever, than the superintendent had anticipated."

The wages, it will be observed, were generally less than one-half the wages paid at the present time, twelve dollars per month being the usual sum, and fifteen dollars the highest paid save in the Bradford schools, where the principal, A. M. Mott, received forty-five dollars and his assistant, Miss Louisa Robinson, twenty dollars per month.

According to a resolution of the board of supervisors of the county, adopted at the June term 1863, the county superintendent was directed to visit and grade the various schools of the county agreebly to the instructions of the secretary of the state board of education, and that the schools be so graded that the pupils may advance in any one study when found to be so qualified.


At the same term of the board of county colons it. was: "Resolved, That the board of supervisors of Chickasaw county, Iowa, deem after long experince and mature reflection, the present school of the state of Iowa a nuisance - a conglomerate of misunderstandings and inconsistencies, having a direct tendency to squander the school fund and not benefiting the youth of our state but very little; and that we would recommend and use our influence to have the present school law remodeled, and each sub-district made a body corporate, thereby allowing each sub-district of the townships to have the exclusive control and management of their own school matters, and that the county superintendent be instructed to forward a copy of this resolution to the secretary of the board of education."

The first teachers institute recorded convened October 3d, 1864. The principal portion of the entry is as follows:

"Agreeable to notice, teachers met at New Hampton to open an institute. Institute opened at 2 P. M., and organized by selecting F. D. Bosworth, chairman, and D. F. Callender, secretary. J. L. Enos had been selected as lecturer, and to conduct the exercises during the session of the institute. The order of exercises was then read, and the meeting adjourned."

Upon reassembly on the following day, the meeting was conducted in accordance with the programme read on the preceeding day, as was also the case on the 5th, 6th, and 7th, and on the 8th resolutions were adopted and officers selected for the ensuing year. The session closed at 12 M. on the 8th.

J. C. Johnson succeeded Mr. Bosworth in 1866, and in 1870 W. P. Bennett appears as successor to Johnson. In October of the latter year the name of Jos. F. Grawe appears as succeeding Mr. Bennett. And at the election of October 11th, 1870, Jos. F. Grawe was reelected to fill the same office by almost the unanimous voice of the people, there being but three votes cast against him. The same gentleman seemed to be as great a favorite at the election of October 10th, 1871, and continued to hold the office at the bidding of the great majority of his fellow citizens, until January 4th, 1875, and O. A. Truman was appointed, by the board of supervisors, to fill the vacancy; which he filled until superceded by Major W. D. Collins, who was elected October 12th, 1875. He was succeeded by H. A. Simons who was elected October 18th, 1879, and was replaced by J. A. Lapham the present incumbent whose election occurred on the 11th day of October, 1881, his opponent being a very popular man, Oscar A. McFarland now principal of the Lawler school:


No. Employed. Compensation per Mo.


Bradford ........... 7 16 $ 23 77 $ 23 47

Chickasaw ........ 5 14 27 34 19 05

Deerfield ........... 2 23 23 75 24 46

Jacksonville ...... 4 20 21 75 20 14

Utica ................. 7 14 22 36 18 85

Dayton .............. 4 11 29 50 20 60

Dresden ............ 3 10 22 33 23 27

Fredericksburg ..6 9 26 66 19 46

New Hampton ... 7 10 24 54 20 19

Richland ........... 5 8 28 25 21 70

Stapleton .......... 4 5 22 15 19 90

Washington ....... 3 8 24 25 24 74


Chickasaw .........2 2 27 50 25 00

Fredricksburg ....0 4 28 50

Ionia ..................1 1 35 00 25 66

Lawler ............... 1 2 53 33 32 50

Nashua ..............1 4 80 00 35 00

New Hampton ....2 7 50 00 25 63

The number and value of school houses according to the report of county superintendent for 1881.

Number School House. Value of


Bradfoad .............11 $ 6 600 $

Chickasaw ............8 2 200

Deerfield .............10 2 825

Jacksonville ..........6 1 300

Utica .................. 10 3 150 30

Dayton ................. 7 2 450 43

Dresden ................8 3 210 135

Fredericksburg......9 4 475 186

New Hampton. ......8 2 150 156

Richland ...............6 3 300 337

Stapleton ..............7 2 450 65

Washington ..........7 2 275 60


Chickasaw ........... 1 1 2 100

Fredericksburg......1 700

Ionia .....................1 2 000

Lawler ...................1 4 000

Nashua................ .. 12 000

New Hampton ..... .. 700

In 1882, according to the reports, as filed with the county auditor, it is found that there are in the county 5,257 children, between the ages of five and twenty-one years, divided among the several townships as follows:


Bradford ......................... 367 372

Chickasaw ...................... 233 293

Deerfield ......................... 180 163

Jacksonville .................... 210 234

Utica ............................... 226 196

Fredericksburg ................ 180 156

Stapleton ......................... 259 275

New Hampton .................. 336 395

Dayton ............................ 128 116

Dresden ........................... 106 110

Richland .......................... 139 123

Washington...................... 250 210

Total ............................... 2614 2643


Grand total ...................... 5257

Report of number of schools in each sub-district for the years, 1880 and 1881:

1880. 1881.


Bradford ................... 10 12 10 11

Chickasaw .................. 8 8 8 8

Deerfield ................... 12 11 12 11

Jacksonville .............. 11 12 11 12

Utica ......................... 10 10 10 10

Dayton ........................ 7 7 7 7

Dresden ...................... 8 8 8 8

Fredericksburg ........... 9 9 9 9

New Hampton ............. 8 8 8 8

Richland ..................... 6 6 6 6

Stapleton .................... 7 7 7 7

Washington ................ 6 8 8 8


Chickasaw .................. 1 2 1 2

Ionia ........................... 1 2 1 2

Lawler ........................ 1 3 1 3

Nashua ....................... 1 5 1 6

New Hampton ............. 1 5 1 5

Fredericksburg ........... 1 2 1 2

Bradford high school. . .. ... 1 1

Total ......................... 108 125 111 126

The following is condensed from a report of J. A. Lapham, county superintendent, for 1882.

There are at present one hundred and twenty-nine teachers employed in the public schools of Chickasaw county. There are one hundred and five county school houses, leaving twenty four teachers employed in the towns and villages. Of these New Hampton has eight, Nashua seven, Lawler Ionia, Chickasaw and Fredricksburg two teachers each. Bradford township sustains a high school. Deerfield and Jacksonville each hired another teacher in the summer season, making a total requisite of one hundred thirty-one teachers to supply our public schools.

Of this corps of teachers two (Profs Simons and Felker) hold professional certificates. Thirty-eight hold firstclass certificates. Eighteen of these are employed in the towns and villages and twenty are in the country schools. Sixty-five have second-class certificates and twenty-seven have third-class certificates.

The number of scholars in the county between the ages of five and twenty-one, as indicated by secretaries' reports, is 4999. 2564 are males, 2435 are females. This statement may vary from the facts somewhat, as in a number of instances the secretaries wrote that they had failed to ascertain the exact number in their respective districts. I regret that this should be true. A little effort on the part of each officer will give a correct report. Further information from the same source shows the average attendance to be 2325, or about forty-six per cent of the number of school age. Of course many of school age do not attend at all, so that the average daily attendance compared with the enrollment is much larger. It, however in some instances falls below fifty per cent.

The average cost per month for each pupil is about $1.68. This refers to the amount paid teachers. Contingent expenses raise it to more than two dollars per scholar. In one district the amount per scholar per month was $4.57; in another $4.50. In a number of instances it amounted to over three dollars.

Not unfrequently this record is made where there are enough children in the distict for a good school if they would (or could) attend.

When we remember that our public schools cost us between $8,000 and $10,000 yearly. in addition to the amount permanently invested in school property, it is a question of deep interest whether they are giving us the results we have a right to expect.

In instances not a few, a good teacher is devoting her time to five or six pupils while there are eight, ten, or fifteen more in the neighborhood who ought to be in school.

Of our teachers, about forty are males and ninety are females. Cases of trouble in school have been very rare indeed within the last year. In many of the country schools ladies are doing as efficient work as the men (in winter as well as in summer).

* * * * * *

We have at present many good, true teachers in the county. On them do we depend largely for the successful issue of the graded system.

The subject of wages has received some attention the last year. A willingness to pay good teachers for their labor is more manifest. In the district' townships Utica, Jacksonville and Deerfield have taken the lead, Utica pays $24, $27 and $30, according to grade of certificate. Jacksonville is but $3 behind on first-class certificates and $2 on the others

Deerfield pays thirty dollars to most of her teachers indiscriminately. We know of three teachers in independent districts (country schools)who receive thirty-five dollars per month. A few received thirty-two dollars, and many thirty dollars. We respect-fully suggest that it would be well to grade the wages in all the districts in the county. Where this is done a manifest injustice is frequently worked.

* * * * * *

I am pleased to note that our first class teachers are in stronger demand. They are found to be far cheaper even when paid five to ten dollars more per month.

There have been three new school houses built within the last year. One in Jacksonville, one in New Hampton, and one at North Washington. Better houses are being built.

* * * * * *

Our annual institute had an enrollment of one hundred and three. Young men find it almost impossible to attend in the summer season. They furnish part of the money to sustain the institute, and (by their request) I think an arrangment for a session of one week in March for those who cannot attend next summer, and for young aspirants who will enter the work for the first time next spring. In many cases they have had no preparation for teaching whatever.

I have endeavored in this annual report to state the condition and prospects of our public schools as nearly as possible.



The census returns of the assessors, as made at a special term ofthe county court, July 21st, 1856, were as follows:

Bradford ...................................................... 589

Chickasaw ................................................... 508

Deerfield ...................................................... 325

Obispo ......................................................... 488

Richland ...................................................... 111

Yankee ......................................................... 522

Total enumeration of Chickasaw county 2 543

The returns for 1857 were :

Deerfield ..................................................... 263

North Washington ....................................... 179

Obispo (part) ............................................... 333

Stapleton .................................................... 225

Obispo (part) .............................................. 335

New Hampton ............................................. 256

Dayton ....................................................... 136

Chickasaw .................................................. 504

Bradford ..................................................... 987

Richland and Fredericksburg ...................... 786

Total enumeration of Chickasaw county 4 024


No. of males ....................................2 033

No. of females ..................................1 783

Total population ............................................................. 3 816

No. entitled to vote ......................................................... 914

No of militia ................................................................... 793

No. of foreigners not naturalized ..................................... 144

No of children between the ages of five and twenty one years 1 249

No. of acres of improved lands ..................................... 12 754-1/2

No. of acres of unimproved lands ............................... 299 570-1/2

No. of acres of sorghum .................................................. 46-3/4

No. of gallons of mollasses from sorghum ....................... 2 887

No of acres of orchards ................................................... 81-1/4

No of tons of hay from Hungarian grass .......................... 3

No. of acres of meadow ................................................... 639-1/2

No. of tons of hay ............................................................ 8 684

No. of bushels of grass seed ............................................ 29-1/2

No of acres of spring wheat .............................................. 3 032

No. of bushels of spring wheat harvested ......................... 10 425

No. of acres of winter wheat ............................................. 10

No. bushels of winter wheat harvested ............................. 13

No. of acres of oats ........................................................ 1 711-1/2

No. of bushels of oats harvested ....................................... 1 514

No. of acres of corn ........................................................ 3 153-1/2

No. of bushels of corn harvested ....................................... 53 821

No. of of acres of potatoes ................................................ 317

No. of bushels of potatoes harvested ................................ 13 519

No. of hogs sold ............................................................ 569

Value of hogs sold ......................................................... $2 818 40

No. of cattle sold ........................................................... 674

Value of cattle sold ........................................................ $14 292

No. of pounds of butter manufactured ........................... 71 234

No. of pounds of cheese manufacture ............................. 10 111

No. of pounds of wool grown ........................................... 2 226

Value of domestic manufactures ..................................... $363

Value of general manufactures ........................................ $4 020

Value of agricultural implements .................................... $17 390

No. of dwelling houses .................................................... 772

No. of families ................................................................. 772

The whole number of inhabitantants in Chickasaw county, according to the return of the United States marshal, appointed to take the census of the county, in 1860, was 4,740.

The following is a consolidated report from the assessment of the county as returned for the year 1879:

Polls ............................. 2,910

Acres of land ................ 316,070 Value $1 809 475 00

Town property .............. " 156 632 00

No. of cattle .................. 15,420 " 107 926 00

No. of horses ................ 6,790 " 187 275 00

No. of mules ................. 127 " 3 863 00

No. of sheep .................. 1,740 " 1 261 00

No. of swine .................. 7,995 " 7 911 00

No. of vehicles taxable ... 311 " 5 311 00

Merchandise .................. 51 477 00

Manufactures ................ 4 490 00

Monies and credits ........ 73 315 00

Other taxabl property .... 7 194 00

Or a total of all property of $2,401,242.00 to which should be added those articles of property exempt from taxation, viz: $67,748.00 making a grand total of $2,468,990.00 as being the wealth of the county for that year.

The report, from the assessment sheet, for 1881, shows as follows :

No. of polls .................... 2,874

Acres of land ................. 314,315 Value $1 725 724

Town property ............... " 134 934

No. of cattle ................... 16,244 " 159 755

No. of horses ................. 7,241 " 186 456

No. of mules .................. 103 " 3 022

No. of sheep .................. 1,601 " 1 601

No. of swine .................. 9,796 " 9 772

No of vehicles taxable ... 299 " 4 787

Merchandise ................. 44 288

Maufactures ................. 3 140

Monies and credits ........ 67 754

Other property .............. 12 508

$23 537 41

According to the report of the census marshal who took the census of 1880-there were in the county in that year 14,537 in-habitants of all ages, sex and color. The town of New Hampton being credited with 1,147, Nashua 1,116, and Lawler 487, the balance being distributed throughout the rural districts and smaller towns.




The history of Bradford township, in the days of the pioneers, is closely allied to that of the county, and the history of the latter is the history of the former, inasmuch that there we find the first hardy settlers, who located in that vicinity, when all the balance of the county lay in its primeval solitude.

Its territory embraces all of township 94 north, 14 west, and comprises 36 sections. It is plentifully watered by the Cedar and Little Cedar, with their affluents in the west, and Two Mile run and its branches, in the east. On the former are several very fine mill sites, which have been improved. The Cedar Falls and Minnesota branch of the Illinois Central railroad, traverse a small part of it having, a depot at the city of Nashua; the only important, but not the oldest town in the district.

Long prior to any settlement, within the boundary of the present county, there was a trading post and station, and an Indian burying ground, near where the town of Bradford now stands, and about the year 1840, a Mr. Wheeler had obtained a contract from the government, to break up and fence, some 400 acres of land for the Indians to cultivate; it being the intention of the government to treat it as a reservation for some Winnebago Indians. The breaking being done, during the summer of that year. His employes, who did the work were, Barber, McCormick, Gilmore, two brothers named Benson, Joe Parsons and of the latter we have gained the knowledge of these facts. Parsons reports that, at that time, the country abounded in all kinds of large game; bears, elk, and deer, and the streams were filled with fish; he shortly left the county and went back to Illoinis, where he staid until about 1861, when he returned, and settled in the southern part of Richland township, where he still resides.

In the following winter Mr. Wheeler and his sons returned, and engaged in making the rails and fencing in the ground. It was a most beautiful tract of land, and well fenced. The next year the Indians were brought on to the land, but the experiment indulged in by the government, like many others proved a failure, the Indians being unprovident and disinclined to work. Prairie fires destroyed the fences, and soon all went to decay and ruin. The trading post referred to above was a log house and stood at the south end of the grove on, what is now known as the Cagley estate. The above could hardly be called a settlement, as no white families located then, but in the year 1848, Truman Merritt settled, with his family, on the east side of the Little Cedar, near where Greenwood now is. Here then he built his family mansion, of the logs from the trees that surrounded him and settled down a pioneer of pioneers; here then was born unto him a daughter, in 1850, the first white child born in the county, who, after growing to womanhood, married Avery Earl, and still resides near the city of Nashua. About 1851 some other settlers came into the township among whom we find the names of John and J. A. J. Bird and Wm. Tucker, and followed shortly after by Edward Jones and his sons Alexander and John, and Andrew Sample, Gillet, Case and others. A son of Mr. Case, Elmer by name, having been born in 1851, near Greenwood enjoys the distinction of being the first male child born in the county. Tradition hath it that about the year 1850 there came into the county a man by the name of DeForest, he was an old bachelor and lived as a hermit in the woods, and pursued the avocation of hunter, and trapper, he afterwards moved into Bradford, where he died, but in what year "deponent saith not." The brothers John and J. A. J. Bird settled at the place where the town of Bradford was subsequently platted, and the emigrants that arrived during 1851 and '52 seem for the most part to have selected that vicinity, here then grew a town just above the junction of the two Cedar rivers, which was, by the expectation of those early settlers to, be the coming metropolis of the west, a Chicago of the Iowa prairies, but their hopes were far from realization, and although the town has one of the most beautiful locations in the county, still its glory has departed, and it hides its diminished head and awaits calmly the end. Here in 1854 was located the county seat which distinction Bradford held until 1857 when the seat of justice was taken to New Hampton.

We find that in the year 1852 Peter Perkins and Kaufman located at Bradford, and should be enrolled among the names of those early settlers, we have tried to rescue from oblivion, as should also that of Samuel Brink, who came in 1853. In 1852, according to most accounts, the first school was opened, but by whom taught has passed from the memory of the oldest inhabitant.

The first court house was built at Bradford, in 1854, and was the primitive log house, without ceiling, common to the architecture of those early days, and in it were held all the public meetings. James Lyon was the first county judge.

The first and second sermons ever preached in Chickasaw county were by an itinerent Methodist minister, by the name of Ingam, at the house of John Bird, the third by a Mr. Coleman, a Congregational minister,-these in the year 1853. Afterwards a few sermons were preached by A. D. Babco*ck, a Baptist minister, but the first church society organized was at Bradford, in the fall of 1855, and was Congregational in denomination, and of which the Rev. O. Littlefield was the first pastor. This church being the oldest in the county, will be more fully referred to elsewhere. A good story, illustrating the roughness of the times, is told regarding the second sermon, of Mr. Ingam. It seems that a portion, and a large one at that, of the men seemed to take offence at something he had reproved them for in in his first sermon, gave out that if he attempted to repeat it, he should receive a drubbing, but not detered by their threats, he assayed to speak the second sermon, as we have said, at the house of John Bird, as soon as he had begun an ominous gathering of men was seen to approach, each armed with a club and headed by Andrew Sample, a typical frontiersman, who could out swear, out drive, wade through more snow, and was fuller of energy than "any other man," and who had been loudest in in his denunciations. The crowd approached and instead of at once proceeding to hostilities-remained to listen awhile, and something the speaker said so touched the firey heart, of their leader, that on the conclusion of the services, he approached Mr. Ingam, and putting out his brawny fist, swore that he should preach there when ever he d--ned pleased, and he would lick the man who dared deny him, and throwing away his club called on his companions to do likewise, and Mrs. Bird gathered up enough of them, next day to answer for stove wood for sometime.

The above Andrew Sample was the first sheriff, of the county, and was one of the most prominent men in the infant settlement, having done as much or more than any other man, in developing that region of country, he finally returned to his native state, Missouri, where he now resides.

In 1854 it was the only town in the county, and continued to be the leading one until 1860, since which time it has steadily retrograded, until it has become almost the "deserted village" of the plains. The town was platted on land belonging to the Birds, and they for many years were the most prominent citizens. The township was organized by Jno. and J. A. J. Bird and others by order of the county court, in March, 1855, and comprised of township 94 ranges 13 and 14 or what now are known as Bradford and Richland townships, but at the March term of said court in 1856, the latter was seperated from Bradford, and organized as Richland township.

Here we should notice, that the church, erected in Bradford in the early days of the county's history, by the Congregational society, still stands one of the landmarks of that section-still its spire pointing upward seems the monitor bidding all prepare for that journey all must take.

W. S. Pitts, M. D., of Fredericksburg, has made it immorta through that beautiful song, "The Little Brown Church in the Vail." Sevices are still held in it, the Rev. C. A. Marshal, of Nashua, being the officiating clergyman.

According to the best accounts the first store, in the village of Bradford, was kept by J. A. J. Bird who afterwards sold it out to a Mrs. Chapman; it was but a small affair at the best, and was noted for never having much of any stock, but it deserves a place in history, as the first attempt at merchandising in the township; the date, however, when it was opened is in considerable doubt, but was probably about 1853. After this Pooler and Nicholas opened a larger and more pretentious store, followed shortly by Fritcher and Marinus, both kept dry goods, groceries, boots and shoes, hardware, drugs, and everything else. There was also about this time a, store by Eastman of the same general charcater. We have been assured that, the first store after Mr. Bird's was kept by Haskell and Mandeville, but of this there seems to be some doubt; but in 1855 they were among the merchants, along with Leland and Sample, the latter firm however confining themselves to clothing and groceries, Haskell and Hubbell, A. W. Billings and Lonson Covey, were also among the merchants of those early days.

These were succeeded by several others, but E. R. Dickerson alone remains of all, and at the present writing, is the sole merchant in the village.

A saw mill was erected, at Bradford, by Andrew Sample, in the year 1854, but which was afterwards moved away on the dam being washed out by a freshet. Two steam mills were afterwards erected, one by the Bird Bros, and the other by Haskell and Mitchell, but both were destroyed by fire in a few years.

A hotel was erected by Geo. Brunson in 1854, and has been known as the Brunson House to this day, it was originally a small frame building, but has had numerous additions built on. Prior to this Danl. Fritcher had a log building, where he had day boarders, and sold meals to the weary travellers, who came into town, for in those days this town was the general stopping place for all of the stage lines, and for emigrants, seeking a home in the-boundless west.

The first Blacksmith and wagon maker, was Wm. Dow, who was the foreman in a shop erected and owned by the hotel keeper, Geo. Brunson, but almost simultaneously, the Ellis Bros., opened another shop for the same business, and Peter Perkins an-other; it is in considerable dispute which of these last named was first.

"Pigs Eye" was the euphonious name of the leading saloon of those early days, was kept by a man by the name of Dodge, a small, deformed individual, since dead. Although prior to his establishing himself, a man by the name of Herbert had a small saloon, which is belived to have been the first in the town-ship.

About 1856, when the minds of all were excited, with the growing importance of the town, a large three story hotel was partially erected, but it was never enclosed, and long stood, a monument to the fallacy of human foresight, and was known to all for many years, as "Brink's Folly," after the man who essayed to build it. It finally, was torn down and used for kindling wood.

Henry Johnson was the first justice of the peace, and a rough uncouth specimen he was, many irreverent storys are told of him, among others, is related, that the first oath in the township was administered by him, under the following circ*mstances: A man named Horton, being arrested for stealing hogs, was brought before Johnson for trial, who at once proceeded to swear the prisoner, in a manner unprecedented, and probably unequalled in the annals of justice.

"By the uplifted hand of Almighty God, did you steel those hogs? if you did, you hope to be teetototally, G-d d--ned. So help you God."

History doth not record his answer, but it is to be supposed that the tremendous force of the oath brought the necessary confession from the criminal, if criminal he was.

The first physician who located at Bradford was a "root and herb doctor," as he was called, whose name was S. C. Haynes, who located there about 1855. He was an eccentric genius, and drove instead of horses, a pair of Elk harnessed to his wagon or sleigh. In 1856, Dr. S. S. Troy, a regular practitioner, came to Bradford and entered up on the duties of his profession, which proved quite lucrative, here he staid healing the sick, and succoring the wounded, until he entered the service of the government in the great Cival war, as Leiut. of Co. H. 4th Iowa Calvalry, afterwards promoted to Captain; when he trurned from the front, he located at Nashua, where he still resides, being engaged in practice of medicine, and the senior partner in the drug house of Troy and Morrison.


This most important and prosperous town is located on the Cedar river, opposite the mouth of the Little Cedar; immediately north of it lies a heavy body of timber. On ground high enough to be above all fear of a flood, yet with a gentle inclination eastward, and amply protected from the prevailiug high winds, by high ground crested with woods.

Most valuable and excellent water power is afforded by the Cedar river, on the north of the town, and the Greeley flouring mill, thereon erected, is said to be one of the best in this section.

A fine broad and well graded street, one block west of the track of the C. F. and M. Divison of the Illinois Centrol R. R. is lined with substantial buisness houses, many of them quite ornamental, brick and stone being the favorite, materal of which they are built. The residence portion of the city lies west of this, and many handsome nay palatial, mansions, adorn, and are adorned by the beautiful groves of the trees in which they are embowered. Broad avenues lined with trees, lie before the eye and excuse the pride its inhabitants take in their town. Andreas State atlas, says of this city.

"A large section of surrounding country in Chickasaw and Floyd and Bremer counties contributes to the commercial importance of the place. This portion of the Cedar Valley justly celebrated for its productiveness, and the advanced state of improvement which it displays. Here in the midst of such a country, with no important town nearer than Waverly in one dirction and Charles City in the other, Nashua is most advantageously situed to draw the mercantile trade, and the grain of the country to its market for shipment or manufacture from a wide distance.

"The business of the town is extensive and continually increasing. It embraces a large number of good mercantile houses, in all branches, shops of nearly all descriptions, good hotels, foundry, bank, printing office, dealers in grain, farming implements, lumber etc., etc. It is represented by a liberal array of talent in the legal and medical professions.

"The town has several church organizations, and good houses of worship. Its public schools are well maintained, and graded upon a most efficient system, employing a principal and three or more assistants as instructors. They are provided with a commodious and well furnished pubic school building which affords ample facilities for the purpose.

"Excellent building stone is found in quarries convenient to the town, and an abundance of good brick manufactured near by."

Among the first to settle on the site of the now town of Nashua we find the name of Mr. John Hall, who came here in the summer of 1854, when there was but one log house, and erected a frame building, but no sash or doors could be had nearer than McGregor, and he and his family were compelled to pass the winter in it without the necessary protection against the wintry blasts. In 1855 several more families moved in, and among them were those of Jas. Helms, George O'Donnell, H. Hall, J. D. Hall, Jacob Hall, Edward Hall, Owen Teeney, John O'Donnell, Hugh O'Donnell, Jas. Welch and Enoch Woodbridge (universally known as Deacon Woodbridge). The land belonged to Andrew Sample, but selling or trading a half interest to Enoch Woodbridge, they platted a town, and called it at first Bridgeport, but it was shortly afterward changed to Woodbridge, but was altered to its present name by E. P. and C. Greeley, after Nashua, N. H.

The man who first essayed to start a store was Smiley Sample, a brother of Andrew, who had a small place where he dispensed groceries and liquors, this was in the spring of 1856, although it is claimed by some that E. P. Greeley had the first store where every thing was kept. Mr. Greeley started his place in the same year at any rate. B. T. Hall now a resident of the town being his clerk, business however becoming good he was followed shortly afterwards by others, and we find among the merchants, who saught the patronage of the people in 1857, and 8, the following names: Veter and Rupe, general merchandise, Trott and Green, dry goods and groceries, Geo. T. Butterfield, Enoch Woodbridge Elihu Hall, Geo. H. Fountain and Jas. A. Webster. In 1857 Andrew Sample erected a grist mill which stood for ten years when it was torn down. for the erection of the Greeley mill.

John Hall was the first carpenter and millright, and with him may be named, Stephenson, the date of whose location was almost identical; John Butler was the first blacksmith, John Colt the first wagon-maker.

During the year 1856, A. D. Babco*ck a free-will Baptist preached at the house of John Hall, there being no church.

W. Read was the first shoemaker in Nashua and this disciple of crispin located himself here about 1855.

The city of Nashua was incorporated under the law of the state of Iowa in 1867, we give a copy of the petition for said incorporation presented to the board of supervisors June ,3rd 1867.

To the honorable board of Supervisors of Chickasaw county, Iowa.

We, the undersigned residents and legal voters within the following described territory, being anxious that the same should be incorporated, and that we may enjoy the privileges conferred by the statute of Iowa upon corporated towns, petition your honorable body asking that the following territory be set apart for that purpose, namely:

The south half of section 18, excepting the north-east of the southeast quarter. The north half of section 19. The west half of the north west quarter of section 20 and west half of the south west quarter of section 17, the same containing seven hundred and sixty acres (760) in township ninety-four range fourteen and includeing within it the present part of Nashua as recorded, in the recorder's office of Chickasaw county, Iowa, and appended hereunto is a map or plat of said territory.

And we further ask that the name of such incorporated town be Nashua. And we hereby appoint and authorize the following named persons to present this petition to your honorable body viz: E. D. Woodbridge, R. M. Nevins, E. P. Greeley, S. P. Leland, Andy Felt, S. W. Byers and John Coler. In the hopes that our humble petition may be granted by your honorable body we sub-scribe our names here unto.

Signed by S. P. Spindler and 36 others.

The board of supervisors took immediate action on the above, and by a vote, the prayer was granted, and steps were taken to perfect the incorporation.

In 1868 Rosenbaum Bros. opened a banking office which was most successfully conducted until 1870, when a stock company was formed, who bought out the above firm (they retaining some interest) and organized the bank of Nashua.

In 1877 a bank was started in a small way by A. J. Felt. who continued it until in March, 1879, when the First National bank was organized with a capital of $60,000 A. G. Case Pres., A. J. Felt cashier. In January, 1880, deeming that one bank was sufficient for the needs of the community, the bank of Nashua was merged into the First National bank. Shortly after which A. J. Felt retiring Amos Case became cashier.

Aug. 1st 1880 Louis Slimmer cashier of the Butler Co. bank, Clarksville, Iowa, and Lipman Loser late cashier of the bank of Nashua, opened a banking office under the firm name of Loser and Slimmer, which has proved more than successful, and is one of the prominent business houses of the city.

The first grist mill in Nashua, was one built in 1857, by Andrew Sample, J. S. Hall and T. Ervin, being the carpenters and mill-right. This mill stood for eight years and was torn down by E. P. Greeley to build the present fine one which enjoys the reputation of being one of the best in the northern part of the state. It is a large frame structure with stone basem*nt, built in a substantial and workman-like manner. Has six run of stone, and does a large buisness. A new feed mill has recently been added.

For many years this. part of the county possessed a fine agricultural society, but about two years ago the corporation puchased the groun s for a public driving park where the owners of trotting stock could exercise their fleet steppers, thus freeing the streets of their racing and allowing the ordiances against fast driving to be more vigorously enforced. We have endeavored to get hold of the records of the agricultural society but have been unable to do so.

The first school was taught in a little shanty in the eastern part of the town of Nashua in 1856 by Miss Maggie Nichols, an adopted daughter of Enoch Woodbridge, and out of this small beginning has grown the present fine schools of the town, of which see elsewhere‑

A steam saw mill was built by Charles Greeley, on the outskirts of the town, in the year 1858, which was afterward purchased by a Mr. Fisk, who removed it to some place in the state of Minnesota.

A hotel the first in the town of Nashua was erected by Montgomery in the year 1857, J. S. Hall being the contracting carpenter. It was considered a wonderful affair in its time and if we consider its surroundings perhaps it was. Like many another hotel, it has had varying fortunes and having changed hands a number of times is now conducted by J. D. Noyelles who makes a model land-lord.

The Patterson House is of more recent date, having been altered from a dwelling and largely added to in 1873. The picturesque site of the hotel, standing back from the street and embowered in trees, makes it peculiarly striking, which added to the really good accommodations afforded and the presence of "mine jolly host," J. W. Patterson, invites the weary traveler to stop and rest.


The Congregational church at Nashua was organized July 7th, 1866, its charter members being:

P. F. May and wife, W. R. Cheney and wife, H. Fountain and Mrs. Hannah Fountain, Mrs. Edw. Hall, Mrs. Enoch Hall, Mrs. Alic. Stocks, Mrs. Selah Billings, Henry Baker and wife and Ira Mead.

Hiram Fountain was the first deacon of the church and Rev. J. K. Nutting of the Bradford church the first acting preacher.

Rev. R. J. Williams began his labors as pastor in 1868, and was succeeded in 1870 by Rev. M. B. Page, a devoted minister of Christ, whose walk was a fit example of his teaching, and who died on the field. The present church edifice was erected in 1870, at a cost of $3,500.

In 1882 it was repaired, repainted, fenced and otherwise improved and adorned, and is now a very neat and comfortable place of worship.

The Rev. W. B. Page was followed in the pastorate by the Rev. J. G. Spencer and he was succeeded by Rev. L. D. Boynton, who remained with the church, and ministered to their spiritual needs for five years.

In the same year Aaron Dodge was elected deacon, and with the venerable P. F. May, has remained the faithful deacon of the church to the present day.

Rev. L. D. Boynton retired from the care of this flock in 1878, and in February, 1880, the present pastor, Rev. C. A. Marshall commenced his labors in the vineyard of the Lord; supplying the two pulpits of Bradford and Nashua. To the last named gentle-man we are indebted for these facts, which he has kindly furnished at the expense of time and trouble.


This is one of the finest church edifices in the county, if not in this part of the state, and deserves more than a passing mention. It was erected in 1878, at a cost of $12,000 and we are given to understand is nearly paid for. Red pressed brick with trimmings of cream colored stone is the material used, and the architect has so skillfully blended the gothic with the renaissance order of architecture that the effect is more than pleasing. And standing on elevated ground, is the most prominent feature that strikes the eye.

Inside the same good taste prevails, the painting being in those light creamy tints that blend so beautifully with the pale brown with which it is diversified. A fine double banked chandelier lights up the auditorium, and stained glass windows add to the rich effect.

The main room will comfortably seat some 350 people, and al ready the membership numbers 220. Rev. E. S. Thorpe is the present pastor, and under his administration the church is prospering finely.


was organized in 1873, and the edifice was built in the same year, and is a neat and substantial frame building. The Rev. Father McGrath of Charles City, having charge of the spiritual welfare the flock.


Owing to there being no present rector of this church, we were unable to procure any reliable data in regard to it, but simply notice that there is such an organization.


A fine large brick building, surrounded by a fine play ground, and shaded by noble trees, and situated in the pleasantest part of the town, stands the school house, And when speaking of it the eye of the citizen lights up with concious pride for it is regarded by all as the finest one in the county, both by reason of the building and the high grade and excellency of the teaching.

There are three grades, viz: primary, grammer and high school. The primary and grammer departments consist each of four grades, the high school of three; the whole course is intended to occupy the term of eleven years, and the graduates from its higher branches, can readily, without any intermediate study, enter our state university, or any other college of like standing.

The principal, Mr. Henry Felker, is spoken of as one peculiarly fitted for the responsible position which he holds, and is assisted by six lady teachers, whose standing in the profession is second to none.

The text books used are, Appleton's readers, Robinson's arithmetics, Reed and Kellogg's lessons, Harper's geographies, Quackenbos' History of the United States, and the Spencerian system of penmanship. The aim of the board and principal has been to develope as near a perfect mode of instruction as is compatable with strictly practical view of life and its duties.

The board of school directers for the independent school district of Nashua, in 1880-1 was:

R. A. Flemming, President.

Wm. B. Perrin, Secretary.

I. H. Bradford, Treasurer.


A. G. Lawrence, Geo. T. Bellamy,

R. A. Flemming, A. J. Felt,

W. A. Williams, H. T. Dexter,

The present officers and directors are:

H. H. Hopkins, President.

B. A. Billings, Secretary.

L. Loeser, Treasurer.


R. H. Fairbain, H. H. Hopkins,

R. M. Nevins, A. A. Turner,

E. R. Richardson. H. T. Dexter.

Anchor Lodge, No. 89 A. O. U. W. was organized in Nashua Dec, 22d, 1876 with fourteen charter members. The officers chosen at that meeting were: P. M. W., W. A. Williams; M. W., E. C. Weeks; G. F., R. A. Flemming; Overseer, H. H. Conklin; Guide, Geo. C. Willard; Rdr, J. A. Weeks; Financier, H. A. Hopkins; Receiver, Wm.Lester; J. W., C. W. Strohn; O. W., J. H. Mitchell.

The lodge has prospered well ever since its inception and report with an average membership of twenty eight, in the six years of its existence there had occurred but one death to mar the perfect circle of fraternity that bind them together. The membership to-day is thirty-three and the officers, Jos. F. Grawe, P. M. W.; W. S. Skinner, M. W.; T.Alred, Foreman; Jas Hershberg, Overseer; Geo. C. Millard; Rdr., Thos. S. Bradford; Financier, H. T. Dexter, Receiver; O. S. Wherland, O. and J. W.


The masonic lodge was organized by Dr.S. S. Troy, master under a dispensation, in June, 1869, with twenty-two charter members. It now consists of about sixty brothers in good standing. Has a fine hall, fitted up in a good style, for the celebration of the rites of the order. The chapter was organized in 1871 and has a healthly growth.


This newspaper was established in the fall of 1869, it is believed, but in the' absence of files it is not beyond a mere peradventure. Andy J. Felt was the original proprietor and sole editor until 1873, when the office was purchased by Jos. F. Grawe, who still continues in its editoral chair. The Post is a six-column quarto with patent insides, and is published weekly. The mechanical work is well and neatly done, and editorial department well conducted. In political complexion it is strongely republican, and is the only paper published in the town, The office is well supplied with material, and keeps four compositors busily at work. The paper receives liberal patronage both in its advertising department and in the job work department.



A write-up of New Hampton, town and township, should be a fair reflex of the difficulties attending western settlements; not that there were unusual obstacles in the way, or that there were privations, or dangers, beyond those commonly met with under similar circ*mstances; in fact it is but a record of the upbuilding of a prosperous community, upon the bleak bosom of the boundless prairie, with little or no adventitious aid and with no attempts at what the distinctively American language terms booming.

The records of New Hampton township date back to April 6th, 1857, bearing which date the following record appears:

"Township 95-12 was organized under the name of New Hampton township, on the 6th day of April, A. D. 1857, by virtue of a warrant issued to David Edwards, by Lorenzo Bailey, County Judge of Chickasaw county. Attest H. Gurley, Clerk of Election."

On the first Monday of Apr1, 1857, an election, was held at the house of David Edwards, the board being organized by S. M. Prentice, Esq. of Richland township.

Gideon Gardner, John Patten and Homer Hamlin were the judges, and David Edwards and Harrison Gurley clerks of the election. The following persons were elected to their respective offices: Gideon Gardner and James Melenda, justices of the peace; Oscar Carpenter and Elias Marsh, constables; De Witt C. Chapman, town clerk; Joseph Gardner, road supervisor; J. W. Vanauken, Denizen Calkins, N. D. R. Cole, trustees.

The following officers were elected April. 5th, 1857: J. W. Vanauken, Denizen Calkins, Daniel Shook, trustee; Dan Pepper, E. W. Parker, constables; H. Gurley, township clerk.

April 24th, 1858 Gideon Gardner resigned the office of justice of the peace, and the trustees appointed Caleb Arnold to fill vacance.


Denizen Calkins, Daniel Shook, N. D. R. Cole, trustees; Caleb Arnold, James Melenda justices of the peace ; B. E. Morton, con-stable; D. W. C. Chapman, assessor; H. Gurley, township clerk.

OCTOBER, 1859.

Philip Vanorsdoll, G. W. Pepper, Edward Bell, trustees; H. Gurley, clerk; A. L. Jackson, assessor; James E. Yaunce, justice of the peace; M. C. Roby, D. W. C. Chapman, constables.


Gideon Gardner, member board of supervisors; James E. Yaunce, George A. Hamilton, justices of the peace; H. Gurley, clerk; A. D. Jackson, assessor; Joseph Gardner, D. W. C Chapman, J. K. Kronagar, trustees, for short term; Denizen Calkins, N. D. R. Cole, Orlando Roberts, trustees for 1861; M. C. Roby, C. T. Craft, constables.

OCTOBER, 1861,

N. D. R. Cole, David Edwards, J. K. Kronagar, trustees; E. G. O. Groat, assessor; A. D. Jackson, Dan Pepper, constables; L. J. Young, clerk.


David Edwards, J. K. Kronagar, W. T. Paul, trustees; G. A. Hamilton, Joseph Young, justices of the peace; L. J. Young, clerk; G. A. Hamilton, assessor; J. D. Arnold, George Colby, con-stables.

OCTOBER, 1863.

J. K. Kronagar, member board of supervisors; David Edwards, W. T. Paul, A. T. Jackson, trustees; B. E. Morton, clerk; L. J. Young, assessor; E. T. Runion, Dan Pepper, constables.


N. D. R. Cole, W. T. Paul, A. D Jackson, trustees; G. A. Hamilton, Joseph Young, justices of the peace; L. J. Young,clerk; A. H. Bartlett, assessor; A. D. Jackson, John Geer, con-stables.

OCTOBER, 1865.

Gideon Gardner, member board of supervisors; W. T. Paul, Myron Ives, Gilbert Vincent, trustees; W. Johnston, clerk; E. W. Parker assessor; L. H. Phinney, John Geer, con-stables.

OCTOBER, 1866.

N. D.R. Cole A. D. Jackson, H. S. Gardner,trustees; L. J. Young clerk; A. H. Bartlett, assessor; L. H. Phinney, Nelson Olds, constables; G. A. Hamilton, H. J. Parker, justices of the peace.


D. A. Jackson, member board supervisors; M. Burgit, A. S. Gardner, Joseph Young, trustees; G. A. Hamilton, assessor; L. M., Smith, clerk; R. O. Sheldon, constable.


J. R. Kenyon, Joseph Young, I. H. Minkler, trustees; Gideon Gardner, J. Colby, justices of the peace; L. J. Young, assessor; L. M. Smith, clerk; Gilbert Vincent, George Reynolds, con-stables.


Gideon Gardner, member of the board of supervisors; I. H. Minkler, Joseph Young, Don A. Jackson, trustees; W. Parker, justice of the peace; Z. E. Barrett, assessor; L. M. Smith clerk; George Reynolds, R. O. Sheldon, constables.


D. A. Jackson, W. E. Hurd, J. A. Mixer, trustees; J. M. Robin-son, clerk; Z. E. Barrett, assessor; William Parker, S. J. Colby, justices of the peace; G. H. Reynolds, R. O. Sheldon, con-stables.


J. A. Mixer, D. A. Jackson, W. E. Hurd, members of board of supervisors; D. B. Sneden, justice of the peace; Robert Shortley, assessor; E P. Sheffield, clerk; Smith Healey, R. O. Sheldon constables.


W. E. Hurd, Don A. Jackson, I. H. Minkler, trustees; William Parker, S. J. Colby, justices of the peace; Samuel Cotant, assessor; J. M. Robinson, clerk; A. H. Lillebridge; L. M. Smith constables.


I. H. Minkler, Robert Shortley, Hugh Kepler, trustees; W. Parker, justice of the peace; E. P. Sheffield, assessor; J. M. Robinson, clerk;


The records for this year are incomplete. D. B. Shelden and John Mays were elected justices of the peace; and J. T. Jackson constable.


The records for this year are also incomplete. D. B. Sneden and J. K. Kroninger were elected justices of the peace; H. P. Cotant, clerk; Walter Cady, constable.


Hugh Kepler, Don A. Jackson, Cornelius Carr. trustees; John Mays, William Parker, justices of the peace; S. R. Wesp, assessor; H. P. Cotant, clerk; Walter Cady, W. .W. Morris, constables.


D. A. Jackson, Hugh Kepler, A. A. Brown, trustees; H. P. Cotant, clerk; S. R. Wesp, assessor; J. H. Gurney, justice of the peace.

OCTOBER, 1878.

F. J. Wesp, Samuel Cotant, Fred Morsch, trustees; E. P. Sheffield, clerk; D. B. Sneden, William Parker, justices of the peace; C. L. Gabrilson, assessor; Lee Miller, Chris Mullen, con-stables.


Hugh Kepler trustee; G. A. Hamilton, justice of the peace. C. L. Gabrilson, assessor; H .P. Cotant clerk.


C. L. Gabrilson, trustee; Cornelius Carr, D. B. Sneden, justices of the peace; John Krerger, assessor; A. G. Bigelow, clerk Lee Miller. Chris Mullen constables.


F. Marsh, Sr., trustee; G. A. Hamilton, justice of the peace; H. P. Cotant, clerk; Michael Malona, assessor.


F. McCarthy, trustee; D. B. Sneden, C. Carr, justices of the peace; Lee Miller, Charles White, constable; A. B. Harris, clerk, John Debittinger assessor.

In the above list of officers no mention is made of appointments to fill vacancies, which frequently occurred, The names given are of those who were regularly elected at the succeeding elections.

The following entry appears of date given therein.

On petition of J, H. Powers and others, presented to the county judge on the 2d day of July, 1860, the following described territory was set off from the township of Dayton and attached to the township of New Hampton, to-wit: the S. E. of the N. E. I and the N. E. I of the S. E, i of section 12, township 95, north of range 13 west; as per notice on file in the office of the township clerk, to which reference may be had. (Signed) H. Gurley, clerk.


The town of New Hampton, which is the county seat of Chickasaw county, deserves its importance and consequent prosperity chiefly from the fact that it is the geographical center of the county. The pioneers, who established the place, relied upon this fact to make good their investments, and the sequel showed that their judgment was not at fault; for, after divers contests, which will be found to be recorded elsewhere, the seat of county government was ultimately and permanently located here, and peace is now perpetuating what intermittent warfare won.

As will appear hereafter, New Hampton was incorporated in 1873, and dates its beginning from 1855, at the commencement of which year there were no building on the present townsite, and no townsite in reality. Don A. Jackson, who located within a mile and a half of the present town in May, 1855, relates that at that time the town had no existence, actual or prospective. The name of the place was at first Chickasaw center, but was afterward changed to New Hampton by Osgood Gowan in compliment to his native town in New England. According to Mr. Jackson's recollection, since corroborated by other pioneers, the first house erected in the town was built by David Edwards, and stood near where the creamery is now located. It was a small board dwelling. James Jarred built a log house not long afterwards, which stood in the center of the street between the Fitch block and the Gurley store building. Jarred sold to two men named Jacobs and Ross, who put in a small stock of general merchandise; which they subsequently sold with the building, to Osgood Gowan At the time of this sale Gowan kept the post office-he being the first postmaster-at his home in the woods, about one mile northeast of town. Gowan had to go to Jacksonville, for the mails, and sometimes to West Union, on foot. He owned 160 acres where he lived, and in fact traded with Jacobs and Ross for the store property, and moved the post office to what is now called New Hampton. Gowan afterwards sold to Harrison Gurley, who, with Gideon Gardner, and Homer Hamlin, had come to New Hampton in 1856. Gurley erected the well known frame store building on the corner of Main street and Locust avenue, where he kept store quite a number of years, during ten of which, at least, he was the only merchant in New Hampton.

It is particularly difficult to reconcile conflicting memories, as to occurrences which date back quite a number of years. The first public place of entertainment in New Hampton was a log house erected by Samuel Shaw, Harvey S. Hill becoming the owner of it at a later date, and coverting it into a rude sort of hostlery. The building was also occupied, for a time by Gideon Gardner as a dwelling. William Johnson subsequently owned it, and moving it back, erected a frame in front, which he used as a saloon, himself and family dwelling in the log portion. Johnson sold to Hon. James F. Babco*ck, who, with his father, moved into the log portion, and transposed the saloon into a drug store, which was the pioneer drug store of New Hampton. This log building, was never a part of the hotel proper, which was built in the first place on the ground east of it, by Daniel Shook, and which underwent various names and changes of proprietorship, being remembered best as the Dixon house and the New Hampton hotel. Shook erected the central portion of this building and the kitchen. He was succeeded by Don. A. Jackson, who sold to W. D. Gardner. Mr. Gardner added the west main portion of two stories, and after-wards sold to John Dixon, who built upon the east side, moved the kitchen to the rear of the Gardner addition, and extended the main part to the rear. Dixon sold to H. L. Fitch, and in 1881 the building was destroyed by fire. Upon its site Mr. Fitch erected in 1882 a fine brick business block of two stories, with three store rooms on the ground floor, a total cost of $15,000.

The Central house now owned and constructed by E. H. Yarger, was erected by Daniel Pepper, who sold to C. H. Clough, and he in turn to O. Dana, Yarger assuming the proprietorship in 1882.

The property which J. F. Babco*ck purchased of William John-son, was located where Mr. Baco*ck's brick building, occupied by L. L. Briggs' drug store, now is. The first brick business building in New Hampton was erected by Mr. Babco*ck in 1871, just west of the Johnson property, and is now occupied by W. D. Gardner & Co's. drug store. Into this building Mr. Babco*ck moved his stock of drugs, tore down the old log house, and rented for office purposes the frame he had just vacated. The frame gave place to the present brick structure in 1881.

Very little was done by way of building in 1855. A man named Cook and his son-in-law erected another building, in addition to those already mentioned, and there was possibly still another on the lot now occupied by Auditor Sheffield, which latter may not have been built until 1856.

In 1867 Judge Arnold erected a dwelling house, several others, also being erected during that year.

In 1855, the only effort made toward laying out the town was the staking out of the block on which the Shook building was erected. The town was not regularly laid out until 1857, September 12th of that year being the date when the plat was made of record. G. Gardner, Homer Hamlin, David Edwards, H. Gurley and E. T. Runion were the original proprietors. Gardner and Hamlin owned each an undivided half, of W. 1 N. W. section 7, and the balance was owned by Gurley, Edwards and Bunion.

The rapid growth of New Hampton dates from the coming of the railroad in 1868, business for some time thereafter being stimulated to unwonted activity. Ernest Warner, who came in 1858, was New Hampton's first wagon maker; E. T. Runion, the first blacksmith, came in 1857. A man named Morton who came in 1859, was the first shoemaker.

The post office was established in 1855 or 6, Osgood Gowan being the first postmaster. Since then the following gentlemen have occupied the position in the order mentioned; H. Gurley, Daniel Shook, Samuel Cotant, Don A. Jackson, C. McCullow, Samuel Cotant, C. McCullow, J. C. Johnson, C. McCullow, the latter being the present incumbent. The office was made a money order office October 1st, 1877.

The election to determine the question of incorporation was held at the court house in New Hampton, April 26th, 1873. A. E. Bigelow, H, Gurley, W. W. Langdon, Zelotes Bailey and D. B. Sneden were appointed commissioners of incorporation, D. B. Sneden and W. W. Langdon officiating as clerks of the election. One hundred votes were cast, seventy for, and thirty against incorporation.

The first election for officers of the incorporation was held May 21st, 1873. The following were elected: James F. Babco*ck; mayor; E. P. Sheffield, recorder; A. E. Bigelow, C. H. Clough, W. W. Birdsall. M. C. Ayres, John Mays, councilmen.

The officers elected for the succeeding years, omitting the councilmen, are as follows:


G. Gardner, mayor; D. B Sneden, recorder; B. G. Smith, treasurer; G. H. Reynolds, marshal; S. R. Shear, street commissioner.


G. M. Mixer, mayor, James Young, recorder; H. J. Wing, marshal; D. W. Payne, street commissioner; B. G. Smith, treasurer; Samuel Cotant, assessor.


H. M. Mixer, mayor; E. P. Sheffield, recorder; B. G. Smith, treasurer; Samuel Cotant, assessor; Walter Cady, marshal; Fred Simmick, street commissioner.


S. J. Kenyon, mayor; E. P. Sheffield, recorder; Samuel Cotant assessor; Fred Simmick, street commissioner; B. G. Smith, treasurer.


S. J. Kenyon, mayor; E. P. Sheffield, recorder; B. G. Smith, treasurer; Samuel Cotant, assessor; F. Simmick, street commissioner; Tim Dorgan, marshal.


A. E. Bigelow, mayor; E. P. Sheffield, recorder; J. J. Arbuckle, street commissioner; B. G. Smith, treasurer; Samuel Cotant, assessor.


F. D. Bosworth, mayor; G. A. Hamilton, recorder; B. G. Smith, treasurer; Wilbur Sherman, street commissioner; Samuel Cotant, assessor.


F. D. Bosworth, mayor; G. A. Hamilton, recorder; B. G. Smith, treasurer; Samuel Cotant, assessor; Chas. Carpenter, street commissioner. During this year F. D. Bosworth presented his resignation asmayor, to take effect June 4th, and at a special election held June 20th, J. H. Gurney was elected to fill vacancy. Gurney resigned July 11th, and at a special election held July 25th, Hiram Shaver was elected mayor for the unexpired term.


Hiram Shaver, mayor; G. A. Hamilton, recorder; B. G. Smith, treasurer; W. B. Porter, assessor; Thos. Hall, street commissioner. The office of marshal, which has been of late years appointive, is held at date of this writing by H. J. Wing. The members of the city council for 1882-3 are H. H.Potter, E. P. Sherman, John Foley, H. H. Heming, J. M. Gilliland, Charles Lilge.

A history of Chickasaw county would be incomplete without more than mere mention of the late F. D. Bosworth. In so far as the writer has been able to learn, Mr. Bosworth, was a man of excellentexecutive capacity, and a gentleman in the truest sense of the word. He was a native of Vermont, and was educated at Tiffin, Ohio. He came to Chickasaw county in 1856, and first taught school at Greenwood, in Bradford township. After-wards he went to the old town of Forest City, where he worked for Judge Hiram Bailey, at splitting rails. The rails where twelve feet long, and the price paid for splitting was $1.25 per hundred. He was subsequently appointed deputy county clerk, was elected treasurer and recorder, was county school superintendent, internal revenue assessor, mayor of New Hampton, and at the time of his death in December, 1881, was cashier of the First National bank. He was at one time an unsuccessful candidate for representative to the state legislature, being defeated therefore by D. B. Hanan, Esq., main cause of his defeat appearing to be republican disaffection, with A. J'. Felt, the then editor of the Nashua Post, in the van of the opposition, personal ambition for the state senator being the actuating motive. Mr. Bosworth entered the army as a private, and became second lieutenant of company B, seventh Iowa infantry. Much historic matter could be found in the annals of this well remembered company, but space does not permit, neither, perhaps, would it be best to enter too closely into details; but it is sufficient to say that among its members were, "Andy" Felt, G. J. Tisdale, E. A. Haskell, Judge Robert G. Riniger, J. H. Powers, Deacon Gardner, J. Rutherford, G. W. S. Dodge, Charles H. Trott, W. W. Birdsall, Z. Bailey, D. Campbell, B. E. Morton, and Robert H. Mills.

These men were all more or less interested in political affairs, were "manipulators of the wires," so to speak, with ambitions and aspirations of their own, and company B. was known as one in which there was even more than the ordinary amount of intrigue. These things are said, not in the way of casting reflections upon any one, for all now look back upon those times with a smile and the appreciation of hum-or, and there is nothing of bitterness and little of discredit in the recollection; but it may be readily imagined what kind of a time there was, and also will be in an organization composed of such managing spirits as those named above.

Mr. Bosworth was also a lawyer although he did not engage in active practice.

To appreciate fully the important part enacted in the history of Chickasaw county by Bosworth, one should study the records, wherein his name almost constantly appears for a series of years, in one capacity or another. The writer is conscious that this tribute to the dead should be written by a loving hand, by one who knew Mr. Bosworth, and therefore thinks tenderly of him. For all who knew him speak of him with reverence, and there are qualities of head and heart which are in themselves imperishable, though he who had them may go out from among us. There is nothing left for the writer to do, save to put on record some hint of what he would like to say concerning F. D. Bosworth, some vague hint of roses and evergreen, that should be kept in constant fragrance upon his tomb, for dear remembrance sake. If a stranger can be so impressed with a life-record learned at second hand, truly those who know the maker of that record can linger lovingly in tender contemplation of it.

An incident showing the danger which beset the life of the pioneer, was the losing of Miss Hannah Runion, daughter of E. T. Runion, in the snow, in February, 1867. Miss. Runion who married F. B. Weed was, about eighteen years old at the time. In coming home from Jacksonville, Mr. Runion stopped for a time at his daughter's place of residence, about one mile and a half from that town. She concluded to come on home with him and the two left the house together. Mr. Runion had been driving a team attached to a sled, but on coming out of the house they discovered that the team was missing, and consequently undertook to walk to New Hampton. The night was a fearful one; they lost their way, wolves followed them; and their experience was indeed a thrilling one. Hannah became exhausted; and the father carried her quite a distance. It finaly became only too apparent that escape was impossible for both of them; they could no longer go on together and the only hope for them was for the father to bury the daughter in the snow, and himself reach means of assistance. This was accordingly done; a spot was selected upon a knoll around which shrubbery grew, near the creek, a willow tree serving as a landmark, by which to know again the locality. This was in the early morning, and to reach New Hampton required Mr. Runions utmost efforts, through out the entire day. He stopped at Utley's residence east of the fair grounds. The alarm was given but nothing could be done until the following day. On the third day a vigorous search was instituted; the citizensturned out en masse, but the winds and drifting snow had changed the aspect of the landscape as to make it impossible to locate the spot were the young woman was buried. For a time the search appeared to be a hopeless one, and the impression grew upon the searchers that the girl would not be found until after she had succumbed to the terrors of her perilous situation, to hunger or all the combined causes which rendered her position such a fearful one; she had used every effort to dig away the snow which enveloped her, and to make her presence known but to little avail, the snow being removed from about her sufficintly however to cause one of the searchers, Wilbur Sherman, in crossing the spot to fall through thus terminating the exciting hunt. The young lady was immediately taken care of and was soon out of danger. It is no wonder that even at this distance of time neither Mr. Runion nor Mrs. Reed care to talk of their terrible experience in that bitter storm, and it is only given here because it is a matter of history which is even yet talked of with interest by the citizens.

School was first taught in New Hampton in the winter of 1866-7 in the north east room of the David Edwards dwelling a house enclosed with siding and plastered with prairie mud between the studding. The school was taught by Mrs. Isabel H. Gurley, wife of Harrison Gurley. Eight or ten pupils attended. The furniture was of the most primitive description. Mr. Gurley had purchased property, but had not yet moved to the town, and Mrs. Gurley kept house in the school room, moving the rude benches in and out after school.

The term lasted three months in that building and school was next held during the summer in a little frame house east of town; afterwards in the old log store formerly occupied by H. Gurley and subsequently,a building (now H. L. Fitch's residence) was erected,the lower story of which was used for school purposes, the upper for county officers. School was taught in this building until the erection of a structure on the site occupied by the present school house, in 1867. This building was thirty by forty feet in dimensions, an addition of about equal size being subsequently made, and contained four departments. Dr. I. K. Gardner as principal opened the school in this building. In the spring of 1881 the building was destroyed by fire, the present structure being erected during the same year, and completed in 1882, at a cost of $13,000.

At the time of writing, the following gentlemen comprise the board of education: Dr. H. M. Mixer, president; Dr. A. Babco*ck, W. W. Birdsall, W. D. Stafford, A. L. Montgomery, J. W. Snyder; B. G. Smith, secretary; A. E. Bigelow, treasurer..

Previous to the burning of the school building in 1881, a primary school was also held in Dawes Hall.

A course of study for the public schools was written by Prof. Gardner in 1880, and re-arranged and published by Prof. H. A. Simons in 1882, with the following prefatory remarks :

"In preparing this course of study the principal and school-board have been controlled by the conviction that the ground-work in education is of supreme importance; that it is our duty, so far as it is possible, to fit the pupils intrusted to our care for intelligent and useful citizenship; and that those who wish to pass from our schools to higher institutions, should have the foundations thoroughly laid here. They have therefore restricted the course to such fundamental work as can be well done in the limited time.

"Pupils taking the entire course and passing a creditable examination thereupon will be entitled to a diploma.

"Those who do not wish to graduate, will be permitted, after they reach the high school course, to make their own selection of studies, whenever there are classes in the branches selected."

The following is a list of the text books adopted: Readers, Webb's Model readers; Edwards' Student's reader, for the high school. Gilbert's spellers. Sherwood & Co's. Analytical copy books. Kirk & Belfield's arithmetics. Greenleaf 's algebra. Reed & Kellogg's grammars. Parker's composition. Kellogg's rhetoric. Appleton's Geographies. Anderson's histories. Hutchinson's Physiology. Gray's Botany.

The enrollment of the schools is about 315, and is constantly increasing. The first-class to graduate will be that of '84, and now contains eight members.

The following is the present efficient corps of teachers: Prof. H. A. Simons, principal; Miss Alice R. Green, assistant, high school; Miss Abbie S. Powers, senior grammar; Miss Willie Neling junior grammar; Miss Carrie Ward, fourth primary; Miss Emma E, Fitch, third primary; Miss Eva E. Mixer, second primary; Miss Lucy Cameron, first primary.


An indication of the volume of business transacted in New Hampton will be found in the following accurate statement:

Shipment of grain and produce from New Hampton, via C. M. & St. P. Ry., during the year 1882:

Wheat .................................................. lb 310 850

Barley .................................................. 725 155

Oats ..................................................... 2 057 570

Corn .................................................... 3 649 848

Grass seed .......................................... 870 160

Flax seed ............................................. 1 810 575

Potatoes .............................................. 202 818

Dressed hogs ...................................... 34 040

Cheese ................................................. 58 623

Eggs .................................................... 131 855

Butter .................................................. 265 840

Hogs, 108 cars .................................... 2 160 000

Horses, 3 cars ..................................... 60 000

Cattle, 17 cars .................................... 340 000

Total shipments .................................. 14 004 534

Total receipts ...................................... 13 368 136

Total money on shipments of freight ... 38 050 88

Total money on receipts of freight ....... 30 658 98

Total money received for tickets .......... 7 253 78

Total .................................................... $75 963 64

There has also been a large amount of butter and eggs shipped by express, not included in the above figures.

The past year was marked by quite a number of improvements in the way of new buildings, etc. Among the business structures erected may be mentioned the following:

H. H. Kenyon, brick; two stories; cost $5,500.

H. L. Fitch, brick, for three stores; two stories; cost $15,000.

Dr. H. M. Mixer and Bennett Bros., brick; two stories; offices and opera house above; cost $20,000.

Addition to Odd Fellows' block: cost $1,100.

B. Tierney, brick; two stories; cost $4,000.

The entire list of buildings, additions and improvements during the past year, would foot up to many thousand dollars.

Glenwood creamery, W. D. Kipp & Co., proprietors, was established November 1st. 1881, and is one of the institutions in which New Hampton's citizens justly take pride. The creamery buildings are located on east Main street, and are forty by sixty feet in dimensions. The average price paid for cream, by Messrs. Kipp & Co., during 1882, was twenty-one cents per pound. During the year 1882 the firm paid out in all about $25,000. Seven wagons are employed in collecting cream and two employees are regularly kept at work in the creamery.

The First National bank of New Hampton, is an outgrowth of the Chickasaw county bank and the bank of New Hampton, both of which it absorbed at the date of its formation, December 15th, 1881. The Chickasaw county bank was the pioneer institution of the kind in New Hampton, and was organized in January, 1870, by A. E. Bigelow and J. H. Easton, proprietors. Mr. Bigelow is a pioneer citizen of the county, in which he has large landed interests, and has held various positions of responsibility and trust, was formerly county treasurer, and is held in high esteem. Mr. Easton is a well known capitalist, whose principal place of residence is in Decorah, Winnesheik county, where, as here and in still other loealities, he has extensive banking interests. Harrison Gurley was president of the bank of New Hampton, and F. D. Bosworth. was cashier. Mr. Bosworth died shortly after the formation of the present bank. The First National occupies a handsome brick structure on the corner of Main street and Locust avenue, erected especially for banking purposes, and which is one of the best equiped bank buildings in northern Iowa. The capital stock of the First National is $50,000. It does a general banking business, buys and sells ex-change, makes loans, receives deposits, etc. An extensive real estate business is also transacted in this connection. The present officers of the bank are: A. E. Bigelow, president; Samuel J. Kenyon, cashier; A. Cr. Bigelow, assistant cashier.

The banking house of Smith & Darrow was established in 1879. The proprietors are Messrs. B. Or. Smith and W. L. Darrow. Mr. Smith has lived in Chickasaw county twenty-seven years, thirteen years of the time in New Hampton. Mr. Darrow has resided in the county eighteen years, and has been in the loan business for the past twelve years. The latter gentleman is a large real estate owner, having over 1,000 acres of finely improved land in this county. Mr. Smith has been actively engaged in banking ever since it began to have an existence in New Hampton. The firm do a general banking, loan and real estate and insurance business, and are reckoned among the county's most substantial and reliable citizens.


J. H. Powers came in 1857, and is still in practice here.

O. Case came in 1858; is now a resident of Oswego, New York.

M. C. Ayres came in 1865, and still resides in New Hampton. Hiram Shaver, still in practice here, located in New Hampton in 1871.

S. J. Kenyon, now cashier of the First National bank, located in practice at New Hampton in 1869.

H. H. Potter, still in practice, located here in 1870.

C. B. Hanan came to New Hampton from Fredericksburg. D. B. Sneden a regularly admitted attorney, but who holds the office of justice of the peace, located here in 1871.

F. D. Bosworth, who never regularly practiced the profession, died in New Hampton in 1882. A sketch of his life appears in preceding pages.

J. M. Gilliland, for three terms clerk of the courts, is still a resident of New Hampton, was admitted to the bar, but is not in the practice.

J. H. Gurney carne in 1873, was for a number of years in practice here, but now resides in Nebraska.

A. C. Boylan entered into practice in New Hampton, in 1878, and is still an active member of the New Hampton bar.

George E. Stowe, also in active practice here, came from Chicago in 1880.

W. J. Springer, still in practice here, came in 1879.

R. E. Ronayne came to New Hampton in 1880, and in 1882 re-moved to Aberdeen, Dakota.

John R. Bayne came to New Hampton in 1879, and removed to Oregon in 1882, locating subsequently in Minnesota.

Samuel Young lived in this township, but never in New Hampton. He was admitted to the bar, and was county surveyor at an early day.

O. K. Hoyt came from Illinois in 1871, and moved to Humbolt, Iowa, in 1880.

The first lawyer in Chickasaw county was G. W. Howard, who subsequently became state senator, filling the vacancy caused by the resignation of Hon. J. H. Powers to enter the military service during the war of the rebellion. Howard was afterward appointed major of the 27th Iowa infantry, and served through the rebellion. He now resides at Waterloo, Iowa.

The next attorney was F. D. Hall, who was at one time prosecuting attorney of the county, and who now live in Richland township.

A. G. Case, now president of the First National bank of Charles City, and of the First National bank of Nashua was the next attorney who came to Chickasaw county.

J. H. Powers was the fourth attorney to locate in the county. A biographical sketch of Mr. Powers will be found in detail else-where. It is sufficient here to say that he is still a resident of New Hampton, whose destinies he has had by no means a small share in shaping, a remark which is equally true concerning Mr. Power's close indentification with the history of the entire county.

D. A. Babco*ck, of Bradford township, was never regularly admitted, although he succeeded at one time in being elected to the office of prosecuting attorney, the time of his election being at the organization of the county. It is stated that, on account of his not having been admitted to practice, he was ineligible to the office, and in this connection the following anecdote is told:

While returning from the memorable county seat fight, which will be long remembered in county annals as the Battle of Bailey's Lane, his horse was drowned in crossing a slough, and as a means of getting compensation for the loss of the animal, he presented a bill against the county for salary, as prosecuting attorney, during the time he would have served, in that capacity, and the part of the little reminiscence, which the pioneers particularly laugh over is, that the claim was actually allowed.


Dr. H. M. Mixer located in New Hampton in 1865, and still resides here in the practice of his profession, the firm now being Drs. Mixer & Gardner.

Dr. Babco*ck located here in January, 1867, and continues to practice his profession in New Hampton.

In the early part of 1870, Dr. Biederman came to New Hampton, but remained here only about one year, going from here to Bremer county, Iowa.

Dr. E. H. Olmsted came to Chickasaw county in 1857, locating first at Fredericksburg, where he remained until 1872, when he changed his place of residence to New Hampton, and has been in constant practice here ever since.

Dr. I. K. Gardner located in practice at Lawler in 1870, from which place he came to New Hampton in 1878, forming the partnership with Dr. Mixer, mentioned above.

Dr. Isaac Prince came here in 1878, but remained only five or six months.

Dr. F. Nestman came in 1880, and remained several months. Dr. Keith remained here about one year.

Dr. A. Sterzi located in New Hampton in August, 1880, and is still engaged in practice here.

Dr. A. E. Clark, dentist located here in 1879; and Dr. J. T. Ferguson, also a dentist, located here in 1877. Both gentlemen continue to practice their profession in New Hampton. Dr. D. J. Pollock opened a dental office here about the year 1869, remained about two years, and moved away to a subsequent location unknown. Dr. J. P. Campbell, also a resident dentist, died in 1879.

Mrs. Dr. Sterzi is also a regularly educated medical practitioner, and is in active practice of the profession.


On the 8th day of February, 1858, a meeting was held in the school house-being the log house formerly occupied by H. Gurley, as a dwelling, store and post office, at which time it was resolved, "To take the preliminary steps to organize a Christian church that shall embrace all evangelical Christians" under said resolution a committee of seven was appointed consisting of Gideon Gardner, David Edwards, D. Calksin, Caleb Arnold, Walter E. Beach, Dr. J. F. Willson and J. H. Powers, to report a basis, articles of faith and covenant. W. E. Beach lived in Jacksonville and Dr. Willson in Richland, and neither of them ever met with the committee.

Of the remainder of the committee G. Gardner was a Congregationalist, David Edwards a United brethren, Denizen Calkins, a free will Baptist, Caleb Arnold a close communion Baptist, and J. H. Powers had never been a member of any church, although reared as a Presbyterian.

On the 13th of the same month the committee reported a basis, articles of faith and covenant and the name given the church was, "The Pilgrim Church of New Hampton."

On May 25d, 1865, the articles of incorporation were prepared and the society received a corporate existence under the name of "First Congregational Ecclisiastical Church Society of New Hampton," and the church became known as the First Congregational church of New Hampton.

On Sunday morning the 14th of February, 1858, the citizens met in the log school house for the purpose of organizing the church. The Rev. J. C. Strong, who was then the pastor of the Bradford Congregational church, was present to aid in the services, and the church was organized, with Gideon Gardner, Naomi Gardner, Harrison Gurley Isabella Gurley, Jas. D. Colt, Amelia Colt, Jason Morton and J. H. Powers as members.

On the 5th day of February. 1859, the Rev. J. C. Strong again preached for the church and C. O. Case, May Case, Christiana Morton, Hannah Morton, John L. Vanauken, Emma Vanauken, G. A. Hamilton and M. H. Hamilton made application to become members of the church and were admitted. The regular pastor was called in the person of the Rev. Thos. N. Skinners who commenced his labors on July 5th 1862, and continued to act as pastor until the summer of 18N, preaching every alternate Sunday in New Hampton and Fayette.

During the year 1863, the present church building was erected at a cost of $1,670; $500 was donated by Jay Cooke, and $200 by the Boston Congregational Union. The record shows the following report of building committee, which was adopted: "Size of house, 28x36; windows, 12 lights, 9x16 glass; height of room 14 in the clear; three windows on a side.

To the Rev. Thos. N. Skinner, much of the success in building was due, he working with his own hands whenever opportunity offered. The church was not finished for occupancy until 1865, and was not seated until 1866.

Rev. Harvey Adams was the successor of T. N. Skinner and entered upon his pastorate December 1st, 1866, and closed his services as pastor of the church, December 25th, 1870.

Rev. Thomas Boyne was the successor of the Rev. Harvey Adams, and entered upon his pastorate, February 19th, 1871, and continued and terminated January 28, 1876.

Rev. J. M. Riddlington was a Methodist minister, who had been stationed at New Hampton the preceeding year, and was at his request placed upon the retired list on account of poor health.

He was hired to fill the Congregational pulpit for six months, preaching the first part of the time every Sabbath, and after his removal to Cresco every alternate Sabbath.

At the February meeting February 3, 1877. Rev. C. A. Marshall; he having preached for the church three months on trial-was chosen pastor of the church and closed his services as acting pas-tor January 20th, 1880.

The Rev. E. C. Moulton who is now pastor commenced his services, February, 1882.


is one of the leading organizations of New Hampton, and occupies a handsome structure, 34 by 66 feet in dimensions, which was erected in the winter of 1872-3. Rev. Mr. Wilcox the first regular pastor preached in the old court house. He was succeeded by Rev. Mr. Hazleton, who remained two years, and during whose administration the society purchased Dawes Hall, fitting up the upper story of the building as a parsonage. Rev. J. W. Bissell was the next pastor, and remained one year, being succeeded by Rev. C. H. Taylor. Mr. Taylor was the pastor two years, and it was during his stay that the present edifice was erected. Rev. Nathaniel Pye succeeded Mr. Taylor remaining two years, and was followed by Rev. John Baldwin, who also remained two years, being succeeded in turn by Rev. S. Sherin. Rev. Hager came in 1880, and was succeeded in 1882 by the present pastor, Rev. J. W. Jones. The present trustees of the society are Dr. A. Babco*ck, W. D. Stafford, W. L. Darrow, I. H. Minkler, A. McDonald, E. S. Fitch, J. T. Ferguson. Mrs. A. Babco*ck is the recording steward the others being J. A. Albertson, W. L. Darrow, W. D. Stafford, A. McDonald and J. T. Ferguson


on south Broadway, was erected some thirteen years ago. A foundation was first laid on Main street, diagonally opposite the Central House, but the site was subsequently changed to the present one. The congregation was organized April 3rd, 1870 J. W. Mitchell being elected treasurer. A soliciting committie of six was appointed. When the building of the edifice was decided upon, there was but $50 in the treasury of the congregation. Owing principally to want of funds, and the consequent necessity of borrowing, the costs of the structere exceeded what it would otherwise have been, the total cost being about $4,000. A handsome brick parsonage was erected in 1879. The congregation which at the beginning was very small, there being at that time not more than three Catholic familes in New Hampton, now represents some two hundred families living in the town and surrounding country. It is gratifying to note that St. Joseph's is now entirely free from debt. At the time of organization the wants of the congregation were attended to by Rev. Fr. Harrison. Rev. J. P. Probst was the first offiiciating priest and was succeeded by Rev. Patrick Burke; whose successor was Rev. John L. Gosker. Rev. Fr. Leahey the present pastor succeeded Rev. Fr. Gosker, and through his indefatigable efforts, both the speritual and temporal affairs of the congregation continued to improve. There is now little for the committee to do as the congregation is firmly established in the community.

The Catholic cemetery is located on the southwest quarter of section six about one half mile from New Hampton. The cemetery has been established now about ten years, is advantageously situated, well laid out and fenced. Improvements in other directions are in immediate contemplation and will no doubt be effected during the current year.


This society was organized March 15th, 1871, by Rev. John Klindworth, of Galena Illinois and Ed. Wachtel, of New Hampton. The first members were Fred Deppe, H. Deppe, Chr. Rabe, Fr.Kempendorf, Aug. Kempendorf, I. Reith, George Danner, Fr. Piehn, Fr. Siminck, Herm Christopher, Aug. Tiepan, Rev. Ed. Wachtel was the first regular pastor and still has pastoral charge. The church membership comprises twenty-two families. Services were at first held in the court house hall, then in the English Congregational church. and afterward in Dawes' Hall. The present church edifice was erected in August, 1880. is 52 by 28 feet in dimensions, and cost $1,900. The present church officers are: Fred Deppe, treasurer; George Danner, H. Deppe Albert Drawelow, trustees, Aug. Arndt deacon; Th. Jaehrling president; Albert Drawelow secretary.


was organized June 20th; 1874, by Rev. Henry Hess of Fort Atkinson, who was the first (and still continues to be the) pastor. There are fifty-three members of the society. . Services were first held in the old Congregational church. The present edifice was erected in 1879, is 26 by 38 feet in dimensions and costs $1,500. The following are the present officers of the society: Trustees B. Blatte, V. Boos, H. Rehorst, H. Robrock, C. K. Staples. H. Christoph and V. Boos are the deacons; F. Kempen-doff is the secretary; H. Rehorst, treasurer; Joshua Sutter, Sun-day .school Superintendent.


of New Hampton, was organized July 30th, 1877, Rev D. W. Tolford conducting the first service and continuing to officiate for some time thereafter. As yet the mission has erected no church edifice and services have been for two years or more discontinued. The organization is, however, kept intact by the wardens, S. J. Kenyon and Samuel Young and no doubt the near future will witness a revival of interest, with consequent growth of membership and all that it implies.


was instituted September 2d, 1876, with the following fifteen charter members: J. F. Babco*ck, Lee Chapman, Charles A. Harris, Amos Babco*ck, Jr., T. H. Schulte, E. P. Sherman, William D. Collins, John Kress, Thomas Iverson, John McLaren, James A. Albertson, A. E. Bigelow, W. W. Birdsall, L. W. Smith, Oliver K. Hoyt. The first officers were as follows: Amos Babco*ck, Jr., P. M. W.; T. H. Schulte, G. F.; W. W. Birdsall, Recorder; A. E. Bigelow, Receiver; E. P. Sherman, I. W.; O. K. Hoyt, M. W.; John McLaren, Overseer; L. N. Smith, Financier; C. A. Harris, Guide; Thomas Iverson, O. W. The present officers are: A. E. Bigelow, P. M. W. and M. W.; J. A. Albertson, Foreman; John McLaren, Overseer; E. N. Olmstead, Recorder; E. P. Sheffield, Financier; W. L. Darrow, Receiver; C. A. Harris, Guide; G. R. Mc-Mullen, I. W.; E. P. Sherman, O. W4 Thus far there has been but one the lodge membership, that of Di. J. P. Camp-bell, which occurred in the autumn of 1879. Dr. Campbell was by profession a dentist, and was for a number of years receiver of the lodge. Meetings are held semi-monthly, 'in W. J. • Springer's office, on'the second and fourth Tuesday evenings in each month. There are about thirty-six members, and the lodge is prospering finely.

ARCANA LODGE, NO. 274, A. F. & A. M.

The charter was granted June 8th, 1870, the lodge having been organized under dispensation August 13, 1869, with the following officers: F. D. Bosworth, W. M.; James F. Babco*ck, S. W.; D. A. Jackson, J. W.; Z. Bailey, Secretary; A. E. Bigelow, treasurer; A. Babco*ck, S. D.; Z. Barrett, J. D.; L. B. Davidson, Tyler. F.,D. Bosworth was W. M. from August 13, 1869, to June 1st, 1871, being succeeded as follows: C. A. Harris to June, 1874; A. Babco*ck, to June 1877; C. A. Harris, to June, 1878; A. Babco*ck, to June, 1880; A. B. Harris, to June, 1882. The present W. M. is A. Babco*ck. There were thirteen charter members; the present membership '(October, 1882,) is sixty-seven. F. D. Bosworth died Dec. 19th, 1881. The lodge has also lost two other members by death, Z. Bailey and J. P. Campbell. Meetings are held in Masonic hall. in the Sieh block, on the first Tuesday evening on or after the full. noon. The lodge is in a prosperous condition.


of New Hampton, was instituted in July, 1882, with the following officers: I. K. Gardner, Rector; H. H. Potter, Vice-Rector; George E. Stowe, Scribe; W. L. Darrow, Questor; John A. Ryon, Usher; J. T. Ferguson, Speculator. The membership is about 25, and meetings are held in H. H. Potter's office, on the first Tuesday evening in each month.


was organized in 1859, .with W. E. Beach president, H. Gurley secretary, C. O. Case treasurer. The executive committee was composed of one member from each organized township, as follows; J. A. Sawin, Deerfield; S. W. Byers, Washington; EI. Cook, Obispo; Thomas Staples, Stapleton; Fred Padden, Fredericks-burg; L. J. Young, Dayton; Hiram Bailey, Richland; William Tucker, Chickasaw; John, Bird, Bradford; J. H. Powers, New Hampton. Subsequently J. H. Powers was elected president, which office he still holds. The object of the society is to collect and preserve historical facts with reference to Chickasaw county

W. C. T. U.

This society was organized August 26th, 1876, with about twenty members. The first officers were: Mrs. W. D. Gardner, president; Mrs. Lizzie Baldwin, Mrs. Eliza Marshall, Mrs. Mandana A. Silsbee, vice-presidents; Miss E. C. Stebbins, secretary; Mrs. H. C. Mapes, treasurer. Mrs. Hannah Cotant is the present president; Miss Stebbins, recording and corresponding secretary; Miss Abbie Powers, financial secretary; Mrs.. I. H. Gurley, treasurer. This organization has done effective work, in the temperance cause, and holds itself in readiness at all times to respond to the call of the president to re-engage in the good work.

I. O. G. T.

The Independent order of Good Templars has led a varigated existence in New Hampton, the first lodge having been organized in 1860, This lodge having demised, another was organized in 1867, which in turn yielded up the ghost, and on its ruins still an-other lodge was organized in 1876. At present there is no lodge of this order in New Hampton.


was organized in 1881, with about sixty members, and continues with about the same membership. Its primary object was to aid in securing the adoption of the constitutional prohibitory amendment. Its officers were: Professor H. A. Simons, president; Mrs. C. E. Hagar, vice-president; E. P. Sheffield, secretary; O. B. Sherman, treasurer. This organization prosecuted a vigorous campaign, and did effective work, the county being carried for the amendment, by a decided majority, as will be found to be recorded elsewhere.


At the election held in October, 1871, a tax of two mills on the dollar was voted to be levied, for the purpose of purchasing and stocking a poor farm. The total vote on the proposition was 1,438; 1003, for, and 435 against.

During the June term, 1872, the board of supervisors reported that after spending three days in inspecting various farms, they had purchased a poor farm located as follows: on the south half of the southeast quarter of section twenty-four, and the north half of the northeast quarter of section twenty-five, township ninety-five, west of range thirteen, containing 160 acres, on the town line road, two and one-half miles south of New Hampton. One hundred acres were "broke," there were a young orchard and a never failing stream of water. The purchase also included one reaper and mower combined, one horse rake, one plow, and one harrow. The farm was purchased of Don. A. Jackson, the price paid being $20 per acre, or $3,200 in all. A resolution was also adopted, providing for receiving bids for the erection of a suitable building.

At a special session held October 7th, 1872, a contract was awarded A. W. Utter, New Hampton, for the erection of a county poor farm building, for $1,360.80, six hundred dollars of which 'was to be paid down, the balance on the completion of the building.


The officers of this association are: H. Gurley, president; G. A. Hamilton, secretary; D. A. Jackson treasurer. The association was organized about the year 1861. The cemetary grounds are located in the southwestern part of town, are handsomely laid out and well fenced.


The habitat of the county officers at various times in the early history of the county, has been detailed at sufficient length else-where. The records of the June meeting, 1865, give the following details concerning the first building erected, especially- for county purposes. At this ,meeting the following proceedings were had in relation to the erection of a county building:

Resolved, That Palmer of Jacksonville, Haslam of Dayton, and. Woodbridge of Bradford, be a committee to enter into an agreement with, and if practicable make a contract with any iesponsible parties, for the erection of a county building, according to the plan and specifications now on file in the office of the clerk of the board. And if they deem changes or additions necessary, to stipulate for the same to be paid out of the county funds, but in no case to exceed $500.00 for such last mentioned purpose.

Resolved, That said committee be empowered to offer the contractor an interest of ten per cent. payable out of the county funds on sums due for the erection of said building, and payable, out of the swamp land fund, until said fund shall be received by the county, and paid over to said contractor or his order.

Resolved, That the coi3imittee report their doings in the premises, together with a copy of any contract they may enter into for the action of the board.


This contract entered into on this 6th day of June, A. D. 1865, by and between Chickasaw county, state of Iowa, of the first part and J. H.Powers of the second part, witnesseth: that the said party of the second part agrees to erect and finish according to the specifications now on file in the office of the board of ,supervisors, a county building the work to be done in the style of the work done on the Congregational church in New. Hampton, and the weather work to be of good pine lumber; the building to be erected in a good, workmanlike manner, finished ins,4de and out and painted with two coats of paint of white lead or zinc, said building to be plastered and complete for use, the seating used being the seats now owned by the country for county purposes. The walls of the building to be double plastered by lathing and plastering between the studding; The vault to be square as platted and the entrance to the same being under the stairs and to have double doors of boiler iron, one opening inside and one outward, with good iron hinges and iron fastenings for the same, and the walls of said vault to be at least sixteen inches thic}r with an opening in the same, and at least the outer wall to be of brick or stone. Said building to rest upon a good substantial stone foundation in height similar to the one under the Congregational meeting house in New Hampton; said building to be completed on or before the 36th day of November A. D. 1865.

And the party of the first , part agrees to pay the said party of the second part, for the erection of said building as above described the following' sums, and on the conditions and terms to wit:

Eight hundred and forty dollars ($840) paid down in cash.

Five hundred dollars($500) to be paid when the building is raised, said payment to be made by an order on the funds in, or to come into the possession of the country as "swamp land funds," with interest thereon payable out of the country funds at ten per cent. per annum payable annually, until the' county shall receive money from the United States as said "swamp laud funds" and- until the same is paid the said J. H. Powers, or his order;

Five hundred dollars ($500,) when the building shall be enclosed payable on the conditions, and in the manner above stated; and eleven hundred and sixty dollars ($1,160,) payable as the foregoing, out of the said swamp land fund when the building is completed; and G. W. Butterfield, W. E. Beach and W. B. Grant shall be a committee to examine, and if found complete according, to this contract, to accept said building from the hands of the contractor, previous to his receiving his last payment

And it is further stipulated that the said J. H. Powers enter into bonds running to the county, in the sum of thirty-five hundred dollars, with surety to be approved by the clerk of the board of supervisor, F. D. Bosworth and A. E. Bigelow, before he shall be entitled to draw any of said money. In witness whereof we have hereunto set our hands this 6th day of June A. D. 1865.




we being appointed a committee to let contract for building county building: to approved by the board.



Chairman Board Supervisors.

Your committee to whom was referred a resolution in reference to the erection of county building would respectfully report:

1st. We would respectfully recommend that the building be double plastered and painted inside and out.

2d. We would recommend that the accompanying contract be adopted and approved.

3d. We would recommend that to meet the first payment the county hire of the school fund five hundred dollars.

4th We would recommend that the clerk of the board of supervisors be authorized to issue to the contractor warrants for the several sums due on said contract as they became due, drawing on the several funds as set forth in the contract.




The third recommendation being amended so that instead of hiring "five hundred dollars school fund," the clerk to issue ten county warrants in sums of $50 each.

The yeas and nays were called on adoption, and resulted as follows: yeas 11, all the members present voting in the affirmative the contract and report were adopted.

J. H. Powers filed his bond June 7th 1865, for faithful performance of contract for building, which was approved.

The building erected in pursuance to the above contract was made to answer the purpose of a court house until Friday, March 26th 1880, at 9 o'clock on which night the building, was discovered to be on fire. It was completely destroyed by the flames, and in consequence of the county being thus left without a court house the unsuccessful attempt to remove the county seat to Nashua, detailed elsewhere, ensued. Steps looking to the erection of a new court house were soon taken, resulting eventually in the erection of the present commodious and handsome brick structure with the smaller brick building attached.

At the April meeting of the board of supervisors', 1880 the following resolution was adopted:

Resolved, that the chairman of the board of supervisors be authorized and instructed to secure plans and probable cost of a suitable court house, with the understanding, that the architect furnishing the plans that shall be finally adopted by the county, shall receive a reasonable compensation for his services as an architect and that the chairman shall be restricted to an expense not exceeding $50 in making said inquiry and furnishing plans.

In June, 1881, the citizens of New Hampton proposed to the board of supervisors to complete a court house, the architects estimate of the cost of ,which was $10,342, on condition that the county appropriate $,5000 toward building the same and that the board make an informal selection of the plan proposed, there being others plans presented to the board. The plans for a court house approved by the board at the June session, were those of Louis Brown, an architect of New Hampton.

At the November term; 1880, the board adopted the following resolution:

Resolved, by the board of supervisors of Chickasaw county, Iowa, that; whereas New Hampton having pledged five thousand dollars towards the erection of a court house as near the site pf the old court house in New Hampton as may be, and having given a bond for the payment of the full amonnt, the same is hereby accepted, and we order that five thousand dollars, or so much thereof as may be necessary, be appropriated for the purpose of finishing said court house, and no contract will be let unless the contractor will accept the bond of New Hampton at its face.

At the January session, 1881, the plan and bid of Louis Brown, for $10,000, was accepted and Mr. Brown appeared and duly entered into a contract with the county. The structure was completed during the summer. and was ready for occupancy in the early autumn of 1882.


The first agricultural society in Chickasaw county was organized at Jacksonville in September, 1857. A constitution was adopted and election of officers held at the hotel, then kept by Hazard Green. The following officers were elected: Hazard Green, president; John Bird, vice-president; J. H. Powers, secretary; Hiram Bailey, treasurer. There was also an executive committee for each township, as follows: S. W. Byers, Washington; J. H. Dickens, Obispo; Thomas Staples, Stapleton; Fred Padden, Fredericksburg; Hiram Bailey, Richland; Daniel York, Dayton; A. G. Harris, Deerfield; William Tucker, Chickasaw; John Bird, Brad-ford. A fair was held at New Hampton in 1858, under the auspices of this organization, J. H. Powers delivering the address.

The first regular organization of an agricultural society in Chickasaw county, in pursuance of the state law upon the subject, will be found to be detailed below, as taken from the records of the society:

The records of the society show, that "at a large and enthusiastic meeting of the citizens of Chickasaw county, held at New Hampton on the 14th day of April, A. D. 1860, the propriety of organizing an agricultural society was thoroughly discussed and agreed upon, and the 28th day of April, following was designated as the time, and New Hampton the place, at which such organization should be effected."

At the time specified, a large number of the county's best farmers, mechanics and business men, met and adopted a preamble and constitution. The following is the- preamble:

"WHEREAS, It is deemed expedient that an agricultural society should be organized in Chickasaw county, in such manner as to become a bodly corporate under general law of the state of Iowa, relating to the creation of corporations: Therefore, It is resolved, this 28th day of April, one thousand, eight hundred and sixty, that Hiram Bailey, Jas. E. Yaunce, R. H. Way, William Tucker, Patrick Galligan, Gideon Gardner, J. A. Rice, T. P. Vokes, M. B. Taylor, with their present and future associates and successors, are hereby constituted a body corporate, to continue twenty years, under the following constitution:"

Article 1st, recites: " "This Association shall be styled the 'Chickasaw county Agricultural Society;' its object shall be the improvement of agriculture, horticulture, mechanics, arts, rural and domestic economy."

The officers were to consist of a president, vice-president, secretary, treasurer, and one director from each township in the county, they together, or eight of their number, constituting a quorum for the transaction of business

"Article 3d. The regular annual meeting of this society shall be held at the time of the annual fair, which shall be fixed by the board of directors, and shall take place during the month of September or October, in each year; at which time the officers shall be chosen, by ballot, and shall serve one year, and until their successors are elected and qualified."

Other articles follow, prescribing the duties of the officers, etc.; "the principal place of business shall be at the county seat, and no capital is required, other than the sums contributed annually by the members, the amount received from the state, and the proceeds of annual exhibitions, which can only be in-vested in the grounds and fixtures, necessary to accommodate the society, or other legitimate objects thereof.

Provisions were made for the holding of annual fairs, at such times and place as shall be designated by the board of directors. Other regulations were prescribed; provision for membership and the amount members shall pay were made, as also the conditions for forfeiture of membership. The matters of establishing premium lists, agreeing upon the rules governing the fairs, limiting competition and awarding committees, were also attended to. The board was authorized to enact such by-laws and rules, not inconsistent with the constitution, as may be deemed necessary for the good of the society, and the final article provided that "this constitution may be altered or amended by a vote of the majority of the members present, and voting at any regular meeting."

"Thus nine persons have associated themselves as a body corporate, to continue twenty years, under the laws of the state of Iowa, thereby giving legal existence to the `Chickasaw county Agricultural Society.' Fifty other persons attached their names to the constitution, thereby becoming members and share-holders in said society."

The following officers were, then elected: Hiram Bailey, president; J. A. Rice, vice-president; M. B. Taylor, secretary; E. W. Davis, treasurer. One director from each of the twelve townships was also elected.

At a meeting of the directors, held on the 4th day of June, 1860, it was agreed to hold the first annual fair on the 27th and 28th days of September following, and a premium list was published in the New Hampton Courier and the Cedar Valley News, -the latter paper being printed at Bradford. This list was published several weeks, and every effort was made to ensure the success of the undertaking. The society having no grounds, the directors advertised for sealed proposals for holding the fair, from the several localities in the county, which being presented at the time specified in the advertisem*nt, the directors accepted, the proposals from the citizens of New Hampton, and located the grounds at that place for the first exhibition.

The exhibition, in the various departments, was much better than had been expected, especially in the vegetable and fine art departments. There were in all 239 entries. The entries for competition infield crops were accompanied with written statements of the mode of culture, etc., (agreeably to the requirements of the society), and also samples of grain. Below is the statement of the corn crop, and the result.

" `Method of raising corn, presented at the first annual fair of the Chickasaw county Agricultural Society, by J. P. Bailey.' I plowed the ground (grove land, and never plowed before), about five inches deep, and planted about the 15th day of May, three and one-third by three and two-thirds feet apart; four to six grains in hill; cultivated with double-shovel plow twice each, way, and hoed twice thoroughly. Seed, Ohio Yellow Dent, Yield 272 bushels of ears per acre, thoroughly packed, and, heaped as long as it would lay on. Grain and land measured by C. A. Stuart. J. P. BAILEY."

Mr. Hazzard Green, "one of the most scientific farmers of our county," delivered an address on the afternoon of the second day; "it was highly interesting and instructive."

The second annual fair was held at New Hampton, 2d, 3d, and 4th, 1861. The weather was cold and rainy; "consequently the fair was not a very good one, and yet it was not a failure."

It was judged best not to hold a fair in 1862, "for various reasons, the greatest of which was the call for volunteers for the union army, which was being so nobly responded to by the `ranks,' of our industrial classes, that no time could be well given to the holding of a fair."

The third annual fair was held at New Hampton, October 6th and 7th, 1863. "The occasion drew together a large number of our citizens, on the second day, and an interest was manifested beyond what the society had expected. We have no grounds and no debt."

The fourth annual fair was held at New Hampton, under many disadvantages, September 20th and 21st, 1864. Whole number of entries, 278; number of members, eighty; amount of premiums awarded, $110; received for sale of tickets at door of exhibition, $16.45.

The fifth annual fair came off as advertised, September 20th and 21st, 1875. Many causes contributed to decrease the interest, "among which maybe mentioned the fact . that the society failed ,to pay all the premiums awarded at the previous year's fair, and this single instance was a great drawback. Whole number of entries, 221; receipts from memberships, $72; receipts at door of hall,, $15.50.

At the close of this fair a meeting of members was held at the school house in New Hampton, and after the election, the following resolution was offered by Buel Sherman and unanimously adopted:

"Resolved, That we raise one thousand dollars by subscription, for the purpose of purchasing and improving permanent fair grounds for the benefit of the Chickasaw county Agricultural Society, and that each director of the society be authorized to solicit and collect subscriptions for such purpose."

"On motion it was resolved that the directors solicit subscriptions in their respective townships in amounts from five dollars to twenty-five dollars. Any individual paying five dollars to be entitled to a certificate of membership for six years; ten dollars, to constitute a membership for thirteen years, and twenty-five dollars to. constitute a life membership."

At the meeting of the board of directors January, 3d, 1866, a committee of three was appointed to confer with the citizens of New Hampton, and to ascertain the ;mount they would pay toward grounds for the society, on condition that the grounds be fitted up in good condition by the society, for permanent fair grounds. This committee, which consisted of Buel Sherman, Charles McCullow and Hiram Bailey, was instructed to report the result of their conference at the next meeting of the board.

At the next meeting, held February 6th, 1866, Mr. Sherman reported that no conference had been held, and requested that the committee be discharged, and that a committee consisting of three residents of New Hampton, be appointed in its stead. The request was granted, and Gideon Gardner, Charles McCullow and Harrison Gurley were appointed as the new committee, and requested to act promptly and report to the secretary at as early a day as practicable.

July 7th, 1866, Charles P. Ridenour and wife of Ulster county, New York, executed a warranty deed of the northeast quarter, northeast quarter of the southeast quarter, section 7-95-12-to the Chickasaw county Agricultural Society.

The sixth annual fair took place September 19th, 20th and 21st, 1866. "It was not a great success, yet it was very far : from being a failure." Receipts for yearly memberships, $63; at door of hall, $17.

January 9th, 1867, Elizabeth and M. M. Utley, of Chickasaw county, executed a warranty deed to a certain tract of land, known and described as follows: Commencing at the northwest corner of the northwest quarter of the southwest quarter of section 8-95-12; thence east sixteen rods; thence south forty rods; thence west sixteen rods; thence north forty rods to place of beginning; containing four acres of land, to the Chickasaw county Agricultural Society.

September 11th, 1867, Dr. H. M. Mixer, president of the society, published in the New Hampton Courier an address to the farmers of Chickasaw county.

The seventh annual fair occurred September 25th, 26th and 27th, 1867, and was in all respects a success.

The following notice the secretary caused to be published in the New Hampton Courier and the Nashua Post, January 11th, 1868:

"A vote of the board of supervisors at a former session placed $400 to the credit of the Chickasaw county Agricultural Society conditioned upon the raising, by the society, of a like amount. Their success has been commensurate with the zeal with which they have prosecuted the work. They have raised, not $400, but $600, and the board of supervisors have just returned over to us the sum of $400, as per previous resolution. During the coming year this money is to be expended in fencing and improving your fair grounds. The manner in which it shall be expended concerns intimately every member of the society. The board of directors, in view of the interests at stake, have decided upon calling a special meeting of the society, to be held at New Hampton on Friday, January 24th, 1868, at 1 o'clock r. M. It is hoped that every number of the society, and all who desire to become such, will interest themselves in the matter, and be present. By order of the board. L. J. YOUNG, Secretary."

At the special meeting in pursuance of the above call, a motion to fence the fair grounds was carried unanimously.

In pursuance of a motion by L. H. Weller, a building committee was appointed consisting of H. M. Mixer, I. H. Minkler and M. Burgit, and the executive committee was instructed to make such improvements, on the fair grounds, as the finances of the society will warrant, after the completion of the fence.

The total cost of material, fencing, and putting the grounds in condition for the eighth annual fair, was $1,238.65. "Add to this $180 for grounds, and we have a total cost of $1,418.65, the actual cost of the grounds as they are now, September 30th, 1858."

The eighth annual fair was held September 23d, 24th, and 25th, 1868. About 2,000 people were in attendance.

At an adjourned meeting February 10th, 1869, measures were taken to secure the erection of a hall on the grounds, and the executive committee was empowered to borrow funds, not exceeding $100, for this purpose. The premium list for the fair of 1869 was published in pamphlet form, by "Andy Felt, of the Nashua Post;" without expense to the society. A floral hall, 16x33 feet, was erected in time for this fair.

The ninth annual fair was held October 6th, 7th and 8th, 1869. "A very good display of animals and articles in almost every class. Buel Sherman took the lead in short-horns or Durhams. E. R. Shankland, of Dubuque, exhibited about forty varieties of apples. The exhibition of his fruit alone was worth thousand of dollars to Chickasaw county, and it is to be hoped that our farmers will take more interest in fruit raising hereafter; for this exhibition plainly shows what can be done in this line."

"Considerable interest is manifested among those having machinery on exhibition, and large crowds gathered around them to witness the trials given the different kinds of machinery."

At a meeting of the society June 14th, 1870, "by a vote, the society opens the doors to the whole world, to compete for the premiums offered; and the citizens of the adjoining counties are especially invited to participate with us."

Premiums were offered for the best and fastest trotters; also to the best base ball club.

The tenth annual fair occurred September 7th, 8th, 9th, and 10th. Three hundred and eighteen entries were made. D. W. Adams, of Waukon who exhibited sixty-eight varieties of apples, delivered the address, on the subject, "Fruit." The fair was financially a success, the total receipts being $289.80. "The best of feeling prevailed during the whole fair, and every person went home feeling proud, that so: good an institution as an agricultural society, was fully and firmly established in Chickasaw county."

At the January meeting, 1871, a former motion was thus modified: "that Chickasaw county open her doors to competition to all counties in Iowa, which extend the like courtesy to her."

September 19th, 20th and 21st, 1871, were the days on which the eleventh annual fair was held. Over 400 entries were made. The exhibition of stock was good, showing improvements over former years.

The twelfth annual fair, held September 17th, 18th and 19th, 1872, "was considered a success." There were more than 400 entries, and the exhibits in all departments was good.

In June, 1883, the fee for life memberships was reduced to ten dollars each.

The thirteen annual fair was held September 10th, 11th and 12th, 1873, and was in every way successful.

By a constitutional amendment, at the January meeting, 1874, the time for holding the annual fair was fixed upon the last Wednesday, Thursday and Friday in September of each year. Other amendments were also made.

Stormy weather interfered greatly with the success of the fourteenth annual fair, held September 23d and 24th, 1874, there being no fait on the last day.

The record book of the society contains no account of any of the annual fairs since that Of 1874, but it is apparent, from the minutes of the meetings, that fairs have been held regularly each year, with varying success, but in the main satisfactorily, showing continued improvement in stock raising and in all departments of husbandry. The fair of 1882 was in every respect highly successful, and in addition to the other attractions, was characterized by a grand soldiers' reunion, which took place on the last day. Gov. Buren R. Sherman delivered the address to the soldiers, and Rev. C. A. Marshall the annual address. At the March meeting of the society, 1881; it was announced that the time for which the Chickasaw county Agricultural Society was incorporated, had expired, by reason of limitation, whereupon' articles of re-incorporation were immediately proposed and adopted, providing for a continuance of the society for a period of ninety-nine years. At the following December meeting "the society as re-incorporated adopt and be governed by the rules and regulations as laid down for the government of the former association of this society."

The officers of the society from year to year, have been as follows:


Hiram Bailey, president; J. A. Rice, vice-president; M. B. Taylor, secretary; E. W. Davis, treasurer.. One director for each township has also been elected each year.


Hiram Bailey, president; A. H. Strong, vice-president; M. B. Taylor, secretary; E. W. Davis, treasurer.


Hiram Bailey, president; J. E. Shepard, vice-president; H. Gurley, secretary, A. D. Kinne, treasurer.


Same as in former year, with the substitution of E. W. Davis instead of Kinne as treasurer.


Buel Sherman, president; C. D. Johnson, vice-president; B. E. Morton, secretary; J. H. Powers, treasurer.


R. B. Schoonover, president; George McCaughey, vice-president; L. J. Young, secretary; Charles McCullow, treasurer.


Same as in former year.


Dr. H. M. Mixer; president; E. W. Davis, vice-president; L. J. Young, secretary; Charles McCullow, treasurer.


H. M. Mixer, president; Hiram Bailey, vice-president; secretary and treasurer as before.


Same as in 1868.


Buel Sherman, president; J. U. Mixer, vice-president; secretary and treasurer as before.


J. U. Mixer, president; Buel Sherman, vice-president; secretary and treasurer as before.


George McCaughey, president; J. U. Mixer, vicc-president; secretary and treasurer as before.


O. O. Poppleton, president; George McCaughey vice-president; secretary and treasurer as before.


J. F. McCallum, president; Dr. W. S. Pitts, vice-president; secretary and treasurer as before.


F. D. Bosworth, president; Cornelius Carr, vice-president; J. C. Johnson, secretary; John McLaren, treasurer.


H. M. Mixer, president; William Tucker, vice-president; J. C. Johnson, secretary; W. E. Beach, treasurer.


H. M. Mixer, president; J. F. Babco*ck, vice-president; J. C. Johnson, secretary; W. E. Beach, treasurer.


Same as in 1877.


Same as before.


J. F. Babco*ck, president; John Dayton, vice-president; G. A. Hamilton, secretary; H. Gurley, treasurer.


J. Kenyon, president; H. M. Mixer, vice-president; G. A. Hamilton, secretary; H. Gurley, treasurer.


Same as in 1881.


F. Markle, president; M. J. Peck, vice-president; S. J. Kenyon, secretary`. J. A. Ryon, treasurer.

The following is a list of the life members of the society:

Arnold, Geo. B.

Burgit, M.

Bosworth, F. D.

Babco*ck, James F.

Benedict, J. H.

Bailey, Hiram

Bigelow, A. E.

Bailey, H. H.

Babco*ck, A. W.

Cady, Walter

Clough, Cornelius

Churchill, L. M.

Carr, Cornelius

Cottrell, J. D.

Colt, Wm. I.

Carleton, J. R.

Dixon, G. L.

Dane, Frank

Davidson, John

Dana, O.

Dixon, John

Davison, L. B.

Dayton, John

Edington, P. A.

Edwards, W. R.

Fitch; H. L.

Foley, John

Fitch, E. S.

Gurley, H.

Gilliland, J. M.

Gardner, I. K.

Gillette, M. N.

Green, John A.

Gardner, Gideon

Gurney, J. H.

Hurd, W. E.

Herrick, J. D.

Hockspier, J.

Iverson, Thomas

Jack, David

Johnson, J. C.

Jackson, D. A.

Judge, Myron

Kepler, Hugh

Kress, John

Kreiger, John

Kenyon, J. R.

Kenyon, S. J.

Knight, A.

Linderman, W. H.

Larson, Andrew

Lilge, Charles

Lynch, J. M.

Mapes, H. W.

Meyer, John

Mixer, H. M.

Moloney, M.

Mixer, J. U.

McLaren, John

Martin, Seth

McCaughey, Geo.

Mitchell, J. W.

Markle, Fred.

McMuIlen, F. A.

McHugh. John

Mullen, Chris.

Minkler, I. H.

Mabie, Charles

Morsch, F.

Mapes, C. R.

Nicholas, P.

Olmstead, E. N.

Pierce, R. P.

Pepper, Dan.

Powers, J. H.

Peck, M. J.

Paulson, J. A.

Piehn, Fred.

Poppleton, O. O.

Row, Samuel

Reich, John

Stafford, W. D.

Simmons, J. J.

Sheldon, R. O.

Shaver, Hiram

Snyder, J. W.

Siminick, Fred.

Stebbins, J. B.

Sewell, Edson

Schulte, T. H.

Sherman, Buel

Silsbee, N. S.

Smith, L. M.

Sherman, O. B.

Swennumson S.

Scheutz, John

Sewell, Joseph

Stapher, C. H.

Shortley, Robert

Sheffield, E. P.

Tucker, Wm.

Tisdale, G. J.

Utley, M. M.

Wight, A. H.

Warner, C. J.

Watts, Isaac

Warriner, C.

Wheeler, C. A.

Young, James



The sketches of Fredericksburg township and the village of Fredericksburg, which follow, were written from notes obtained from William S. Pitts, M. D.., of Fredericksburg, who has gone to much labor and trouble to obtain accurate and exhaustive information, for a detailed history of the first thirty years of his township, which he contemplates publishing in an appropriate form at a not distant day. For his kindness and courtesy in the premises, Dr. Pitts, has the sincere thanks of the editor and publisher of this work.

Fredericksburg township is in the southeastern corner of Chickasaw county. Its boundaries are: on the north, Stapleton township; south, Bremer county; east, Fayette county; west, Dresden township. The township contains thirty-six sections of land and one-half of sections 12 and 13, 94-12, set off from Dresden town-ship. With the exception of two small groves of natural timber, it is a township of prairie land. Its physical conformation is an undulating plain, with a general inclination from east to west. The soil is excellent, land arable and water courses abundant.

Prior to its organization as a township, the first election for precinct officers-this township being then included in what was known as Yankee precinct-was held at the residence of T. P. Vokes. Thomas Staples was the first assessor, Osgood Gowan road supervisor and C. C. Stone his deputy, for this locality. This was in the year 1855. In 1857, O. H. P. Searle and D. B. Hanan were elected justices of the peace, being the first to hold this office in this locality.

At present H. B. Carpenter and George Bishop are the justices, Peter Case, clerk, and R. W. Kidder, assessor of Fredericksburg township. The township was organized as an independent school district in 1871, and so remains.

Frederick Padden, of whom more detailed mention is made in the sketch of the village, was the first permanent settler in the town-ship, in honor of whose prsenomen both the township and the village were named. Padden settled with his family on the present village site, September 21st, 1854, and was during that year the only settler in the township.

In 1855 a number of settlers came in, among whom may be mentioned the following: Samuel Marsh of Ohio, came in April, and located on the southwest quarter of section 9, 94-11. He erected a shanty and broke ten acres of land, which he planted to corn in May, raising the first field of corn in the township. His family came in 1856. In 1859, he went to California, but returned in 1861, and is still living on the farm where he first located. His wife, Julia, died February 20th, 1883.

Thomas P. Yokes came in May, 1855, and entered land on the northwest quarter of section 6, 94-11, where he still resides.

June 3d, 1855, William Case and family located on the south-west quarter of section 4, 94-41-11. James Potter, of Pennsylvania, came in July of this year. He first built a shanty on the village site, and afterwards located on the northwest quarter of section 19, 94-11, where he has ever since continued to reside. In the same year Charles Connor, of Illinois located on the southwest quarter of section 31, 94-11. In September, John S. Marr, of New York, located on the northwest quarter of section 31, 94-11, where he still resides. John I. Quackenbush, afterwards justice of the peace and a well-known pioneer, located in the township in this year. Quackenbush died in 1864. John Dayton, of Ohio, carne in December, 1855, locating on the northwest quarter, of the northeast quarter of section 10, 94-11.

By the spring of 1856, the tide of immigration had set in steadily, from that time the population of the township continued to in-crease with gratifying rapidity.

The question as to who were the first couple married in the township, is to some extent in controversy, the bridegroom being either Charles Zwick or George Fountain, with the probability strongly in favor of Zwick, whose marriage (to whom is not ascertained) occurred in 1857.

The precedence of births is also a mooted question, but impartial investigation indicates that the first child born in the town-ship was Rosa, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Lewis Padden, born in the early part of June, 1856; next in order was Emilia, daughter of Frederick and Julia Padden, and third was a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas P. Yokes-both of which latter were also born in June, 1856. The death of Emilia Padden was the first to occur in the township.

The township contains but one cemetery, which is located about two and one-quarter miles east of the village, and is called the east cemetery in contra-distinction to the west cemetery just over the line in Dresden township.

The first school house occupied in the township was erected in the village, and is mentioned in its proper place. There are nine school houses now in th township, well built and adequately furnished, at each of which there is a fair attendance, the schools of Fredericksburg township comparing very favorably with those of any other section of the county.

The township of Fredericksburg is well settled with a progressive and intelligent type of immigration, and it would indeed be difficult to find a more exemplary class of citizens or a better "neighborhood" than that comprised within its borders. Further and additional particulars are necessarily commingled with the historical account of the village of Fredericksburg, which is herewith presented.


The village of Fredericksburg takes its name from that of Frederick Padden, its first settler and founder, and by whom it was laid out in 1856, Padden and Bloxham being the original town proprietors. It is located on sections 4 and 18 in 94-11, and 12 and 13 in 94-12.

The first house was built by Frederick Padden on lot 4, block 18, in October, 1854.

Lewis Padden built the first store in the autumn of 1855; Emory Combs was the first blacksmith; J. V. Carpenter the first shoemaker, and George Hillson the first wagonmaker.

Frederick Padden built the first saw mill in 1856. It was run by steam power, was destroyed by fire in 1857, was re-built in 1858, and again burned in January 1862. This mill was located on the bank of Plum creek on block 5.

The Fredericksburg Cheese company opened a factory on Plum creek in May 1875. It was a stock company, and erected a building at a cost of $1,600. Oliver Briggs, of Elgin, Illinois, was the superintendent, and H. A. Simons, now of New Hampton, was secretary and treasurer. This company made cheese of excellent quality for three successive seasons, when they ceased operations, and the Wapsie creamery was opened in the same building in the autumn of 1880, by Messrs. Udall and Davis, of Jessup, Iowa, who, after a few months, sold to Christopher Haskett. Haskett continued the business until September, 1882, when he sold to Messrs. Kipp and Harris, of New Hampton, by whom the creamery is now operated, its business being extensive and remunerative.

In October, 1882, Loren Padden opened a creamery near his residence, which he still continues to operate.

Jerome Padden opened an extensive brickyard in 1876 on land east of the school house. This yard was only worked one year during which 200,000 brick of fair quality were made.

The first school in Fredericksburg was taught during the summer of 1857, in a pole shanty erected by Edwin Cain, and which stood southeast of where the Baptist church now stands. Miss Anna Bishop was the teacher.

The graded schools of Fredericksburg were opened in 1866.

The following are the names of the successive principals to the present time:

Nan M. Warren, summer of 1866.

D. F. Callender, winter of 1866-7.

S. Haywood, winter of 1867-8.

Nan M. Warren, summer of 1868.

N. Austin, winter of 1868-9.

P. Fowler, summer of 1868-9.

W. W. Quivey, winter and spring of 1869-70.

Hattie Coryell, summer of 1870.

N. M. Warren, winter of 1870-1.

Maggie McFarland, summer of 1871, to, and including summer of I872.

Kate M. Warren, winter of 1872-3.

H. C. Hudson, summer of 1873.

C. A. Lyman (taught only part of the term which was finished by Agnes Howe), winter of 1873-4.

B. Potter, summer of 1874.

Maggie McFarland, winter of 1874-5, to, and including winter of 1876-7.

J. C. Smith, summer of 1877.

H. A. Simons, winter of 1877-8 to and including summer of 1879.

Agnes Howe, winter, spring and summer of 1879-80.

Minnie Sherman, winter of 1880-81.

Lillie Scales, summer of 1881.

Alfred Martin, winter of 1881-2.

Mrs. Lillie Steadman, summer of 1882.

H. S. Adney, winter of 1882-3.

The present school building was erected in 1865, by Frederick Padden, at a cost of $1,000. Additional improvements made have increased the total cost to about $1,600. There are two rooms, one 30x30, the other 30x20 feet in dimensions.

The first sermon preached in Fredericksburg, was by Rev. S. M. Prentiss in Frederick Padden's hotel (the Fountain house), in the front room, May 19th, 1855. Mr. Prentiss was a Baptist clergyman.

A preliminary meeting, looking to the organization of the First Baptist church of Fredericksburg, was held June 3d, 1860, and all present united in a call for recognition from the churches of this. denomination. Those present at this meeting were: The pastor Rev. E. G. O. Groat, T. S. M. Flowers, Gilbert Page, James Lovesee, Jonathan Russell, Mrs. Gilbert Page, Mrs. T. S. M. Flowers, Mrs. Jonathan Russell, Mrs. Billings and Mrs. Munger. Mr. Flowers was made secretary of the society. July 7th, 1860, the society held its second meeting, and letters of recognition were read from the following churches: Fredericka, Fairbanks, Polk and Providence. This meeting was held in the small building which had previously been erected by a society of the United Brethern persuasion. The building had, in fact, been erected about the year 1858, but this organization was not of a sufficiently permanent nature to long survive. At this second meeting, then, recorded above, the organization of the First Baptist church of Fredericksburg was perfected. The following are the names of the pastors of the society in the order of this succession: E. G. O. Groat, Shadrach Sherman, G. W, Goodrich, M. E. Arkills, T. C. Briggs, William Simons, J. C. Abbott, M. H. Perry, J. N. Johnson, James Mitchell. Mr. Mitchell is the present pastor. The first deacon of the society was W. G. Eldret. Charles Mabry and C. W. Stickney are the present deacons. Mr. Mabry is the Sabbath school superintendent, the other officers of the Sabbath school being C. W. Stickney, assistant superintendent; W. S. Pitts, chorister: J. Mabry, secretary; Mrs. C. Mitchell, treasurer. Charles Mabry is also secretary of the church organization. The church edifice was erected in the spring of 1870, and was dedicated in July of that year. It dimensions are 32x52 feet, the total cost being about $2,800. The parsonage was purchased by the society in 1874 at a cost of $450, and is located near the church.

The Methodist Episcopal church society of Fredericksburg is also in possession of a commodious edifice, 32x50 feet in dimensions, which was erected in 1875 at a cost of $2,700. The first M. E. clergyman to preach in this section was Rev. C. M. Webster. Rev. W. P. Holbrook preached at Fredericksburg about the last of June, 1856. August 8th, 1856, he organized a class of the following ten members: George Hillson, Sarah Hillson, Alphens,

Adams, Cornelia Adams, Catherine Marvin, Maria Gibbs, Lovina Padden, Hester Vokes, Jesse T. Appleburg. George Hinson was the first-class leader. The pastors in regular order were: Elijah Kendall, Charles Hollis, J. L. Kirkpatrick, W. P. Holbrook, James Leslie, James Stout, Thomas More, Samuel J. Gossard, Reece Wolf, George Edmunds, Zelotes R. Ward, H. H. Hammond, Edwards Hoskyn, Philip E. Miller, J. R. Cameron, John Dawson B. D. Alden. Mr. Alden is the present pastor. In the early part of the conference year, 1864, a board, of trustees was organized, viz: Ebenezer Perry, president; George W. Adams, vice-president; Buel Sherman, secretary; Hiram Benedict, D. Berkstresser, J. P. Hartley. G. C. Cleghorn. This board purchased the residence, now the parsonage, of W. S. Pitts, paying therefor $400. Bel Sherman is the present secretary, Leonard Nourse the present treasurer of the society, The church has also a large and flourishing Sabbath school.

A Presbyterian mission was organized at Fredericksburg in 1860, and continued about five years. L. R. Lockwood was the pastor.

Mount Horeb Lodge No. 333, A. F. and A. M., received its charter in June, 1875, having previously worked one year under dispensation. There were ten charter members. Its first officers were, W. S. Pitts, W. M.; Leonard Nourse, S. W.; S. H. Holcomb, J. W. The following is a complete list of the officers at date of present writing: S. H. Holcomb, W. M.; W. S. Pitts, S. W.; D. B. Nourse, J. W.; L. W. Pond, secretary; E. Cullens, treasurer, R. W. Pond, S. D.; George Bolton, J. D.; S. P. More, Tyler. The lodge has thirty members. and is in a prosperous-condition. Meetings are held Wednesday evenings on or after each full moon, in Pitts and Warren's hall over Milo L. Sherman's store.

There have been various temperance organizations in Fredericks-burg, all of which have proved to be of a more or less evanescent nature, save the Fredericksburg temperance society, which meets every fourth Sunday evening in the two churches alternately. The exercises are of a popular and beneficial nature, and the meetings are largely attended. The officers of the society are: W. S. Pitts, president; Milo L. Sherman, vice-president; William Brown, secretary; Mrs. B. D. Alden, treasurer.

J. V. Carpenter, Post No. 104, G. A. R., of the department of Iowa, was organized in November, 1882, and has already taken rank as one of the live posts of the state. At the date of present writing (March, 1883,) there have been mustered into full membership forty-seven, and eight applications are on file. Fredericks-burg township contributed largely to Chickasaw county's quota during the war of the rebellion, and the soldier element of the township is unusually large. Carpenter Post meets semi-monthly, on Saturday evenings, in Armory hall.

The following is the official roster: Milo L. Sherman, C.; H. B. Carpenter, S. V. C.; J. N. Coleman, J. V. C.; W. H. Grems, A.; J. Ellison, Q.; S. N. Brace, O. D.; J. H. Langdon, O. G. Rev. James Mitchell, Chaplain; H. A. Pond, S. M.; R. W. Kidder, Q. M. S.

The ladies aid societies in connection with both churches are active and efficient in promoting the objects of their organizations.

A feature of the organizations of the village was the church choir which was organized with W. S. Pitts as director in 1864, and which held rehearsals regularly every Sabbath afternoon for thirteen years. This choir became widely known in this section as one of the best church choirs in northern Iowa. The following persons comprised its membership: Sopranos-Miss Nan M.Warren, Mrs. Helen C. Kendall, Mrs. Elmira Mabry. Altos-Miss Nettie M. Warren, Mrs. Emily E. Dayton, Mrs. S. E. Ellis. Bassos-Joseph H. Benedict, George H. Benedict, Allison Congdon, Abner Warren. Tenors-William S. Pitts, George Bishop. The first death among the membership of this choir, was that of Mrs. Kendall, who was first soprano at the time of her demise, November 18th, 1871.

Fredericksburg has an efficient cornet band, the successor to an equally excellent one, which latter was organized in the winter of 1865, and was called Pitts' Cornet band. The roster of this pioneer band was as follows:

W. S. Pitts, 1st Eb cornet.

A. J. Warner 2d Eb cornet.

Jerome Padden, 1st Bb cornet.

Joseph H. Benedict, 2d Bb cornet.

George Benedict, 1st Eb alto.

Charles Chapman, 2d Eb alto.

John H. Miller, Bb tenor.

E. N. Olmsted, Bb baritone.

M. W. Warren, Bb bass.

A. P. Fowler, Eb tuba.

M. L. Sherman, drummer.

This band was disorganized in 1870, and in the spring of 1878 the present band was organized under the name of the Fredericksburg cornet band. The following is its roster:

W. S. Pitts, 1st Eb cornet.

Robert Padden, 2d Eb cornet.

Watson Pond, 1st Bb cornet.

Frank Warren, 2d Bb cornet.

George Carpenter, 1st Eb alto.

Clarence Sherman, 2d Eb alto.

L. W. Pond, Bb tenor.

Jerome Padden, Bb baritone.

M .M. Padden, Eb tuba.

Lucius Steadman, snare drum.

M. L. Sherman, bass drum.

D. B. Hanan, the only attorney who has resided in Fredericksburg, came here in 1857, and about the year 1874 removed to New Hampton.

A Dr. Mack located here in the practice of medicine about the year 1858, and remained two years. He was not a regularly admitted physician however. Dr. John March, an electric physician came in 1860, and left in 1865.

The first regularly graduated physician to locate at Fredericks-burg was Dr. E. H. Olmstead, who came in 1865, and practiced his profession here until 1872, when he removed to New Hampton, where he is still in practice.

Dr. W. S. Pitts was the next to locate in the village of Fredericksburg, where he continues to reside in the practice. He came in 1867.

The first hotel (subsequently known as the Fountain house) was erected by F. Padden in 1855, and after occupancy by various proprietors, ceased to be used as a hotel about 1870. The building is now occupied as a residence by Daniel Pond.

The present hotel the Julien House, was built by Padden in 1857, and is now owned and conducted by L. F. Howe.

The postoffice of Fredericksburg was established in 1856. Frederick Padden was the first postmaster, F. W. Barrow, deputy. Daniel Pond succeeded Padden, with Elisha Smith as deputy. Peter Case, the present postmaster, was appointed in 1860, and has held the position ever since. The office was made a money order. office in 1882.

The village of Fredericksburg is not incorporated. It is very prettily located, and with its neat residences and advantageous surroundings, presents a very handsome appearance. Its population is not far from 300.

Among its pioneer merchants were: F. W. Barron, now a lumber dealer at Spirit Lake, Iowa; Elisha Smith, now in England; S. G. Merrian, now a resident of Nebraska, and J. H. Haskett, now a resident of Kansas. A. K. Warren, another pioneer business man, died in June, 1863. Frederick Padden died August 8th 1867.

At the present time the business of Fredericksburg is represented as follows: Milo L. Sherman, general merchandise; C. H. Clough, drug store; George W. Bolton, hardware; John Phillips, & Eli Gooldsbury, blacksmith; Hillson Brothers, wagon making and blacksmithing; Peter Case, groceries; L. W. Pond, harness; H. B. Carpenter, boots and shoes; Vail and Warren, axe-helve factory.

Among the preceding sketches of religious organizations, mention has not been made of the society of Dunkards, which owns a parsonage and forty acres of land three miles east and one mile south of the village of Fredericksburg. About twelve families are represented by this organization, of which Mark Lawler is the pastor.

A record of fires which have occurred in the village since its existence began, is as follows:

The saw mill owned by Frederick Padden was destroyed by fire in 1857, and the second mill erected on the same site was burned in January, 1862.

John H. Miller's saloon building, on the lot now occupied by the Baptist parsonage, was burned in the spring of 1870.

In the spring of 1872, J. V. Carpenter's residence was destroyed by fire.

The most disastrous fire that has visited the village occurred in February, 1877, when Padden Brothers' hardware store, Mrs. Howe and Mrs. Stone's millinery establishment, and Amaziah Smith's merchant tailoring establishment were destroyed with all their contents.

J. G. Haskett's store building, occupied by L. Padden as a drug and hardware store, burned in the spring of 1881.

In October, 1882, the Bolton building, occupied by Pomeroy and Co's. grocery store, was destroyed by fire.




Township 95 north, range 11 west, is the township of Stapleton, and contains thirty-six sections, the soil is good, although sandy in some places. Crane creek and two smaller ones traverse the town-ship, which with a number of small affiuents, all fringed with timber, make plenty those two items of good farming land, viz: wood and water.

The first settlement was made in 1850, by T. G. Staples, after whom the township was named; he settled on section 36, where he lived for many years; being the 1st postmaster in the township, at the P.O. called also after him. He afterwards went to Lawler, and after acting as "mine host" of a hotel, emigrated in December, 1882, to Missouri, where he now resides. Among the pioneers of this township, we find the names of Patk. Casey, James Casey, and two brothers by the name of Hill, who all came about the year 1855. It seems that the tide of emigration set in but slowly, in this part of the county, for the next two years, but in 1857 it secured a new impetus, and from that date it has steadily grown with a healthy growth. We are credibly informed, that in 1855 there were but two houses within the bounds of what now constitutes the town-ship, and also, that in the same year but 60 votes were cast within the four townships of Dresden, Fredricksburg, New Hampton and Stapleton. The first store in the township was kept by John Nicholas about the year 1857, and was located on what is now the farm of Mr. Menzes about one and a half miles east of where the town of Lawler now stands, and was the only stopping place on the road from Jacksonville and Waucoma, between those places.

The first account we find of anything, approaching to an organization, is an order, emenating from the county court, bearing date, March, 1855, directing, that the four townships now known as New Hampton, Dresden, Fredricksburg, Stapleton, then without names and simply designated by their number and range, be united for election purposes, and be known as the Yankee Settlement. How-ever, at the April term of the county court, in the year 1857, an order was issued for the organization of township 95, range 11, as an independent township, and to be known as Stapleton. This was accordingly done, and the township organized on the basis it now occupies.


"At a meeting of the residents of the townships of Utica, Staple-ton, Jacksonville and Fredericksburg, held in Stapleton, November 14th, 1868, of which H. B. Wood was chairman and W.D. Lawrence, Secy., a resolution was passed appointing E. Wetner a committee, to wait upon Mr. John Lawler, and ascertain the conditions, upon which the McGregor and Soux City railway would establish a depot, on the west side of Crane Creek, viz: west one-half of the south west quarter of section 4, township 95 range 11.

At the same meeting, on motion of B. F. Stinson, of Stapleton, a committee on subscription was appointed, consisting of Seth Mar-tin, of Utica, S. Swennumson, of Jacksonville and J. G. Haskett, of Fredericksburg.

On motion, H. B. Wood, was also appointed to confer with John Lawler, with regard to blank subscriptions.

The above is the very earliest notice of what is now known as Lawler, and was taken from the New Hampton Courier of Nov. 27, 1868. The original proprietors of the town plat were, Patrick Lynch Mathias Konzen, Geo. Benz, Martin and Patrick Green and Peter Pitts, who resided in primitive log cabins on the site of the future town, and may said to be the pioneer settlers.

But,on the railroad locating a depot here, in July,1869, suddenly, as if by magic, arose a town,whose proud pre-eminence,as the greatest shipping point for years, on this branch of the Chicago, Milwaukee, and St Paul railroad, is still remembered with pride by her citizens, and although now suffering from the effect of the many conflagrations, that have devastated it, still enjoys considerable prosperity.

Among the first buildings erected was a hotel, which the owner J. Nicholas,moved here, from Conover in the year 1869, and having built on considerable additions, called it the Nicholas Hotel; he, run it successfully until the year 1875, when it passed into the possession of Mr. Parker, who also added large additions, but it was destroyed by fire in the spring of 1876, and never rebuilt. Also the building, known as the American hotel, was moved to Lawler from Jacksonville, in the same year, by C. Bolton, after passing through the hands of Messrs. Hobart and King, it was kept from 1880, by T. G. Staples, who sold out and emigrated to Marysville, Missouri, in December, 1882. He was succeeded by W.E. Wisner, who now conducts it in a first-class manner, it being the only hotel in the place.

About the same time the first merchants came in and erected the necessary buildings to carry on their business, they were: Green & Lovejoy, drugs and groceries.

Ed Casey, hardware.

Parkhurst & Barnes, dry goods.

Blake & Menz, groceries.

D. R. Kerby, hardware.

Jno. Lynch, general merchandise.

H. B. Lawrence, general merchandise.

D. G. Goodrich, agricultural implements.

James McKone, has the honor of being the first wagon maker, and Patrick Burns, the pioneer blacksmith. The first shoemaker who took upon himself the labor of looking after the "soles" of the Lawlerites, was H. Duryee, and A. I. Mason, Geo. Fisk, J. M. Cailiff and Greenleaf, were the first carpenters; all these came in the fall of 1869.

In a small red building, in the northeast part of the town,in the summer of 1870, Mrs. Sullivan taught the first school, teaching in one small room, and residing in the balance of the house. Mrs. Frank Fletcher succeeded her, the following year, thus were instructed the earlier schools, but in 1871, a greater number of pupils, compelled the erection of larger and more convenient buildings. A frame school house was erected, containing two rooms, but was afterwards enlarged to four rooms, and now stands, quite an ornament to the town; the value being placed at $4,000. Prof. Oscar A. McFarland is the present principal, and Miss Delia Conley, assistant. The enrollment of scholars has been, until within a year, as high as 160, but owing to the establishment of the school, presided over by the Sisters of the Presentation, the number has fallen off very largely, as quite a majority of the citizens are members of the Roman Catholic faith, who naturally patronize their own schools. The number enrolled now is about sixty,

This is a graded school, and consists of three grades, viz.: primary, intermediate and grammar. The text books used are a little different from the ones endorsed by the county superintendent of schools, and hence we give the list: Kirk and Belfield's arithmetic and reader; Appleton's geography, introductory and test speller; Swinton's United States and General history; Brown's physiology; Swinton's word analysis, &c.

In this connection we must remark, that the records, relating to the organization of the school district, and all the school boards, prior to 1877, were destroyed, in the great fire of that year, and nothing remains from which to gather any data, but, beginning at that year, we give the names of the gentlemen who. have served on that board: Wm. H. Parker, elected September, 1877, for one year; R. J, McHugh, Jno. Cronin, P. O'Reilly, Jno. A. Green, all elected Sept, 1877, F. E. Baker and Michael Martin, elected March, 1878, to serve for three years; R. F. Hedrick, elected March, 1878, for one year; Geo. Evans, O. A. Taylor, and C. Springer, elected October 17th, 1878, to serve three years; P. O'Reilly and C. Springer, elected March, 1879, for one year; A. J. Kucker and H. S. Blackett, elected March, 1880, for three years; M. Martin and S. A. Potter, elected March, 1881, for three years. The above comprises all the records of the school board, now remaining, for which we are indebted to C. N. Husting, the present secretary.

Lawler, was first incorporated about the middle of the year, 1871, but, here the the same calamity steps in and deprives us of any reliable data, as the greater part of the town records were destroyed, with the school records, in the fire of 1877. But tradition hath it, that J. W. Vanauken was the first mayor, Jno. McHugh, re-corder, and that D. R. Kerby was a member of the first council, the balance we could not get at, with any reasonable degree of ac-curacy. However, at a meeting of the council, held September 17th, 1871, L. P. Hawley was appointed treasurer, and Jno. Phillips, marshal.

The council, present at a meeting held in June, 1872, we find H. E. Doolittle, H. B. Lawrence and J. A. Green, and a notice that L. P. Hawley resigned the office of treasurer, to take effect Sept. 17th, 1872.

Sept. 18th 1872, the new officers sworn in were:

John McHugh, mayor.

J. A. Green, councilman.

W. H. Parker "

H. E. Doolittle, "

Geo. Hemstock, "

Dr. I. K. Gardner, "

C. Seeber, recorder de facto.

This council appointed Thomas W. Thompson, marshal, September 21st, 1872, and after organizing, John Mc Hugh, resigning the position of mayor, J. W. Van Auken, was elected to fill the vacancy, and John McHugh, to fill the place of recorder.

The officers of the city, elected March 3rd, 1873, were C. Seeber, mayor; John Mc Hugh; recorder; H. S. Blackett, H.W. Parker, P. H. Leonard, H. E. Doolittle and P. P. Barron, members of the council; who after being sworn in, appointed, John A. Green, city treasurer; C. M. Stone, city marshal; John Phillips, street commissioner; E. Casey, assessor; and E. C. Walker, poundmaster, John Fitzsimmons, C. W. Harvey, I. K. Gardner, E. C. Crane and J. S. Fletcher members of the council, who appointed John Phillips, to fill the positions of marshal and street commissioner.

An election was held March 2nd,1874, with the following result: C. Seeber mayor; John McHugh, recorder; H. S. Blackett, James McKone, P. H. Leonard, W. H. Parker and E. Hurlbut, members of the council, who immediately appointed John A. Green, city treasurer and John Phillips, marshal.

At a meeting of the council, held September 17th, 1874, a resolution was passed, for the erection of a city jail, and the contract was accordingly let, but to whom the records are silent.

Mayor Seeber resigned, October 1st, 1874, but the vacancy was filled by pro tem. appointments, from time to time, until March8th 1874, when at the election held then, Wm. Lawrence, was chosen mayor; E. Casey, recorder; John A. Green, treasurer.

There having been some informality in the first incorporation, early in 1876, the legislature was applied to, for an act to legalize the incorporation, on receipt of which an election took place, under the new act of incorporation then adopted. The said election took place March 6th, 1876, and William Lawrence, chosen mayor; D. R. Kerby, treasurer; H. C. Geeting, recorder; C. W. Harvey, E. C. Crane; John A. Green and I. K. Gardner, members of the city council, and John Phillips was continued in his dual office of marshal and street commissioner. However, after January 25th, 1877, J. Mc Kone's name, appears upon the records, as a member of said council, perhaps, as substitute to fill some vacancy.

At the election held March 5th, 1877, there were one hundred and fifteen votes cast within the the corporation, of which I. K. Gardner, received seventy-four, C. Seeber, fifteen, and J. W. Van Aitken twenty-six, for the office of mayor; for recorder, H. C. Geeting, received sixty-six votes, I. K. Gardner seven, and I. N. Barker forty; for marshal, (now made an elective office) R. D. Parker had fifty votes against F. M. Phillips sixty-two; for street commissioner, F. M. Phillips, received fifty-seven votes, R. D. Parker, thirty, and C. W. Harvey, nineteen.

D. R. Kerby, polled eighty-two votes, J. S. Fletcher, twenty-six, and James Carter, three, for the office of city treasurer; for assessor, J. M, Lynch, received thirty-six votes, P. H. Leonard, sixty-three and John Nicholas fourteen. The vote on Councilmen stood, W. M. Morton, sixty-tour. James McKone, ninety-two, D. C. Mc-Farland, fifty-three, T. Cronin, fifty-nine, H. S. Blackett, fifty-seven, P. O. Reiley, fifty-four, C. Stringer, fifty, Joseph Binns, eleven, W. H. Parker, eleven, John Fitzsimmon, thirty-six, John Reiley, thirty-five and J. M. Lynch, one.

In according with the above vote, the officers and council for 1877 stood, I. K. Gardner, mayor; H. C. Geeting, recorder; D. R. Kerby, treasurer; F. M. Phillips, marshal and street commissioner P. H. Leonard, assessor; with W. M. Morton, James McKone, T. Cronin, P. O'Reilly, and H. S. Blackett, as council.

Mayor, I. K. Gardner, resigning the office May 1st, 1877, J. W. Van Auken, was chosen to fill the vacancy and entered upon the duties of the office, May 3rd, of the same year.

At the election held March 12th, 1878, Wm. Lawrence was chosen mayor; F.E. Baker, recorder; D. R. Kerby, treasurer: D. C. Mc Farland, R. T. Hedrick, R. J. McHugh, Wm. King and James Mc Kone, members of the council; C. W. Harvey, street commissioner and P. H. Leonard, assessor.

March 4th, 1879,an election was held, J. W. VanAuken, received sixty-four votes for mayor, being a majority over all votes, cast for R. T. Hedrick and F. Olarkin, his opponent, and was declared elected.

For recorder, A. J. Kucker, received sixty-nine votes and J. M. Lynch, fifty-four.

D. R. Kerby, was elected treasurer, by one hundred and twenty votes out of one hundred and twenty-one cast. The council elected were as follows: C. Springer, Wm. King, Connor Cooney, D. C. McFarland, P. O'Reilly and H. S. Blackett. W. M. O'Brien, was elected assessor, and O. A. Taylor, street commissioner.

April 12th,1878,a special election was held, in Lawler, to determine the question, whether fifty per cent of the state tax, for 1878, should or should not be apprppriated for the roads outside of the corporation. The whole number of votes cast was thirty, and all in the affirmative.

March 1st, 1880, 0, A. Taylor, was elected mayor; J. H. Lovejoy, was treasurer; C. N. Husting, recorder; J. M. Lynch, assessor; and H. J. Ditmars and D. C. McFarland, to serve as councilmen for three years, and J. W. Van Auken, for one year.

P. F. Kirk, was appointed the same time by council, to fill the position of street commissioner.

At the election, held March 7th, 1881, C. Seeber, was chosen may-or; D. R. Kerby, treasurer; C. N. Rusting, recorder; A. J. Kucker, assessor; The street commissioner, elected at the same time, was O. A. Taylor; and F. Clarkin and C. Springer, as members of town council. April 16th, 1881, A.J.Kucker had the duties of the office of marshal laid upon his shoulders.

The present officers, of Lawler, were elected March,1882, and consist of C. N. Husting, mayor; Andrew S. Frink, recorder; D. R. Kerby, treasurer; A. J. Kucker, assessor; J. W. Lewis, marshal.

The present council consists of J. W. Van Auken, G. Miller, F. Clarkin, H. J. Ditmars, C. Springer and A. P. Johnson.

The Catholic church in the town of Lawler, was the first one built in the township, as we are credibly informed. It was built in the year 1872 and is a frame structure, 40x80 feet, with the usual steeple-common to the church edifices, of this denomination, the main building was erected at a cost of $ 5,500, and in addition to it there has since been added, a sacristy, 24x30 feet, built at a cost of $2.000.

The bell, which hangs in the tower, that is used to call the worshipper to its holy shrine-to ring out the Angelus-to toll for the burial of the dead, is one of the finest in this section of the country, weighing some 3,200 pounds and cost, in the neighborhood of $500. Some one hundred and eighty families contribute, directly, to the support of the church, and a fair, gotten up for the benefit of it, is sure to be well patronized and realize a handsome amount, as did one held in January, 1883, when the receipts exceeded $2,500.

Father Harrison was the first pastor the church had, and in fact, it was mainly by his efforts the church was built. He was succeeded by Father P. F. Farrelly, in 1875, who was, himself replaced by Father Bryne, the present incumbent. The society also possess in addition to the church a parsonage, or residence for the priest, a fine frame building, erected at a cost of nearly $5,000,and is large, roomy, and convenient, and evidences the watchful care bestowed by the congregation upon the comfort of their spiritual guide. The house stands close by the church, and on the same grounds; a parochial school was erected during the year 1882, and, under the charge of the Sisters of Presentation (whose mother house is at Dubuque), has prospered. The building cost to erect about $1,200,, without the furniture, and the attendance is quite large, one hundred and fifty scholars being enrolled.


This society was organized some time during the winter of 1871-72, but, in the absence of records the exact date cannot be given. In 1872 they erected the building in which they worship, a neat frame one. The first pastor was a Mr. Frey, who came to the pastorate from Frankville; he was succeeded in about a year and a half by Rev. Manwell, who died, while pastor, in the year 1874; his successor was Rev. A. V. House, who came to Lawler in August, 1874, and died, while officiating shepherd of this flock, on the 27th day of May, 1875. The Rev. C. A. Marshall succeeded. him until 1878, when, on that gentleman's removal to New Hampton, Rev. Thos. Kent was called to preside over the church, and remains, to-day, to minister to the spiritual wants of the congregation. The society is very small, numbering properly only about fifteen members, but the other Protestant denominations, having no church of their own, worship with them. There is a Sunday school attached to this church, of a union sentiment, however, of which Mr. A. J. Kucker is the superintendent.

A small number of German Lutherans in the community, how-ever, hold occasional meetings in the Congregational church, but is, however, very thinly attended, and appears to have no regular organization as far as we could get at.

These are all the religious societies that the town can boast of, and with the exception of the Catholic church, does not seem to be very largely attended.

The first physician, who located in town, was Dr. E. Neil, whose advent was in the year 1870; he remained, practising his profession, until 1873, when he died.

Bryan J. Castle and Orville Potter were the first lawyers, and the date of their settlement was, almost, co-existent with the building of the town. The former, after starting the Lawler Gazette, in the year 1870, and running it, in connection with his legal business, about one year, gave it up in disgust and left the town. The latter, Mr. Potter, continued until 1872 the practice of law, when he, too, left for pastures new. H. C. Geeting commenced the practice of law in Lawler, in 1872, and his brother, John, in 1875, but in 1882, they discontinued the same, the former removing to St. Paul, Mr. C. Seeber being the only lawyer left to fill the wants of the litigiously inclined.

The postoffice was first established in Lawler in the summer of 1869, and Mr. John M. Green was the first postmaster, and continued to hold that position until 1879, when his known ability and integrity caused him to be elected to the office of county treasurer, and he removed to New Hampton. He was succeeded by J. H. Lovejoy, who held the place for two years, and was followed, in 1881, by William H. Parker, the present incumbent, who was formerly one of the prominent merchants of the town, dealing largely in agricultural implements, and who is one of its pioneer citizens, having located at this point in February; 1870.

In the early days of the town's history there was no bank properly so-called, but D. R. Kerby, then in the merchandising business, did somewhat of a banking business, which, as the needs of business grew, expanded until in October 1, 1875, Kerby and McHugh (consisting of D. R. Kerby and Jno. McHugh), opened a regular banking business and carried it to a successful issue. In 1881, Jno. McHugh retired from the firm, and it has been carried on ever since by Mr. Kerby, and enjoys the entire confidence of the whole community.

The town of Lawler boasts of a circulating library, which is well patronized by the general public. It contains about 400 volumes, and is owned by Francis Clarkin, another of the "oldest inhabitants." The number of volumes and the class of literature read speak highly for the general intelligence of the town, and evidences a thirst for the right kind of knowledge by the rising generation.

Whilst speaking of the general businesses of the town, we must not overlook one of its most prominent ones, viz: The Chickasaw County creamery, owned and operated by P. O'Reilly, one of the foremost merchants. It was established in 1878, and occupies a building 50x24 feet, with an, engine and boiler house in addition of 36x12 feet, and is fitted up with all the most modern machinery for the business carried on. It also has a bored well of 20 feet depth, from which is drawn an inexhaustable supply of pure water. This creamery is said to have been the first one erected north of West Union, and is the largest in this county. About four or five hands are kept constantly employed inside and from eight to seventeen wagons gather the cream from the surrounding country; the number varying with the season of the year. The books of Mr. Reilly show that during the year, 1882, there were handled at the creamery 181,486 inches of cream, and the amount paid out for that item and for expenses generally, was $41,181.17. We were favored with the sight of the following document, which the proprietor was making out:

HON. G. B. LORING, Commissioner Agriculture, Washington, D. C.:

The average number of cows supplying my creamery, for nine months 1,050

Number pounds butter made in nine months 161.894

Of which the value was $40,807.44

Value buttermilk, estimated 500.00

There are fed from the buttermilk, etc., one hundred hogs and thirty calves. from the sale of which considerable, income is derived.

I. O. O. F.

Crane Creek Lodge, of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows was organized, at Lawler, on the evening of February 5, 1878, with fifteen charter members, and has been quite successfully run ever since. There are now thirty-four members in good standing, and the interest is well kept up. The lodge holds its meetings in Oakley's hall.

A. O. U. W.

A lodge of the Ancient Order of Workmen was instituted on the 9th day of April, 1878, with eleven charter members, but the membership has increased to 21 at the present. This lodge is in a most flourishing condition, and is reported to be one of the most prompt in paying its assessments, and singular to say, there has never been a death in the lodge since its organization. In the dispute between the State Grand Lodge and the Grand Lodge of the United States, they have held with the foruiter.


The Lawler Battery was organized in May, 1878, by Lieut. D. G. Garvey, but it expired more than a year ago, although the gun still remains in town; C. H. Rusting being the last commanding officer.

In the town's earlier history there existed a Roman Catholic Total Abstinence Society, which, in 1872, was in a healthy condition, and of which John McHugh was a prominent member, but at present it seems to have been disbanded and the records gone to "no-mans-land."


We are indebted to the New Hampton Tribune, of September 26, 1877, for the following account of the first great conflagration that desolated with relentless fury the town of Lawler.

"On the morning of the 21st of September, 1877, a fire broke out and destroyed the entire business part of Lawler. The fire originated in the drug and grocery store of Green and Lynch, about 3 o'clock A. M., from which it spread throughout the entire block. When it reached the billiard hall of John Doyle it leaped across the street and attacked Mrs. M. F. Binns' dry goods and millinery store, from which it spread through the block on the north side of the street, and from thence to the grain warehouses, by the railroad track. By a vigorous and determined effort the flames were arrested before they crossed the street, at G. Miller & Co.'s, where all who were engaged stood to their post with unflinching zeal, notwithstanding the flames were rolling around them and threatening instant destruction. Had it not been for their unceasing and faithful efforts, the entire length of Main street would have been burned. Below we give the losses and insurances:

Loss. Insurance

Green & Lynch, drugs,........................ $12,000 $3,000

Kean Bros., Times office ..................... 1,000

D. G. West, law library ....................... 800

E. A. Erwin, jewelry, ........................... 4,800

Miss E. Lawrence ............................... 1,500 300

Jno. Doyle, billiard hall ...................... 2,500

J. M. Cailiff, carpenter tools ............... 200

Fitssimmons Bros., saloon ................. 1000 400

J. Fitzaianmons, groceries ................. 5,000 3,000

F. Clarkin, books ............................... 1,000 200

M. Martin, groceries .......................... 2,500 800

Pat. Lewis, house .............................. 600

J. A. Real, butcher shop ..................... 100

W. M. O'Brien, confectionery .............. 750

P. O'Reilly, dry goods, etc ................... 5,000 1,500

Jno. Nicholas, dry goods .................... 6,000 3,200

Lovejoy & McFarland, dry goods ......... 6,000 6,000

Orson Ober, household goods ............ 400

Mrs. M. F. Binns, milinery, etc ........... 4,500 800

M. W. Martin, household goods .......... 1,500 600

Genshow & Co., hardware .................. 3,500 800

H. Ditmars, household goods ............. 400

Padden Bros., house .......................... 1,000

A. P. Johnson, bakery ........................ 1,000

Jeff. Woodward, household goods ...... 300

I. N. Baker & Co., drugs ..................... 2,400

Lawler Library .................................... 500

Kerby & McHugh, bankers ................. 6,000 2,500

H. Duryea, shoemaker ....................... 500

Bassett, Hunting & Co.,

grain warehouse .......... 2,500 2,000

Gilchrist & Co., grain warehouse ....... 1,000 1,000

S. A. Potter, grain warehouse ............ 800

Argall & Leonard, grain warehouse ... 1,000

Mrs. Chas. Argall, household goods ... 700

Robinson & Co., grain warehouse ...... 1,600 600

C., M. & St. P. R. R ............................ 100

W. J. Cramer ..................................... 200

King's Hotel ....................................... 100

T. H. Kosten ...................................... 500

Jno. Reilly ......................................... 100

F. E. Baker ....................................... 500

Miscellaneous items in sums

less than .................. $100 2,650

Total ................................................. $83,500 $26,450

The conflagration left many without a home for the coming winter, but they were provided for as best could be. Jno. Fitzsimmons bas purchased the building of Jno. Reilly and has opened a saloon.

The town will be rebuilt, or a part of it, this fall, with brick, will retain its former business, and add nearly as much more. A relief committee has been appointed to distribute the donations that have been sent in. The gentlemen are Messrs. Kerby, Blackett, Hedrick, McKone, and Martin; John McHugh, treasurer, and H. C. Geeting, secretary. At present writing Nashua has sent in forty sacks of flour and some groceries, which came in time of need."

Again, on February 15, 1879, the demon of fire waved his torch over the town, and ruin, as usual, followed in his footsteps. We give the account of a correspondent of the New Hampton Tribune, of February 19th, who signs himself, "One who was there."

"About 1:30, on Sunday morning, February 15th, the fire was first discovered climbing the north wall of John McNevin's saloon. The alarm was sounded at once, and exertions were made to arrest the flames in their incipiency, but without effect, and the fire soon enveloped the entire building, and in less than an hour the buildings of R. D. Parker, John McNevins, King's hotel, Wolf's barber shop, and the Exchange bank were in ashes.

Men and boys worked with a will and desperately to subdue the flames, and had action been taken a little earlier in the pulling down process the bank might have been saved. The losses are about as follows:

Loss. Insurance.

R. D. Parker, building and stock ....... $2,500 $1,500

J. McNevins, building, billiard tables,

and stock 1,500 500

Wm. King, hotel .............................. 2,500 1,000

Wolf, barber shop ............................ 250

Exchange bank building .................. 1,200

Total ........................................ $7,950 $3,000

There was no insurance on the Exchange bank building, as the policy had just expired.

No one will ever know how the fire originated, but it is supposed that one of the side-lamps exploded and set the building on fire. Yet, it seems doubtful that the lamp was the cause, from the fact that they had, at about 12 o'clock at night, scrubbed out the saloon, and are certain that the lamps were properly extinguished when they left. But they might have been mistaken, and the lamp being low it heated and caused the explosion, if there was one.

Too much praise cannot be given to certain bold men, who risked their lives, at several critical turns of the fire-especially Charles Jones, to whose indomitable pluck we may attribute the saving of the buiklings east of the bank. None of the parties burned out are despondent, and before long new and better buildings will occupy the sites now vacant. No one was seriously injured and the furniture was nearly all saved except that of Mr. Parker, who lost everything, including a large amount of salt pork and beef in his cellar.

The bank saved everything except the big safe, which was not much injured, and was doing duty again in about twenty-four hours."

We find, once more, that the fire-fiend visited this doomed town of Lawler and wrapped it in his mantle of flames, and again the smoke of the sacrifice arose on his altar, and the best part of the business portion of the town was laid in ashes, and blackened piles of half burned timbers, and rank desolation brooded in the midst of what was the most flourishing part of it. On the morning of Saturday, November 17, 1881, about one o'clock, fire was die, covered issuing from the rear of the store of H. S. Blackett. The alarm aroused the citizens, but facilities for extinguishing the flames being wanting, they soon became masters of the situation and devoured, with greedy maw, many of the best buildings with their contents. We collate the following losses as carefully estimated by the citizens:

Loss. Insurance,

H. S. Blackett, building and stock .... $10,500 $4,500

G. Miller, stock ................................. 4,000 1,700

P. O'Reilly, two buildings, stables, corn

cribs, etc., with household furniture.. 9,000 2,500

Sebarger & Broky, building ................ 1,500

O. G. Gershow, building ..................... 600

Jno. McNevin, loss covered by insurance.

Orson Ober, partial loss of household goods.

A. Bechtel, building, streak, etc .......... 1,800 800

A. P, Johnson, boots and shoes, and

millinery ................................... 1,100 800

Patrick Lewis, two buildings ............... 600

O. C. Steen, building and loss on goods 700 400

Jas., building, ........................ 500 300

Jas. Curran, moving stock .................... 200 200

M. Martin. building and stock ............... 1,800 1,400

Total .............................................. $32,300 $12,600


During the year 1870 Bryan J. Castle founded a newspaper called The Lawler Gazette, which had an existence of about a year, when it was sold out and the outfit of the office removed from the town. On the 9th of April, 1875, The Chickasaw County Times made its first appearance, a five column quarto, owned and edited by Frank M. Haislet, now owner of the New Hampton Tribune. It met with considerable success, and on the 12th of April, the following year, Mr. Haislet was bought out by the Kean Bros. (Mathew and Patrick), who carried it on for two years and a half, when it passed into the hands of Messrs. Cooney & Konzen, who changed its name to The Lawler Times, and they having essayed to make it a paying investment without success disposed of it; after lying still for some time the material was removed to Waucoma.




consists of that part of the county, known as 95 north, 14 west, and contains thirty-six sections of fine fertile land, and is well watered by the west branch of the Wapsie River; and by the Little Cedar and its affluents. Next to Bradford, this is the best timbered portion of the county, quite heavy belts of trees lining the streams on each side. The principal business of the inhabitants being grazing and raising the necessary fodder to feed their stock, a mixed state of farming that pays well, to judge from the fine farms and farm houses, that so plentifully dot its beautiful prairies.

In making up the history of this town, we are much indebted to William Tucker, now a resident of Washington, D. C., but formerly one of the oldest and most influential citizens of this section. His letter to us, detailing the events of his early advent in Chickasaw county, gives as much history of the town, as can be procured, and hence we freely quoted from it, although much of it may be a repetition of some things mentioned elsewhere, but it would break the thread of his narrative, and spoil a good story well told.

"In November, 1853," relates Mr. Tucker, "I left West Union, on horseback, to go to Bradford, this was early in the month. A Mrs. Finch lived at the farthest point west, about twelve miles from West Union, between that place and the Cedar river, and kept folks going to and from those points which were over forty miles apart.

I arrived there in the evening and staid all night, intending to make an early start in the morning. But when I arose, I found the ground covered with snow, which had fallen during the night. I was advised not to venture, so I returned to West Union, for two days, when I started to try again, and found on my arrival at Mrs. Finch's that no teams had come from the west, nor gone in that direction, since the snow had fallen. I hesitated, somewhat, about starting, but as it was clear as well as cold, I made the venture as I was on horseback, after getting my bearings. When about half way, I met Mr. Merritt, with two yoke of oxen, who had come through from Bradford; he told me to follow his back track and I would be all right, that he had cut the ice in the streams so I could get through; this was good news for me.

"The monotony of the journey was only broken, occasionally, by the sight of droves of deer passing from grove to grove, and a few elk in the distance. I had some difficulty in crossing the Wapsies, as it had frozen after Mr. Merritt had crossed, but not enough to bear my horse up. Night overtook me, however, before I got to Bradford, and seeing a light, off to my right, that looked near by, I left the trail and steered for it, but found it much further than I anticipated. About 9 o'clock, after some plunging in snow-driftstired and hungry-I struck the cabin from which the light emanated. Here I found William and Joel Bartlett, brothers, each with a family of children, occupying the cabin. Joel had, that day, buried his wife. They were living on section twenty-six, town 95, 14. This was my first night in Chickasaw township. After partaking of cornbread, milk, and venison, I slept soundly till morning. They told me that there were ten families living in T. 95, R. 14, viz: their own; Mr. Watson and Mr. Blunt on section twenty-nine; Joseph Lee, and L. D. Hoisington and father on section eleven, the latter being a little deranged, spent most of his time under a large oak tree, by himself. One day he came up missing and the whole country turned out to search for him; the hunt extended for miles and for several days, but never got any trace of him. Some years afterwards, some bones were found, near the Wapsie, in Bremer county, which were supposed to have been his. The younger Hoisington went to Kansas afterwards. M. Jarrad and Samuel Monroe lived on section twenty-two. The former left for Minnesota, in a few years, and Monroe went to Nebraska but returned, and now lives at Bassett. James Frazee, was on section five, living in wagons and building a place for shelter as fast as they could; he was afterwards the first county treasurer and recorder. (This is evidently a slip of the memory as John Campbell, occupied that position, according to the records.-Ed) Mr. Kountz lived in the woods on section thirty.

"Next morning I went to Bradford, and learned there,, that, there were about fifteen families in the township, besides a small number of young men, and others who had no families with them.

"Among these was one H. K. Johnson, acting justice of the peace at the town of Bradford and the one who administered the first oath in the county, (legal, not profane.) (The story is told elsewhere, in the history of Bradford township and we will not repeat it here.-Ed.)

"Andy Sample went that winter to get a stock of groceries, to open a store," continues Mr. Tucker, when he returned; and I saw them unload his sled, I asked him where his groceries were; he said: "In the barrels." "That looks like whiskey," I said; "yes;" was the reply,. W hen I got ready to buy, I studied what would sell best and quickest and pay the most profit; and concluded it was whiskey and bought a barrel; then I studied again and thought of whiskey, and kept on thinking and buying until I had purchased five barrels of the stuff, and I guess I was -*bout right. G. R. Rowley, was one of the prominent men et that town, and one of the freest and most open-hearted meal I have ever met---ready to divide his last meal with any one-his house was open for all. He had a number of boarders, young man seeking their fortunes in the mighty west, and it was a lively place. In 1857 he went to Iowa City, to attend the Republican convention; a resolution was offered, lie the meeting, that the motto of the party be "liberty or death," and he immediately amended it by proposing as a substitute, that it be; "Root hog or die."

Among his boarders were E. R. Gillett, our first Republican representative; M. F. Gillett, the now noted Greenbacker of Bremer county, and others.

"At the first election in the county, there were about fifty votes polled; and a barrel of whiskey with the head knocked out, and a quart dipper to drink out of stood by the polls. It sometimes took two men to hold up the voter long enough for him to cast his ballot. I remember, distinctly, one man that was elected justice of the peace, being held up in that condition while he voted; (we have improved some on that since, for at the last election in Chickasaw township, the only man on the ground that was drunk, was elected justice of the peace, to spite the amendment folks.)

"Hon. James S. Wilson, of Dubuque, was the first district judge. The first time he came to hold court, he drove his ponies up to a log cabin prepared for the purpose, and without getting out of his buggy, told the sheriff to open court; which was accordingly done, and court was held under the canopy of Heaven, like the Vehmegericht, of old. "Mr. Clerk," said he, "are there any cases on the docket" "No sir," was the reply; "make a record, and Mr. Sheriff adjourn the court;" was the judges answer; which was done, and off he drove. If the lawyers had stayed away from this section, this might be the case now, in all probability.

"James Lyon, of Crane Creek, a trapper, was our first county judge. The first time he came to Bradford to hold court; he walked over from his home. I think I see him now, as he came into the village, he was remarkably clean and starched up, his blue denim overalls, which he wore for pants, had been washed until they had shrunk half way to his knees. We, however, thought ourselves equal to the emergency. In the course of the evening we made up a purse to buy him a new pair of pants, but when it was mentioned to him in the morning; he disdained the offer with scorn, with remarks about being bribed.

"The winter of 1853-4, was a very severe one, but at one time during the season it sets in and thawed, the rain melting the snow of which there was plenty, all off. As we had been corralled all winter by the cold and snow, we concluded to go coon hunting. We divided into parties, three in each, Andy Sample, Cal Goddard and myself in one, and James Rowley, Doc. Haynes, and another, in the other. We each took a wagon and team, feed and provisions. Our company crossed the Wapsie 2 o'clock g. At., fording the stream, took a lunch-baited the team,. and started for coon. It was then warm, but in less than two hours we were driven back by a severe storm and heavy fall of snow. We consulted what to do, and concluded to remain where we were, and save ourselves as best we could, rather than risk freezing to death, by trying to move from the grove. We cut down a number of young white oaks, with the leaves on, and made a good windbreak. Behind this we moved our wagon and team, and building a rousing fire, and made the best of it, till morning. About 9 o'clock, next day we decided to get back home, if we could, the wind blowing hard; we crossed on the ice, with team, at the same place we had forded the afternoon before, and got home before night, all safe, and not even frosted. The other party were not so lucky, as frozen toes, fingers and noses testified, and which they nursed tenderly the balance of the winter. The Dr. and I amused ourselves the rest of the season, breaking and training a young elk, to work in a sleigh. We took a trip to Cedar Falls with him, about forty miles away, and on our return, a dog ran out from Barrett's house, at Janesville, and barked at our quadruped, who became unmanagable and took after the dog, who run and jumped the fence into the yard; the elk followed him and left us hanging on the fence, in a dilapidated condition.

"Mr Brink was our first postmaster; the conditions on which the office was granted, was that we should carry our own mails from Cedar Falls for the proceeds of the office; (no Star Routes then,) in no case was the government to pay anything. Howard, Floyd,. Mitchell and Chickasaw counties got their mail at Brad-ford. I made seven trips that winter, for mail, to Cedar Falls, forty miles and back, at my own expense, four days to a trip, through the snow; and found that no mail had come through from Dubuque, three times out of the seven.

"Work on the saw mill at the town of Chickasaw was commenced, and the town surveyed, platted and commenced in 1854. The plank and other lumber had to be hauled from Auburn, through the sloughs, bridges being represented by an unknown quantity.

"The first school was taught by Miss Jane Billings, in a house I built myself; she taught two terms, and I paid her, before we were organized for school purposes.

"Among the first pastors were Elder Lash, a member of the United Brethren, and Elder Prentiss, a free will Baptist minister, these did most excellent service. There was also a close communion Baptist, whose name I have forgotten, who came down from Charles City; he was a good one and most eloquent and always had full congregations until a job was put up on him, in the following manner. There was an Irish protestant family in the vicinity; they were very devoted, always at meeting. They had a child born, and when the minister had finished preaching a most eloquent sermon, these people were induced to walk up to him with the babe in arms, and ask the minister if he would "please to christen" it for her. The sensation is easier imagined than described; the minister went home with me to dinner, but did not mentioned it or ever came back again.

"I was the first merchant and the first notary public, there being no officer, for some time after I went to live there, to take acknowledgement of deeds or to administer oaths. I had several applications to marry couples, but I had to send them to West Union.

"Mr. Gaddis, was the first regular carpenter, Cal. Goddard, the first regular shingle maker. Messrs. Albertson, Waite and Bald-win, built the first grist mill, and Mr. Garling house, the first steam saw mill; these, both 1855.

During the winter of 1853-4, a Mr. Clawson, who was at the head of a colony at St. Ansgar came down the Cedar, with a lot of men on snowshoes and with hand sleds, to get flour and provisions to keep his people from starving." The above, which is copied almost verbatim from Mr. Tucker's letter, covers most of the ground, but little can be. added, but we will endeavor to give that little, gathered from a multitude of sources.

According to tradition the first settlers in the township were Abram Cagley, Russell Baldwin, Jerome Watson, and Messrs. Hines, Keesley, Hoffman and Bishop, but the exact date of their location, or the order of it, cannot be stated with the accuracy that is desirable, but the weight of evidence seems to point to the years 1853 and 4.

We have the best of evidence for the statement, that the first child born within the limits of the township, was H. Bartlett, whose advent in 1855, was an event to be remembered by the few scattered settlers.

Ionia is now the most important place in the township, but the time was, before the laying of the railroad, that Chickasaw town was one of the most flourishing in the county; but its "glory hath departed," and now, Ionia carries the pre-eminence, and contains a population of 350 souls, supporting two churches, a fine public public school, two hotels, etc.

An old settler reports, that, the country was so healthy that for several years after laying out the cemetery, there were no deaths, but a man, a stranger whose name never was known, was picked up near the banks of the Wapsie, in a dying condition. He was tended with the greatest sympathy, but he died and thus started the grave yard.

The township was organized in 1855, according to an order of the court, issued during the March term of that year.

Bassett, a thriving village, lying on the line of the railroad, about four miles west of Chickasaw or Ionia, is also within this township, and is quite a business point.


For many of the following facts concerning Dayton township, we are indebted to an article prepared far the Chickasaw County Historical Society, by L. J. Young, and published in the New Hampton Courier of March 18th, 1881. The township of Dayton comprises the territory in the congressional township of 95 north of range 13 west. The surface is somewhat rolling, but no portion of it is hilly. The west fork of the Wapsipinicon river enters the township near the corner of sections 7 and 18, and runs in a southwesterly direction through sections 18, 19, 20, 29 and 32. The middle fork enters near the line between sections 4 and 5, and runs nearly south through sections 4, 9, 16, 21, 28 and 33. These streams abounded in beaver, otter, mink and muskrat, at an early date. Timber in this township is plentiful and generally evenly distributed; it is principally jack oak, burr oak and hickory. There are no stone quarries, but boulders convertible into building stone, or for walling wells and cellars, by blasting or drilling and splitting, are found on the prairies, and at the heads of sloughs. The soil is generally a rich loam, with clay subsoil. Good water is generally obtainable by digging to a depth of from ten to sixteen feet. The township is especially well adapted to stock-raising and dairying, industries which are constantly receiving increasingly profitable attention.

The first appearance of settlement in Dayton township was made by a land speculator, in the shape of an entry of a valuable tract of timber, some time during the month of May, 1853, it having been Mr. Young's opinion that "greedy speculators" were largely responsible for retarding the township's actual settlement and growth.

The first settlers to come into the township were William Millikan, an Irishman, and Smith, of Illinois. They pitched their tent on the east half of section 23. William Millikan pre-empted the northeast quarter and Smith the southeast quarter in September, 1854. During the same month William Millikan erected a "one-side roofed shanty" near Spring creek, on the land he pre-empted. This place was known by hunters for miles around who frequented the Wapsies for game, during the winter of 1854-5, as the "Hunters' Home." Many times has its worthy host sup-plied the wants of fifteen or twenty hunters, travelers or land speculators in a single night. Smith disposed of his claim to a land speculator in the fall or beginning of the winter of 1854. "The same winter," says the article from which we quote, "our honest and worthy host of the `Hunters' Home' was shamefully wronged from the legal possession of his homestead. The facts, related to me by him, were as follows: During the fall, Millikan received intelligence that his son lay sick at Dubuque, and was not likely to recover, and wished to see him. He left all his household goods in his house and went to Dubuque. While he was gone a land speculator with two bribed witnesses, made oath that Mr. Millikan had left the country, and did not intend to return, and entered the land. Mr. Millikan, being a raw Irishman, and knowing nothing about the laws of our country, made no disturbance about it on his return."

The first effort at tilling the soil was begun May 19th, 1855, on the southeast quarter of section 1, by J. D. Colt, Esq., of New York. He raised an excellent crop of corn the same season, on the newly turned soil. Mr. Colt's prospects for making a first-class farm were very flattering, when his hopes were blighted. He erected a good log house, and began to think himself comfortably situated-as comfortable as a bachelor generally makes himself; for Mr. Colt was at that time a bachelor-when, in November, William Haslam, of Illinois, put in an appearance with a title to the same land from the government-Haslam's title bearing date nineteen days previous to (Jolt's. The latter gave Haslam permission to occupy the house, but retained possession of all the improvements till the first of March, 1856, when he gave full possession upon being informed that Haslam's title would hold good. Haslam paid Colt a reasonable price for the improvements, and the matter was amicably adjusted to the satisfaction of both parties.

D. A. Jackson, of Pennsylvania, entered about 270 acres on the 21st of May, 1855. In June he commenced breaking and building a house and stable on section 11. Mr. Jackson, being an eastern man, began farming in true eastern style.

During the spring of this year, Benjamin Bailey, of Ohio, and father of Judge Lorenzo Bailey, settled on section 34. Kershaw and Negus settled on section 28, made some improvements, sold in the autumn and left. J. B. Cotant, of Ohio, settled on section 3, in July of the same year. Eli Darst, of Illinois, came in June of this year, and made some improvements on section 17. In July, E. B. Hewit settled on section 1. William S. Morley came during the year, and settled on section 10. Rev. C. M. Webster came in the fall of 1855, and settled on section 4, and in the summer of 1856 he opened quite an extensive farm. Mr. Webster was elected county surveyor in August, 1856, and was appointed by the postmaster general as postmaster of the Beaver City postoffice, which was located at his place of residence. This postoffice was subsequently relocated in Utica township. During the fall of 1855 Z. H. Morton, of Wisconsin, settled on section 14; James Clark settled on section 9. Settlers came in rapidly for a short time in 1856.

Dayton township was organized April 6, 1857. D. A. Jackson was the organizing constable. The first election was held at Mr. Jackson's house on the day just named. The "house" was "called to order" by appointing Eli Darst chairman, and E. R. Gillett secretary. A ballot was then taken for judges of election, resulting in the choice of C. M. Webster, William S. Morley and Wesley Swayze. D. A. Jackson and L. J. Young were chosen clerks o ???? election. The board of electors were sworn to perform their duties according to law, by Rev. S. M. Prentiss, a justice of the peace of Richland township. The following officers were elected: C. M. Webster, Eli Darst and Wesley Swayze, trustees, Levi. J. Young, clerk; E. R. Gillett, W. S. Morley, Justices of the peace; E. B. Miller, William Haslam, constables; Z. H. Morton, road supervisor. The whole number of ballots cast was twenty-three. W. S. Morley and E. B. Hewit were opposing candidates for justice of the peace, and received a tie vote. W. S. Morley was declared elected by lot.


The territory comprised within the congressional township of ninety-six, and the south half of ninety-seven, north, range thirteen, west, is known as Washington. The surface is gently undulating, rather than rolling prairie, but is of a rich, black loam, that proclaims this to be one of the best townships in the county for fine farm land. Like the balance of the county it is well watered. the east fork of the Wapsipinicon river having its source in the northern part, and flowing in a southeasterly course throughout it. The "Little Wapsie" also enters the township at the northwest corner of section 7, flows also in a southeasterly direction, watering sections 7, 18, 20, 29, 32, and 33. These streams abound with fish, and the traditional stories that are told of the amounts of otter, mink, and muskrats that inhabited their waters, in early days, are almost incredible.

The timber in this township is not so plentiful as in some others, and what there is is composed principally of jack oak, burr oak,and hickory. There is no building stone within its bounderies, except the massive boulders, relics of a mineral age, which are convert-able into excellent material to lay up foundation walls, or walling up wells. These are found scattered all over its surface, and are specimens of granitic formation; but by blasting and splitting they are soon reduced and shaped to the purposes of man. Ac-cording to tradition, Samuel W. Byers was the first settler within its limits, but even this is disputed by some, and when "doctors disagree, who can tell?" The same fortune seems to attend to Washington that does to the others in the county; little, if any, settlement until 1835, then quite an immigration, so much so, that at the March term of the court, 1856, the order was granted for its organization as a separate township, but for some irregularity in the proceedings said organization was set aside, and the township was attached to that of Deerfield until April, 1859, when it was once more attempted to conclude the organization, and this time with success. North Washington is the only village in the township, and is situated on the southwest quarter of section twenty, on the banks of the Little Wapsie, and contains a postoffice and store, a saloon, a fine Catholic church, and the usual blacksmith shop; the inhabitants are mostly German, or of that extraction.


The earliest settlement within the limits of township 94, north, range 13, west, now known as Richland, was made by Jas. B. Upham, who, as early as the fall of 1854, located his farm on section one, about one mile north of where the present village of Williamstown stands; here he reared the family mansion, more comfortable than palatial, out of the logs cut from the woods so near his own door, and like Selkirk could have said he was "monarch of all he surveyed," for not a neighbor for twenty miles was there.

Joel Parsons and David Tingley, however, located their farms in the fall of the same year, but did not move on them until in the spring of 1855, when they took up their residence in the county. In the same year, viz, March 20, 1855, H. H. Bailey laid claim to a farm in section twelve, the same as now owned by him. With him came George Bailey, Malachi Hardock and others, and were followed by a colony of twenty-one persons from the town of Erie, Penn. These parties procured an order from the county court, at the March term, 1856, to organize the township, and proceeded to elect the necessary officers and lay the foundation for the present system of government.

Forest City was, by some irregular proceedings of the board of canvassers, declared the county seat in April, 1858, but in June of the same year an information being filed in the clerk's office, the court ordered a mandamus restraining the records, etc., from being taken there from New Hampton, and ordering the board to correct the irregularities of their return and count the votes; this was reversed by the supreme court on an appeal being taken. The court decided, however, at the spring term, 1859, that the town of New Hampton had the best claim to county seatship, and the records were returned to that place, and Forest City has quietly retired to private life, and is now numbered with the things that were. Where its streets were laid out now nods the bending corn, and where its citizens trod, with the proud step of the metropolitan, now echoes only to the tread of lowing kine and the whistling ploughman.

The first brick edifice erected within the limits of the county was built in Forest City in the year 1857, and was a woodhouse, henhouse, etc., and owned by the Hon. Hiram Bailey; the mason who laid the bricks in the walls was no less a personage than J. H. Powers, now one of the most shining lights of the Chickasaw county bar. These bricks were burned in a kiln owned and operated by Zelotes and Thompson Bailey, who enjoy the credit of making the first bricks ever manufactured in the county.

Williamstown has absorbed all that was of Forest City, and still remains a small, though enterprising, village. It seems that Wm. Grant applied for a postoffice at or near Forest City, and gave it the name of Williamstown, but in 1877 it was moved to the corners where it is now located. The first postmaster after its removal was W. Hood, who still retains the onerous office. The store is owned by Hood & Bailey, who also own the creamery.

The town also boasts of a neat and tasty church, in which the Methodist Episcopal denomination meet for worship. It was erected during the year 1881, by Bennett Bros., of New Hampton, at a cost of $1,825, and reflects great credit upon them for the substantial and workmanlike, in which it has been built. It is of frame, 26x42 feet, and has a seating capacity of about 250. The present pastor, who presides over the spiritual welfare of this flock, whose number is about fifty-five, is Elder Jno. Jones. And here it would, perhaps, be as well to say that Rev. Samuel Prentiss delivered the first sermon in the township at an early day, but the exact date our informants were not agreed on.

The educational interests of the younger generations are insured by a fine school, which is open the whole year, and under the wise administration of Principal Milo George, and Assistant Principal Bradley A. Lillebridge, the sixty-five pupils make the necessary progress. Anna Lillebridge is secretary and treasurer of the school board of the district.


We have been so fortunate as to obtain the MSS. of a historical sketch of Deerfield township, written by I. A. Sawin, in 1859, which, as a concise and accurate account of the township to that year, we quote in full:

"Deerfield township embraces town 96, range 14, and the south half of town 97. The surface is generally undulating, or gently rolling, being in no part hilly. The bottom land of the streams, say one-half mile in width, is nearly level. The West Wapsie enters the township near the northwest corner, and runs its entire length in a direction east of south. The Middle Wapsie runs a few miles through the northeast corner of the township, also in a southeasterly direction. I believe there are no good mill sites on the streams. The water is good and furnishes great facilities for raising stock. The larger portion of the township is prairie. Valuable groves of timber, principally of the kind known as jack oak, are found along the streams and in the northern part. This timber is excellent for fencing, being easily made into rails. A single acre has been known to yield four or five thousand. Timber for building purposes is very scarce.

"The soil is generally of rich sandy loam from one to three feet in depth, lying on a clayey subsoil. Water of excellent quality is obtained by digging from twelve to twenty feet. In the north center of ninety-six, extending into ninety-seven, is a tract of several hundred acres of limestone land, furnishing inexhaustible quarries for lime and for building.

"Wild animals, which abounded at the time of settlement, are now scarce. A few deer, of the hundreds which once abounded here, are all that now remain. A small pack of grey wolves-perhaps half a dozen-still make their home with us. The prairie wolf-a skulking, cowardly brute, which sometimes, though seldom, performs the feat of robbing a henroost-is quite plenty. A few wildcats, badgers and raccoons are also found. Of amphibia the beaver, otter, muskrat, and mink are quite plenty.

"The southeast quarter of section three abounds with the remains of human skeletons, and on the surrounding prairie, to the distance of two miles, they are occasionally found. When the first settlers came upon the ground, in 1854, the stench arising from the slaughter ground was yet quite strong. I have not yet been able to obtain a very clear or authentic account of this massacre, by which several hundred human beings must have lost their lives; but the following, obtained at second-hand, two years ago, from a Winnebago Indian, is submitted in the hope that inquiry may be stimulated and more certain information be procured:

"About twelve years ago-or say in 1847-a party of Sioux warriors left their old men, women, and children, to the number of three hundred or more, here, and proceeded to Prairie du Chien. A party of Winnebago warriors found the camp in this unprotected condition, and murdered every soul. They then took the road to the Mississippi, and meeting the returning Sioux warriors, settled the affair by paying them fifty ponies as an indemnity. The skeletons, many of which were those of infants, corroborate the main facts of this account, but the time given does not agree with the statements of the first settlers, or the well known condition of the skeletons in 1856, many of which were entire at that time. I think the date of the massacre must be later than that given in the above account.

"On the 5th of May, 1854, the first permanent settlement was made in this township. Almon Harris, of Massachusetts, John Spurr, Myrick Spurr, and Edwin Hale pitched their tents on sections three and four, and immediately commenced improvements. Mr. Harris is still a citizen of the township; the other three have left. Though a mechanic by trade, Mr. Harris' efforts at farming are successful in bringing under cultivation a quarter section of the most beautiful prairie, and at this time, September 1859, he is building a substantial frame building, ample for all the purposes of his farm. His nearest neighbor was James Frazee, of Chickasaw, seven miles distant.

"The second settler was William Morris, an Englishman by birth, who settled on section eight in the latter part of May, 1854, and who is still a resident of the township. About the same time Abner Gallup also settled on section eight, but did not remain long. William Doyle and Mrs. Martha Harris came in early in the spring of 1855, and settled in the northern part of the town-ship. M. P. Choat settled in the southern part about the same time, and immigrants now came in so rapidly that in the autumn of 1856 there were nearly as many settlers as at the present time.

"I am not aware that any mineralogical or geological examinations have been made by scientific men. I am informed by C. H. Dore, Esq., that while digging a well on the farm of David Lovelace, on sections 12-96, at the depth of sixteen feet pieces of timber resembling cedar trees of several inches in diameter were taken out. Small specimens of coal were also found, which ignited and burned readily. While digging a cellar on the farm of Heman Culver, Esq., I found many specimens of a petrified nut, resembling the Madeira nut in every particular, save that they were larger.

"Deerfield township was organized April 7, 1856. William F. Wright was the organizing officer. The first election was held at the house of C. D. French on the same day. Heman Culver, Jacob A. Cummins, and M. P. Choat were judges, and William F. Wright, and J. G. Farnum, clerks. The following is a list of the officers chosen:

Trustees-M. P. Choat, M. D. Harris, and C. D. French. Justices of the peace-Heman Culver, and T. W. Ashley. Clerk-J. G. Farnum.

Assessor-Jacob A. Cummins.

Constables---D. Jared; and Willard Bennett.

Road supervisor-Chauncey Boyes.

Whole number of votes cast, 24.

The almost total destruction of the crops of 1858, caused by the. extraordinary floods of that season, reduced many settlers to extremities, and many subsisted during the year on the barest necessaries of life. Again, this season, 1859, the farmer is doomed to the almost total loss of his corn by the frost of September 2d. But such is the energetic character of the people, that but little discouragement is manifested. They feel confident that a succession of good seasons, which must soon follow, will relieve them of their embarrassments and repay them for all their toil and privations. Seldom does an entire township present a more industrious population. I do not know of a single ablebodied individual, who does not obey the scriptural injuiction, to earn his bread by laborious industry. Surely, if any community deserves a bountiful supply of the necessaries of life, this community ought to receive it."


Jacksonville township embraces all of the territory known as townships 96, and south half of 97, north, and 12, west, and contains a township and a half, surveyors measure, or 54 sections. Like the balance of the county it is well watered, Crane and Plum creeks, and the Little Wapsie traversing its almost entire length. The soil is rich, dark soil, as most bottom lands are, with the exception of some sandy spot near the creeks and river. The juicy grasses, which cover the untilled portion of the land, are such as to draw the attention of much of the farming community to the business of stock raising and grazing, and we find this to be the principal mode of farming, although some land is given to raising corn, wheat, oats, barley, timothy, and other grains and seeds.

Of the early settlement of this township it is impossible to decide who was the first to locate within its bounderies, but the weight of evidence seems to indicate that Henry Shaffer was the first pioneer who located therein; the date of his settlement was 1853. Hazzard Green located himself in 1854, and seems to have been the second, but we find among those that came the same year the names of John Davidson, Hiram Palmer, R. H. Mills, T. E. Mills, J. Fitzpatrick, Frank Dane, John Conner, S. Shaft, and B. B. Orton. The following year many more located in the same township, among them D. R. Kerby, now the banker in the town of Lawler, and Francis Clarkin.

Hazzard Green built the first house in the township, a log hotel. on what was later the plat of the town of Jacksonville. This. hotel he was landlord of until 1857, when it was torn down.. Shortly after he erected it, Allen and Wilkerson, of McGregor, built a branch store at this place, the first in the township, this was in the fall of 1855. It was a board shanty 14x20, erected in a week, no plastering adorned the walls, and, the winter being a severe one, the wind and weather kept the temperature within it at so low an ebb that John R. Jarrett, who was manager and Clerk (now a prominent merchant of McGregor, Iowa,) was compelled to wear his overcoat and overshoes all the time to keep comfortable. The first blacksmith in the place was-White and Julius P. North opened a hardware and tinware store in the same year. In the year 1856, the proprietors of the ground on which the town of Jacksonville now stands, seeing from this growing settlement that a town would eventually spring up there laid out and platted it and and put the lots in market. At this time the hotel, stores of Allen & Wilkerson and J. P. North the blacksmith shop and the dwelling houses of Messrs. White and North comprised the whole of the town yet it was of considerable importance being a stopping place on the roads from Dubuque to Austin, Albert Lea, etc.

All the goods at this time were brought from, Dubuque except flour and that was from the nearest mills at Clermont, Elgin and Elkader, and all the Height for the places beyond traveled the thorough fare that passed through Jacksonville township. Hazzard Green at this time was landlord of the hotel, justice of the peace and postmaster, for he had by his efforts succeeded in having a postoffice located here as early as 1855. Although he and several other parties had to bear the expense of supporting the stage which brought the mail from West Union, this they did for accommodation of the people as no postal route was laid out from that place.

Jacksonville at its first organization was united with Utica, and the two together were known as Obispo township; the date of this first organization is gained from an order of the county judge at the March term of court 1855, wherein is ordered the organizing, and necessary election, of Obispo township. But at the March term 1858, by order of the court the townships were separated and organized as they now are, and this one named, Jacksonville, by one of the parties who was influential in the movement, a Mr. Dickinson, who came from Jacksonville, Ills.

The first school according to the best accounts was one opened in. the town of Jacksonville during 1855, and taught by aman by the name of Cole, although it is claimed that a school was taught in a log cabin near Crane Creek the year before, by a son-in-law of Dickinson's, but of this there remains nothing certain, and the question remains involved in some obscurity.

The first preaching in the town was from the lips of "Elder Dickinson" as he is commonly called to this day, and occurred in the year 1.856. In that year there were two church societies formed, a Methodist and a Baptist, but neither ever erected a church; nor has there ever been one built in the town yet, al-though several are scattered throughout the township, both of these societies worshipped in the school house.

During the panic of 1857, the town, like many others scattered throughout our grand old state, suffered from the effect of the collapse in values, and the wheat crop of that year seems to have failed, for many old settlers relate how in that year starvation stared them in the face; all winter they fought the wolf from the door, soft corn was their only food and especially blessed was he that had enough of that; every merchant failed and went under, and the whole business of the place seemed to be paralyzed; long had they to remember that terrible winter; and it seems that the town has never recovered from it, even to this day there is no business transacted there, and, but a feeble remnant of a town is visible.

Early in its history, Dr. Edw. Hubbard located himself at the town and commenced the practice of medicine, but the country proved so healthy, that he lingered along for several years and seeing that his chances to acquire a fortune were small, he "departed for pastures new" and for many years the place was without a physician, and as for lawyers it is said none ever settled within its limits.

Jacksonville township has but little of the eventful in its history that would make it interesting, but it has been said "that the less there is of history to write about a place; the more it demonstrates that its existence has been peaceful."

At one time there were several stores in addition to those named above among which we find-the names of Dickinson & Vaughn, Kerby and Lynch and others. A store kept by John VanAuken now of Lawler, was the last in the place.


This is the eastern of the northern tier of townships. It is well watered by the Little Turkey river, which enters it on section 19, township 97, north range 11, west, and running in a southeasterly course passes out on section 25, township 96, range 11, west; and by Crane creek, which irrigates the southwestern quarter. The land is fine rolling prairie, interspersed with good timber; the latter being particularly fine on the creek and river bottoms. There is a postoffice at Saude in the northern part of the township, but most of the community avail themselves of the Lawler post-office, which is most convenient of access, besides being their principal shipping and trading point. This township was united to Jacksonville and known as Obispo, until March, 1858, when they were seperated by order of the county court and organized on their present basis.

This is a purely agricultural and stock-raising township, no towns or villages dot its prairies, and with the exception above mentioned no postoffices, are located therein.

The northern part of it is largely populated by the Scandinavian element, but in the southern part the Irish and native American prevails.

Tradition hath it that the first settler in what is now Utica township was Jas. Lyon, or as he is familiarly known; "Judge Lyon" who located on land therein as early as the summer of 1852. But we are credibly informed that he was preceded two years by Terence cumme*rford who reared his roof tree and ploughed his acres as early as 1850. These were followed in 1858 by G. Clapper and in 1854 by Wm. Everingham. These scattered farms, which they essayed to open formed the nucleus of the settlements of the next few years, that in a short time transformed the lifeless waste into smiling farms, whose rich harvests gathered each year add to the wealth of the county. Among the arrivals for the year 1855 occurs the name of D. R. Kerby, now engaged in the banking business at Lawler.


Township 94, north range 12, west, is known as Dresden. Much of the land is covered with timber and brush although it has some very fine farm lands, and is well watered by the East Wapsipinican river, or as it is more familiarly called "Wapsie." There is no village within its boundary, not even a store or postoffice, and the inhabitants get their mail either at Fredericksburg, just across the line, in the township of the same name, which lies directly east of it; or at Williamstown on the west. There is no data from which to gather any of the first settlers names from oblivion, and as the population is purely and simply agricultural has little or no history. The story of every day life, while it has the charms of peacefulness and quiet, has nothing in it attractive to the historian or romancer, nor would it be interesting to the general reader. The township was organized, as such, in the year 1859, the order of the county court being issued at the March term of that year. Subsequently, the east tier of sections were detached and added to Fredericksburg township, but have since been restored, except, the southeast quarter of section 12, and the northeast quarter of section 13, which still remain a part of the latter. The only industrial institution within the township, as far as we have learned is, the cheese factory about one mile north of Williamstown. This was established by John Kolthoff, May, 1878, and has been in active business ever since. The building is a neat and substantial edifice and supplied with all the modern machinery for turning out a first-class article, and judging from the prosperity of the owner, it most likely does.

The following letter, in regard to the "Little Brown Church," at at Bradford, was received to late for insertion in its proper place, in the history of that township, but as it presents a picture, drawn by a masterly hand, of the early labors of the first pastor; the building of the church, whose very existence seems classical; the church of which that "Sweet Singer in Israel," W. S. Pitts, of Fredericksburg has written such a charming song. The winter Rev. J. K. Nutting, was the first shepherd of the church, and although the letter was not written for publication, we have taken the liberty of inserting it in full.

MILBANK, Dakota, February 22, 1883.

Editor Chickasaw County History:

I received your note in reference to the "Little Brown Church" at Bradford, and am happy to reply, tho' I shall hardly be able to specify as minutely as to dates, as you may wish, but these you can readily obtain.

I came to Bradford in October 1859. At that time the town was quite the metropolis of the county, and the prospect was good that manufacturing would be carried on to an extent that would sustain a large population. The county seat had already been transferred to New Hampton, which was a lonesome and unlikely-looking spot enough, tho' occupied by some most excellent people.

My congregation moved about, seldom more than three months in a place, for several years. At first we worshiped in a hall over what was then Thomas' store (now, perhaps, Dickenson's). Then we went to a large square room directly north of that-built by Andy Sample for a store. This building had been left without care, and had been taken possession of by sheep, until our little flock ousted them. Then we went to the dining room of the Cory hotel, and sometimes, I think, to the ball room of the Bronson house. At last we settled in the brick school house (now academy), which, at that time was a most uncomfortable place.

During the year 1861-2 (I should say), I occupied for a study, a room in the house of Mr. Dickinson. Here began the little church building.

Our able men were mostly in the army. The times were excessively hard. Wheat, at McGregor or Waterloo, about thirty-six cents per bushel. "Stumptail" Wisconsin money going back on us; everything looking dark. S. F. Eastman came to my study to consult with me; he said it would not be possible to raise as large a salary as I had been receiving, but hoped I would try and stay on what could be raised, that is, four hundred and fifty dollars. I told him (what he already knew), that prices of all merchandise had nearly doubled, and that it would be very difficult to provide for my family, but that I would stay on one condition: that he should take hold with me, heart and hand, to build a church. To this he agreed, and I considered success a certainty from that moment.

Soon after we made our first move by going to Mr. J. Watson for a donation of timber. He went with us to the woods, and generously marked for our use enough of the finest oaks on his land, to furnish nearly all the dimension timber and coarse lumber generally, for the whole building (the sills, however, were given by Joseph Bird). This done, I next secured a force of choppers (headed, I think, by Dea. Billings), to go into the woods and get these trees ready for the mill. Some of the logs were hauled to the mill (then near by), on the snow, but many were left until the next June. Then Wm. Pomeroy got an ox team, and I went with him to get the rest; I shall always remember that job, because of a singular incident. We disturbed a pheasant with a covey of half-grown young. The mother made the usual fuss and pretence to draw our attention, while the chicks scattered in all directions. The team passed on and I lingered behind to see what would happen. In a few moments I heard the peculiar call of the mother bird, and in an instant one and another of the chicks came whirring past me, to rejoin her. One of them came so near that I put out my hand and caught it as one would a ball, "on a fly.' I feel reasonably certain that in this respect I stand alone among my race. Who, beside me, ever achieved the distinction of catching a pheasant with the bare hand, on the wing? But I should not expect to do it again.

If memory serves, we also got the lots about the same time, given, I think, by Joseph (or John), Bird, and beautiful by reason of the encircling oaks; and we also got out the stone for the foundation; Mr. Newton Palmer taking a leading 'hand at the quarrying. During the summer or fall we again made a bee, and laid the foundation, which, on the inside, presents several varieties of style. I recall the fact that one brother laid the stone slanting, like those in the stone fences of New England, which had been the origin of his stone craft. But all being fitly joined together, answered the purpose, and we laid the sills with rejoicing.

Was it about a year after that, that we began to erect the house? I should think so. And I do not remember that we had any subscription paper (though I may be mistaken), till much later, But every one gave labor or material as he could, and step by step progress was made. The house was roughly enclosed, except part of the tower that fall. Then rough boards were laid for a floor, and some use was made of the building. I specially remember a school exhibition under Mr. Taylor. It was well on in December, and there was no way to warm the building, but an exceptionally mild winter allowed the children to appear on the stage without discomfort, even in the most gauzy attire.

The next spring the finishing of the house was let by contract to two brothers (names gone from me), and a subscription was made for pine lumber to finish with. This was hauled, I think from McGregor. We were to receive a certain amount from the Congregational building fund, $400 or $500. But it began to appear that even that amount would not be sufficient, and we all began to think where we could gain a little more help. It occurred to me that perhaps something could be obtained from the wealthy church of Pittsfield, Mass., whose pastor, Rev. John Todd, D. D. (author of "Student's Manual," "Index Rerum," etc.), had been formerly pastor of the church with which my parents were connected. A letter to him brought a characteristic reply, inclosing more than a hundred dollars. This began a most interesting personal acquaintance with the doctor, and led to my visiting him repeatedly, and it happened that I had the privilege of attending him during a portion of his last sickness, in 1873.

The first religious use of the house was in the fall after it was furnished, but not seated-date forgotten-for the funeral obsequies of Mrs. Smith, wife of Capt. John Smith. The dedication occurred I should think, during the following winter, bad weather preventing the presence of most of those invited. This brought us to the spring of 1865, when, as a delegate to the "Boston Council," I went east. While at Pittsfield I received a commission from Thomas Colt, of that place, to go to Troy, N. Y., and select a bell for the church. I did so, and sent it on. On its way it excited much attention, being rung by the crowd at Dunleith, Dubuque, and more or less at nearly every station along the line. On my return I found it in place in the belfry. The pulpit of solid oak was made under my direction by a carpenter at Greenwood; I cannot call his name.

In some of these statements I may also possibly be mistaken.

What days those were when we we were all working together for that great object ! And though I have since had in hand much heavier jobs-have erected churches into which that might be set (without more than docking the top of the tower a little), and have plenty of room all around-yet never have I more enjoyed my work.

The railroad destroyed the town, but I am glad to know that the Little Brown Church holds its own, and is still accomplishing the work for which it was erected. Some day I hope to revisit the spot, and witness how much and what of fruit remains of these labors so long ago. Yours very cordially,



As will be observed it has not been attempted to give all the churches and school houses in the different townships, but only the more prominent ones. Many of these are scattered over the rolling prairies outside of the various towns and villages, and without some special prominence being attached to them, it would be a dreary list to enumerate.


In politics, the county on all national and state issues, is generally republican, the vote on the presidential election of 1880, was, republican, 1324; democrat, 1003; greenback, 486. In county matters however the party lines are not so closely drawn, and local issues are nearly always able to distribute the offices among the parties. The greenback element in the county has grown to be quite a power as witness the vote of 1882 when for representative to congress from the fourth congressional district, L. H. Weller, the democratic-greenback candidate, received 1,356 votes; and Thos. Updegraff, republican, 9228.



The principal regiments in which Chickasaw county volunteers served, were the seventh, and thirty-eight infantry, and fourth cavalry, whose operations are briefly outlined in this chapter, however many men were in other regiments, as will be seen on reference to the roster of volunteers. A complete list of them is however impossible to prepare at this day, but we have endeavored to make it as full as a thorough search of the adjutant general's report could allow, aided by the testimony of those best posted on the subject. But first will be taken up the action of the county government in regard to the matter.

Chickasaw county was an intensely loyal county throughout the war of the rebellion, and her part in its history was one upon which her citizens are justified in looking back with pride.

At the June meeting of the board of supervisors, in 1861, the following resolution was introduced: "Whereas, There is an extensive conspiracy existing in our nation, set on foot for the purpose of subverting the constitution and destroying the government; and several states being in open rebel-lion against the government, and now making war upon the same; and whereas, the president of the United States has issued his proclamation, calling upon all loyal citizens to rally around the `old flag,' and aid in the suppression of the rebellion; in response to which call, the people of the loyal states are freely offering their lives and money, in support of the best government on earth; and whereas, many of the citizens of Chickasaw county have enrolled themselves as members of a volunteer company, holding themselves in readiness to leave their homes in the defence of their country therefore,

"Resolved, That an appropriation be made to each volunteer, resident of their county, who may enlist from this county, either in the state or national service, of the sum of ten dollars, as an outfit and the sum of three dollars per month, and the further sum of four dollars per month, each, to the wives of such as have families, and the parents of those who depend upon said volunteers for sup-port; and the sum of one dollar per month for each child of said volunteers under the age of six years. Said amounts to be paid for the time and during the absence of the volunteers from their homes, in the service. The said money to be paid to the order of the volunteers, or their wives, from the county treasury, out of the county funds not otherwise appropriated, on the warrant of the clerk of the board of supervisors of this county. And in furtherance of this object, it is hereby made the duty of the supervisors of each township, to furnish the clerk with a certified list of the names of the volunteers who go from his township, together with the names of the parents, wives and children of said volunteers, who may be entitled to money by this appropriation. And the clerk is instructed to keep on file in his office said list, and when any person shall present a valid claim for money under this appropriation, whose name shall appear on either of said lists, said claim, on being duly sworn to, the clerk is authorized to draw his warrant for said amount."

This resolution was adopted by a vote of ten yeas to one nay. The age of children to be aided by the appropriation, was after wards changed from six to twelve years. It will be readily seen that in their haste to testify the county's loyalty to the Union' and in their eagerness to aid in its preservation, the board entailed a very heavy expense upon the young and sparsely settled county; so great an expense, in fact, as to become a burden scarcely able to be borne, and it is no wonder that, subsequently, alterations in the plan became necessary, and expedients were resorted to for the purpose of making the burden lighter, while at the same time continuing to render the assistance needed to the volunteers and their families.

At the January meeting of the board, 1862, a committee of three was appointed to devise a plan to extricate the county from the difficulty occasioned by the appropriation for the benefit of the volunteers. This committee presented a majority report, signed by M. L. Palmer and M. L. Choate, and a minority report, signed by William B. Grant.

The majority report was, in substance, that there were 105 volunteers entitled to the benefits of the appropriation, and the monthly amount, to which they were entitled, was $483, or $5,796 per annum, without reference to future enlistments. It was evident to the committee that the county could not meet its liabilities as fast as they accrued, and county warrants must depreciate to a merely nominal sum, thus defeating the very object of the appropriation.

To remedy this state of affairs; it was proposed: 1st. That commissioned officers, who are receiving the benefits of the appropriation, in view of the ample pay they are receiving from the government, be requested to release the county absolutely from further payments to themselves or their families. 2d. All single men, volunteers from this county, not having parents or friends dependent on them for support, be requested to sign an ooligation, defer-ring further claims to the end of the war. 3d. That those having families, be also requested to sign an obligation, or agreement, deferring the payment of one-third of their accruing claims until the close of the war. 4th. That a promise shall be inserted in said agreement, in relation to the deferred claims, that they shall not be assignable, and that they shall only inure to the benefit of the claimants and their families; and that $3,000 only of the deferred claims shall be paid in any one year. It was proposed also that the clerk embody the above agreement in proper form, and forward them at the earliest practical moment to Capt.. Gardner, Powers and Crawford, with a request that action be taken thereon by those intended, at the earliest possible moment. The report closed with the following proposed resolution: Resolved, that all bounties and payments to persons, who may enlist in the service of this state, or the United States, hereafter, from this county, shall cease from this date."

This report was laid on the table, by a vote of 9 to 3.

The minority report recited the inability of the county to bear the burden of the appropriation, and proposed the following resolutions:

"Resolved, That said appropriation, as far as volunteers to those that do not need assistance, that have volunteered in the service of the state, or of the United States-residents of this county-be discontinued from and after this date; and that families of volunteers, who are in need of assistance, have such appropriation from the county as the supervisors or trustees of their respective townships shall deem necessary. And be it further

Resolved, That the volunteers from this county, who shall, or have returned sick, or in any way disabled in the service, have such appropriation as may be deemed necessary by the county board of supervisors. And further, that the wives and children, or those dependent upon the volunteers, who have been killed in battle, or died in the service of this state, or the United States, shall be liberally provided for by the county board of super-visors."

A motion to table the minority report was lost, by a vote of 3 to 9, but at a subsequent meeting, a motion to table prevailed.

The following resolution was offered by D. A. Jackson, and was adopted by a vote of 9 to 3.

"Resolved, That the appropriation made by the board of super-visors of this county, at the June meeting, 1861, for the benefit of volunteers and their families, be and the same is, hereby repealed, from and after the 6th day of January, 1862."

D. A. Jackson, D. R. Kerby and J. H. Vantassell were appointed a committee to draft a resolution as to the manner of providing for the destitute families of Chickasaw county volunteers. The resolution was immediately prepared, received, and the committee discharged. At the evening session, the resolution was put upon its passage and unanimously adopted as follows: "Whereas, A number of our fellow citizens have volunteered, and entered into the military service of the government, leaving families in destitute circ*mstances; therefore, be it

"Resolved by the board, That all those who have volunteered from this, county, and are in actual service of this state, or the United States; who may have families, residents of this county; that all those families of such volunteers, who are only receiving pay as private soldiers, are by this board considered to be entitled to an appropriation authorized by law to be made by the county board of supervisors, for the benefit of those families who are in destitute circ*mstances. And it is hereby:

"Resolved, by this board, That an appropriation of $4.00 per month be made to the wives of said Volunteers, and $1.00 per month to each child under twelve years of age, and $4.00 per month to the parents of such volunteers, for support; to be paid from the county treasury, as hereinafter provided. And be it further.

"Resolved, That although the families of said volunteers may remove from the county, for temporary stay, during the absence of the aforesaid volunteers, they still are considered by the board as residents of this county. And be it further

"Resolved, That non-commissioned officers shall' be deemed as privates, so far as relates to this appropriation."

A pension of $4.00 per month to widows, and $1.00 per month to each child of deceased volunteers, was unanimously voted.

On examination of the books in relation to the appropriation to volunteers, the board found the amount in warrants issued as bounty to volunteers, $1,100.21; amount in warrants issued as monthly appropriations, $1,279; amount now due as monthly appropriations to January 6th, 1862, $637.48; total, $3,016.69.

Teamsters from the county, in the service of the government, were declared not entitled to the benefit of the county appropriation.

At the September meeting, 1862, it was resolved to ask the general assembly of the state to authorize the board of supervisors of Chickasaw county to levy an additional tax of three mills, to meet the deficiency in the county funds on account of the appropriations to the families of volunteers. At the October meeting, it was resolved to levy a tax of four mills for the benefit of the families of volunteers, to be called the volunteer fund. At an adjourned meeting of the November term, 1862, the appropriation was reduced to $2.00 per month for the wife, and $1.00 per month for each child. At the January meeting, 1864, the appropriation was increased to $4.00 per month for grown persons and $1.00 per month for children under the age of twelve years, "in consideration of the high price of necessaries, and the hardness of the winter," this increase to continue until the June term.

The following appears among the proceedings of the same meeting:

"Whereas, G. R. Rowley, of Chickasaw county, Iowa, is entitled to the banner, by having more sons in the United States service than any other man in said county; he being poor and dependent entirely on the efforts of one son only for his and his wife's sup-port; therefore, be it

"Resolved, That the sum of $5.00 per month be allowed him from the county until further action by this board."

At the September meeting, 1864, the following was spread upon the minutes:

"The friends of the volunteers now in the field, who enlisted in 1861, are requested to notify them that they will be entitled to $3.00 per month from the time of their enlistment up to the time they may be honorably discharged from the service."

At the November meeting 1864. It was adopted "That it is the sense of the board, that when a drafted man of this county's families pays a substitute to take his place, that the drafted man's family is to receive the appropriation from the county the same as if said drafted man was in the service personally.

And upon the records of the board for the January meeting of 1865, we find the following:

"Resolved, That the clerk be authorized to issue county war-rants for full pay to the families of volunteers, from this date, to-wit: The sum of four dollars per month to the wives and parents of the volunteers, and ore dollar per month for each child under twelve years of age, dependent on the volunteer for support. Provided, That this apply only to such as volunteered and entered the service prior to November, 1$62, and also that the clerk draw warrants for the sum of two dollars per month to the wive, and parents of volunteers, and fifty cents per month for each child under twelve years of age dependent upon the volunteers for support this to apply to all who entered the service since November, 1862."

At the regular session of the board of supervisors in September, 1865, a resolution was passed; allowing the widows of all deceased soldiers to draw the allowance, from the county for six months after death of the husband.

And at a meeting in October of the same year, the following resolution appears on the minutes, as having been carried: Re-solved, That all who have enlisted and served as privates, in the U. S. army, from Chickasaw county during the late war, be placed on the same footing, and paid the same monthly wages as by resolution of this board is allowed to volunteers who have enlisted since January 1st, 1862, excepting such regulars from the benefit of this resolution as may have received $300, and upwards, as bounty from the United States.


During the heats of the summer of 1861, while the pulse of the nation beat with feverish intensity, while all hearts were aching with the dread of civil war, and the sound of men flocking to arms, in their country's cause, resounded through all the hills and valleys, forests and prairies of this northland; then the spirit of Chickasaw county was stirred, and men came forward, with alacrity, at the call of the government, for its preservation, company B., seventh regiment of Iowa volunteers was raised, and composed almost entirely of the sons of Chickasaw, Capt. Gideon Gardner and all the officers being residents of the county.

The history of the company is nearly always the history of the regiment, especially so in infantry, therefore we give an abridged account of the movements of the regiment for which we are indebted to the official reports.

"The seventh Iowa infantry was organized at Burlington, Iowa, in 1861. The first companies were mustered into the United States service on the 24th of July, and the last company, I, was mustered in on the 2d day of August. Col. J. G. Lauman was in command of the regiment. On the 6th day of August they broke camp marched to Burlington under a burning hot sun and embarked on the steamer Jennie Whipple for St. Louis. Arrived at St. Louis on the morning of the 8th, and were marched to the arsenal, where they bivouacked for several days. Moved from thence to Jefferson Barracks, where they remained for several more days; were then ordered to St. Louis, where the regiment was armed, the flank companies with Springfield rifles, and the other eight companies with the improved Springfield muskets. The same night they took the cars, and went to Pilot Knob, and after remaining there half a day, marched to Ironton, where the regiment went into camp and remained there, drilling and getting into discipline for two weeks, and were then ordered through southeast Missouri to Cape Girardeau. This commenced the first. campaign of the regiment. The division consisted of six regiments, and was commanded by Brig. Gen'l. B. M. Prentiss. Arriving at Jackson, Mo., during the last days of. August, the command remained one week, then moved to the cape, where they took transports, and went to Cairo, and were sent from thence to what was afterwards known as Fort Holt, Kentucky. The ground was covered with a dense forest and under growth, but in a short time the camp was cleared up, and policed, and all hands were comfort-able. The regiment remained at Holt about two weeks when it was moved down to Mayfield creek, and established camp Crittenden, distant from the Mississippi river about three miles, and from Columbus the rebel stronghold, about eight. Here Lieut. Col. Wentz reported to the regiment for duty. Remaining but a short time at camp Crittenden, the regiment was moved to Fort Jefferson, on the Mississippi, nearly opposite to Norfolk, Mo.

During their stay at Fort Jefferson they still kept a strong picketguard at their old camp Crittenden, at which place the regiment had its first skirmish, in which one man was slightly wounded.

On the 6th of November, 1861, the regiment received orders to-embark on transports, and about night steamed down the. Mississippi a few miles rounded to, and lay all night at Lucas Bend. Early on the morning of the 7th, they got under way and landed on the Missouri shore about three miles above Belmont; disembarking there the troops formed line of battle, and proceeded to the attack of the latter place. The seventh Iowa and twenty-second Illinois were brigaded together and commanded by Col. Dougherty of the latter regiment. The battle of Belmont was a bloody day for the seventh; which went into fight with but eight companies- numbering in all 410 men; two companies, K. and G. being detailed as fleet guard were not in the engagement. The regiment lost, in killed, wounded and missing, 237 men. It was on this field that the gallant and lamented Wentz fell with many other brave officers, viz: G. W. S. Dodge, second Lieut. company B.; Benj. Ream, second Lieut. company C.; Chas. Gardner, second Lieut. company I.; Col. Lauman and Major Rice were both severely wounded, as were also Capt. Gardner, company B.; Capt. Harper, company D.; Capt. Parrott, company E.; and Capt. Kitteridge, company F.

It was in this fight that Iowa officers and soldiers proved to the world that they were made of the right kind of material, and added to the lustre of our young and gallant state.

On the evening of the 7th of November, 1861, the shattered remnant of the seventh Iowa arrived at Bird's Point, where they remained a few days, and were then ordered to St. Louis, Missouri, to. rest and recruit. This terminated the first battle for this brave and gallant host of heroes.

On the 13th of January, 1862, the seventh were embarked at St. Louis, on the steamer Continental, and although the weather was intensely cold, which detained the boat, finally got under way and proceeded down the river about twenty miles; but when that distance was reached the floating ice, with which the river was filled, blocked the boat with its freight of brave boys in blue and was frozen in. Here they staid for two days, until the cold had so congealed the ice that it was solid enough, when the regiment with its baggage was removed to the shore, and took the railroad, and returned to St. Louis. The weather was intensely cold, but the good citizens of that city tendered Col. Lauman the use of the chamber of commerce to shelter his men in, and the boys found comfort in the hot coffee, warm rooms, etc., so generously provided by their friends.

Next morning, the regiment started for Cairo, marching through Illinois and after reaching that place moved forward again. After a fatiguing march, interspersed with some delays for rest, the regiment was ordered to go up the Tennessee, with balance of the troops to attack Fort Henry.

Landing on the morning of the 6th, of February, they took up the line of march to invest the fort, but learned that Commodore Foote had already taken it before their arrival. After remaining a week at the Fort, on the 12th of February, 1862, the march was resumed with Fort Donelson as the objective point, which point was reached next day. About 5 P. M.., the seventh was ordered to the front to support battery H., first Missouri light artillery; and spent the night without shelter or blankets. The next day the regiment was ordered to take its place with the brigade as that was going into action. But after reaching headquarters it was not considered advisable to make the charge so the brigade remained all day in line of battle until the shades of night gave the necessary cover for their removal.

The weather became quite boisterous. A heavy shower of rain falling at midnight, but before morning had dawned it had changed to snow, and the face of the earth was covered with a wintry mantle, and the temperature remaining cold, the men suffered much, owing to their exposed positions and general want of blankets.

On the morning of the 15th the skirmishers were deployed, and at 2 P. M. the brigade was ordered to charge the rebel works. The second Iowa never having been in a fight, having only joined the brigade on Friday the 14th, was given the post of honor in leading the charge, supported by the balance of the brigade. The seventh Iowa moved up to the works in fine style, entered the sally-port, and gained, with the second Iowa, a position inside the rebel works. Then were ordered to fall back and take shelter on the outside of the fortification, where they bivouacked all night with-out fires, and suffered much from the inclemency of the weather. Next morning, Sunday, February 16th, when the day dawned, the white flag from the grim sumfnit of Fort Donelson, told quite plainly that the strife for its mastery was ended, and in a short time our boys were marching in and taking possession. So fell this noted rebel stronghold, and the gallant seventh Iowa claims its mecd of praise.

Here the regiment remained for three weeks, and were then ordered to proceed up the Tennessee river on transports to Pitts-burg Landing. They were nearly a week making the voyage, being unable to land, owing to the tempestuous weather. The regiment remained in camp until the memorable 6th of April, 1862, when Beauregard with his host of rebels attacked our whole line. The 7th Iowa was on parade for inspection when the battle commenced, but in a few minutes it was moved to the front, where it was engaged the balance of the day. About four o'clock P. ns. the whole brigade was ordered to fall back, in which retrograde movement Gen. W. H. L. Wallace, commanding the division, fell, and the 7th lost one officer, color-sergeant, and seven men killed, and a number wounded. The regiment was rallied in the edge of the timber, and helped stop the advance of the rebels, and a short time afterwards fell back to the main road, where the weary troops bivouacked for the night, the rain falling in torrents.

The next morning the whole line advanced on the rebels, and before noon they were in full rout. At night the regiment returned to the old camp and got a warm supper, the first they had had in two days, but were compelled to lie without shelter, the tents being occupied by the wounded of both armies. They remained in camp here until the 27th of April, when the whole army moved to the memorable seige of Corinth. On this march the regiment used the shovel for the first time in throwing up works and rifle pits, and about the first of June, when contiguous to Corinth, it was ascertained that the enemy had evacuated it, and the seventh, with the division, was ordered in pursuit of the enemy. After an arduous tramp without coming up with them, it returned and went into camp near Corinth and remained quiet for the balance of the summer, doing picket and guard duty.

On the 17th the regiment reached Iuka, having left camp two days before, and from Gen. Grant's order No. 1, the division to which it was attached, deserves as much credit and praise as the troops which were actually engaged.

Leaving Iuka the same night, the regiment tramped back to their old quarter at Camp Montgomery, where they remained until the 3d of October, 1862, when they were ordered to the front to meet the forces of Van Dorn and Price. The seventh was on hand, and a more gallant fight the men never made. On the 3d of October, in the afternoon, Gen. Dains, who commanded the division when our weak line was driven back to Fort Robinette, placed the seventh Iowa in a position of honor in support of a battery, which was then stationed at the above fort. At 8 A. M. the next day they were thrown out to support skirmishers, the enemy being in strong force in front. The skirmish line fell back, and upon the fact being reported to Gen. Pains, he ordered the seventh to take position on their old ground, and but a few minutes elapsed before the enemy appeared in their front in vast numbers; but thanks to the nerve of Iowa's sons, the second and seventh Iowa held the ridge, when there was no support from the balance of the division. Gen. Sweeny, who was in command of the briga te, gave the order for them to retire a short distance, and in his official report made special mention of the two regiments in question.

The seventh Iowa retired about fifty yards, when they were rallied and made a charge on the enemy, which put him to flight, and the victory was won. Returned next day to Corinth, where they remained until the 6th, when they moved to Rienzi, from thence to Kossuth, then to Boneyard, where they staid a month, then returned to Corinth, where under tents they spent the winter. In March, 1863, the regiment went to Bethel, Tenn., where it remained until June 1st, when it was returned to Corinth. After much such marching and countermarching all summer, they arrived November 11, 1863, at Pulaski, Tenn., where they went into camp doing escort duty for the various trains of supplies.

About the 20th of December, 1863, orders were received allowing men who had been in the service two years to veteranize, and in a few days three-fourths of the men present for duty re-enlisted. The regiment started home on the 7th of January, 1864, and were furloughed for thirty days from the 20th of January. On the 20th of February the boys commenced to rendezvous at Keokuk with some two hundred recruits, which were mustered into the regiment. Left Keokuk February 27th, and proceeded to Prospect, Tenn., which point they garrisoned until the 27th of April, when they started on the ever-memorable Atlanta campaign.

This march was one of continual skirmishing and fighting. The seventh, upon crossing the Oostanaula river, at Lay's ferry, May 15th, was thrown to the front to feel the enemy, who were in strong force, and but a few minutes sufficed to bring on the deadly conflict, which lasted but a few moments, and terminated in the complete rout of the rebels, consisting of an entire division commanded by Gen. Walker. The seventh Iowa did not number four hundred muskets, and yet out of this small number it lost sixty-five men, killed and wounded, inside of ten minutes. No regiment in the United States service ever behaved with more gallantry, and it was with difficulty that the men could be drawn off from a force five times their number.

This was the first severe fighting of the campaign, but it continued from that time until the first of September, including Rome cross-roads, Dallas, New Hope Church, Big Shanty, Kenesaw Mountain, Nick-a-Jack creek, and in close proximity to Atlanta, in all of which the seventh bore an honorable part. On the 22d of July, during the engagement in which Gen. McPherson fell, the regiment was an active participant, and added new laurels to her former bright wreath.

The regiment moved from the front of Atlanta, and struck the West Point railroad, near Palmetto, and from thence to Jonesboro, supporting Kilpatrick's cavalry in driving the enemy, and was with the command under Gen. Sherman, which compelled Hood to evacuate Atlanta. The regiment went by rail from East Point to Rome, Ga., where it arrived September 20th. It was then ordered to Allatoona on the 4th of October, but did not reach there in time to take part in the bloody fray of the 5th. By orders received the regiment returned to Rome on the 7th of October, and remained until November 11th, when they took up the line of march with that dauntless band of heroes, who marched with Sherman from Atlanta through the heart of Georgia, and with that matchless captain entered the city of Savannah December 21, 1864.


In the fall of 1862, in response to a call for more troops, made by President Lincoln, the county felt its patriotism again aroused, and a full company was raised to go to the front. This was incorporated in the 38th Iowa Infantry, and was known as company C., and as we before traced the movements of the Chickasaw boys by their regiment, we will once again follow their fortunes.

The regiment was organized at Dubuque, and mustered into the. United States service November 4, 1862. The aggregate number at that date being 910 men.

In obedience to orders received, the regiment moved from the camp of organization December 15, 1862, and arrived at Benton barracks, St. Louis, December 17th, by way of the Illinois Central railroad. On the 28th they were ordered by Maj. Gen. Curtis, commanding the department of the Missouri, to report at Helena, Ark. Embarking on board the steamer Platte Valley, the regiment proceeded down the river as far as Columbus, Ky., where it was stopped on the 30th and ordered by Brig. Gen. Davies, commanding department of Columbus, on an expedition out on the Ohio and Mobile railroad, to Union City, under the command of Col. Moore, of the twenty-fourth Missouri. On their arrival there the, next day the forces were drawn up in line of battle to receive the enemy, after patiently waiting for it all day, they failed to make its appearance.

January 1, 1863, orders were received from Brig. Gen. Davies for the expedition to return to Columbus, where further orders were awaiting the regiment from Gen. Curtis, to re-embark on the steamer and proceed to New Madrid, Mo.; all orders to the contrary countermanded. On the arrival of the thirty-eighth at New Madrid, on the 2d, it took possession of Fort Thompson, which had been evacuated, magazines blown up, guns spiked and dismounted, and carriages burned, as also were the barracks. The boys, however, went to work, built new barracks, unspiked and remounted the guns, and remained at New Madrid doing guard duty until June 7th, when, by order of Gen. Curtis, the regiment embarked on. the steamer Daniel G. Taylor, and proceeded down the Mississippi and up the Yazoo to Sherman's Landing, where they arrived on the 11th, and were ordered to report at Young's Point, where they arrived the same day. From thence marching across the point, and crossing the river at Warrenton on the 15th found themselves in front of the enemies' works at Vicksburg, and on the extreme left of Grant's army. Here the regiment was assigned to the first brigade, second division, thirteenth army corps, and were constantly engaged in filling details, supporting the first Missouri battery, constructing earthworks, digging rifle-pits, and advancing our lines until the glorious 4th of July, when the city capitulated.

Many of the regiment were overcome by the heat and the arduous duty, and the miasma which was constantly arising from the swamp on whose border the regiment was encamped, was the cause of fevers and disorders which arose, and reduced it to half its original number. Disease thinned the ranks each day while the casualties resulting from the siege were slight.

July 5th, in company with the other troops, it marched into the works, and on the 12th, while embarking for Port Hudson, the news was brought of the capture of that place, and the regiment ordered up the Yazoo river.

It was with Gen. Herron at the capture of Yazoo City, and in the raid into the country of the Big Black river, from which they returned laden with horses, cotton, mules, and negroes.

Returned to Vicksburg on the 21st, and on the 25th again embarked for Port Hudson, La., where it arrived the 27th. At this place the regiment was so reduced by sickness, that the morning report for August 13th shows only eight officers and twenty men fit for duty. Many valuable officers were lost, among whom was Col. D. H. Hughes, who died on the steamer Lebanon, August 7th.

August 15th, embarked on the steamer Sally Robinson for Carrollton, La., and arrived the following day. While at this place many who had been sent up the river sick, or had been left in the hospital at Vicksburg, rejoined the regiment, which was now again ready for the field, and joined the expedition under Gen. Banks against Texas.

The fleet sailed from New Orleans, October 23, 1863, and after experiencing a heavy gulf storm, arrived at Brazos Santiago, Texas, November 2d. The regiment with the balance of the command was landed on the 3d, and on the 6th moved forward toward Brownsville, encamping the same night on the old battle ground of Palo Alto. On the 9th the regiment advanced to Brownsville, which it found in possession of our forces, to whom it had been surrendered without opposition.

Here the regiment went into camp and continued to do guard duty until the evacuation of the place, which took place July 28, 1864, when it returned to New Orleans.

Arriving at that port on the 5th of August, the thirty-eighth was ordered again to embark on the steamer Josephine, and sailed for Mobile bay, arriving at Fort Gaines (which had been taken on the 7th), on the 9th, and were landed on Mobile point, in the rear of Fort Morgan, the same day. While here the regiment was engaged in picket and fatigue duty, until the surrender of Fort Morgan, on the morning of the 23d of August. After remaining on Mobile Point until September 8th, the regiment was ordered back to New Orleans where it remained for some time. The regiment was engaged in the last battle of the war, which was the taking of Fort Blakely the day before Lee's surrender. The regiment was mustered out of the service at Houston, Texas, but did not disband until its arrival in Davenport. While at Morganzie Bend, above New Orleans, the regiment was consolidated with the thirty-fourth, but still retained its old number; by this consolidation some officers were necessarily dispensed with.


Chickasaw county raised a company for this favorite and gallant regiment, which was known as company H, and also furnished some more men for company B. The regiment was organized with Asbury B. Porter, as colonel; Thos. Drummond, as lieut. col.; S. D. Swan, J. E. Jewett, and G. A. Stone, as majors, and was mustered into the service of the United States at Mount Pleasant, November 21, 1861.

Of the service performed by the cavalry it is difficult to give a connected history, so much of it being done by detached companies, but this regiment has covered itself with unfailing laurels throughout its numberless campaigns, distinguishing itself and losing men at Guntown, Miss.; Helena, Ark.; Bear Creek, Miss.; near Memphis, Tenn.; Town Creek, Miss.; Columbus, Ga.; Mechanicsburg, Miss.; Little Blue River, Ark.; Brownsville, Miss.; Ripley, Black River Bridge, and Tupelo, Miss.; Little Red River, Ark.; Granada, Miss.; Yazoo River, Miss.; White River, Ark.; Osage, Kan.; Lick Creek, Ark.; Okalona, Miss., and St. Francis River, Ark. After partaking of the hardships of many a weary campaign, and suffering the privations and losses attendent on a mounted regiment, it was mustered out at Atlanta, Ga., August 10, 1865.



Major G. W. Howard,

Captain Gideon Gardner,

Captain J. H. Powers,

Captain H. C. Baldwin,

Captain D. E. Bronson,

Captain S. S. Troy,

Captain C. W. Foster,

Lieut. G. J. Tisdale,

Lieut. Albert E. Rupe,

Lieut. John A. Green,

Lieut. F. W. Barron,

Lieut. Geo. Dodge,

Lieut. F. D. Bosworth,

Lieut. E. A. Haskill,

Captain D. McTaggart,

Captain D. C. Crawford,

Lieut. W. W. Birdsall,

Lieut. Chas. Trout,

Lieut. J. A. Albertson,

Lieut. R. W. Foster,

Lieut. O. O. Poppleton,

Asst. Surg. S. C. Haynes.

The following is a list of the non-commissioned officers and privates as far as can be gathered . from the reports of the State Adjutant General. It has been found almost impossible to prepare a complete list at this day, but no pains have been spared to make as full a report as possible.


George W. Stocks.


Dudley L. Campbell,

Gilbert J. Tiadale,

Dan. McTaggart,

Wm. W. Birdsall,

Andy J. Felt,

Geo. S. Arnold,

Geo. Morse,

O. A. Holmes,

H. S. Wisner,

Geo. Pease,

C. J. Channer,

F. Albertson,

J. B. Bailey,

Zelotes Bailey,

Frank Birdwell,

H. Bean,

L. L. Bean,

Z. Z. Bryant,

Levi Carkin,

Allen Case,

D. H. Shannon,

E. J. Taylor,

Jno. Thomas,

Wm. Tannehill,

Jeff. Thomas,

Jno. Morse,

D. Campbell,

Irving M. Fisher,

C. M. Fisher,

C. W. Foster,

E. A. Haskell,

F. M. Hurley,

T. Horton,

Jas. R. Howard,

Benj. E. Morton,

A. H. Morton,

Jno. McGee,

R. H. Mills,

Henry W. Montrose,

Meltiah Nye,

Wm. Nurman,

Burton H. Poppleton,

Julius H. Powers,

Thos. E. Rollins,

Josiah A. Rutherford,

Horatio P. Smith.

E. M. Thayer,

C. F. Palmester,

A. G. Strong,

W. H. Mills,

O. O. Poppleton,

Chas. J. Channer.


David VanKleick,

G. J. Tisdale.

CO. F.

D. L. Benedict,

Myron R. Benedict.

CO. H.

Wm. Everingham.

CO. I.

A. C. Johnston,

Jno. Williams,

Geo. W. Johnston,

Isaac Demott,

Jno. W. Stuart,

Sam. Sutton.


G. C. Reed,

A. J. Allen,

Jno. Welsh,

F. M. Drake.


Thos. R. Boyce,

Chas. Bird.

L. P. Hawley.


Jno. E. Beitler,

Frank McConnell,

Wm. Dyas,

Robt. Beck,

Chas. Victor,

Jno. McConnell,

Newel Helms,

Amos F. Ripley,

L. S. Bullard,

Geo. W. Bean,

Jacob Beck,

E. W. Hall,

John Harris,

B. R. Horton,

Byron Hovey,

J. W. Pratt,

Smiley Sample,

Geo. Wood,

Jno. Rowe.

Richard Bean,

Sylvester Bement,

W. F. Clark,

N. W. Cotton,

D. J. Caswell,

Albert Cuffell,

J. S. Dowd,

Jno. Felcher,

B. G. Feeney,

Henry Greineisen,

Chas. Hickok,

D. Hall,

Alex. Jones,

E. Ludden,

John McConnell,

J. Morris,

Warren Parrish,

Benj. Parker,


Jas. M. Jackson,

Z. H. Morton,

John Pullar,

C. W. Sherman,

D. D. Beynolds,

L. H. Yeager.


Sergent Major, C. W. Foster

CO. A.

Culman Kelley,

CO. C.

James N. Kerr,

F. D. Barron,

T. D. Cotant,

F. Loveless,

Henry L. Sholts,

H. B. Trask,

O. H. Clause,

C. E. Tyler,

A. B. Legg,

C. H. Rogers,

Wm. Johnson,

Geo. Strong,

James A. Glass,

H. H. Huffman,

Ozro Hill,

Jacob Horning,

Wm. W. Hawkins,

D. Henderson,

M. B. Johnson,

Henry F. Steindroph,

S. W. Byers,

F. M. Appleberry,

Zenas Bigelow,

Geo. W. Beach,

Alvin A. Brown,

H. Baker, Jr.

A. M. Coffinger,

Wm. Cotant,

W. A. Cole,

Richmond Carkins,

Benj. Carter,

D. F. Culver,

Jethro Jones,

Henry Kepler,

Samuel Kephart,

C. O. Kingsberry,

R. W. Kidder,

J. A. King,

J. D. Keith,

E. G. Miller, Jr.,

Luke Milmine,

T. E. Mills,

J. H. Parsons,

H. H. Parks,

Chas. S. Parks,

M. C. Roby,

W. C. Rembaugh,

John Roe,

Henry Shoemaker,

Geo. Strong,

F. F. Still,

Chas. P. Snow,

G. W. Simpson,

G. C. Scripture,

W. H. Stone,

Jos. Stutton, Jr.,

Chas. Stowell,

Josiah Spencer,

Allen Vaughn,

N. Vaughn,

A. Vantassell,

John G. Wright,

S. A. Wood,

Abram Wortendyke

O. J. Clapper,

Jos. Dupas,

John Dayton,

Geo. Demiston,

E. H. Ellis,

Geo. Forsman,

L. Fairbanks,

J. Weiler,

John C. Whittier,

T. W. Williams,

Alonzo Wheeler,

Allen Wheeler,

L. Yeager,

Albert Slater,

CO. F.

Jacob Rush.


Jno. W. Dixon,

Jos. Dixon.


Howard Weikle,

Fred Young,

Jesse Weikle,

Peter Young.


E. A. Haskell, 3d Brig. Q. M.

CO. B.

Andw. Bray,

Thomas Legg,

W. G. McDonald,

George Miller,

Milo S. Pelton,

Levi M. Smith.

CO. H.

Stephen W. Grosbeck,

Seth Martin,

D. A. Babco*ck,

E. W. Beach,

Norman A. Chapell,

T. W. Robb,

A. R. Toms,

Geo. W. Miller,

Wm. Doyle,

Oreites Wilcox,

D. Campbell,

N. J. Watson,

W. Reardon,

J. H. Stocks,

Jas. Albertson,

S. M. Legg,

Jas. Miller,

C. A. Baldwin,

Martin Bigger,

Lewis Choate,

F. A. Coe,

H. A. Comet,

And'w Gibson,

Adin B. Harris, L

Chas. W. Session,

Jas. Rooney,

Henry K. Martin,

Geo. Patrick,

Jas. Arnott,

A. J. Bray,

L. H. Huffman,

Zenas Thomas,

H. K. Thomas,

Thos Legg,

Geo. Miller,

C. K. Miller,

M. S. Pelton,

Oliver Pelton,

L. Patrick,

Amos C. Rowley.

C. P. Campbell,

F. R. Coe,

And'w Laird,

Jas. Miller,

E. W. Swift,

Chas. Ready.


M. E. D. Witted,

Jerome Bourcey,

J. H. Brown,

J. F. M. Clark

V. A. Fuller,

M. V. Marion,

T. H. Merritt,

Frank Stephenson,

Wm. F. Tucker,

M. S. Whitney.


Francis Burdick,

Geo. Hawkins,

R. L. Bean,

Daniel Blorhan,

M. Hinchy,

W. McNoble,

M. Nolan,

Fred Padden,

J. R. Stephenson,

C. H. Starboard,

S. H. Todd.


Ambrose Legg,

L. Phillips


Lucius Bernet, 14th U. S. Regulars.

Morgan A. Hance, 1st Nebraska Cavalry.



This chapter is largely devoted to a brief review or chronology of prominent events in the history of the county, bringing them down to the present; omitting, however, the records of elections, and the officers elected each year, as they are given elsewhere.


About this year a trading post was established, by the government, at or near where the town of Bradford now stands.


Land broke and fenced at the forks of the Cedar river for Indians to cultivate; the government treating it as a reservation.


Reported massacre of women and children, belonging to a large party of Sioux Indians, by a land of Winnebagoes on the warpath. This was in Deerfield township as now known.


Truman Merritt, the first white man to make a. settlement within the boundaries of the county, located near the Cedar river, in the southwestern part of the county.


First white child born in the county, being a daughter of Truman Merritt,

T. G. Staples made the first settlement in what is now known as Stapleton township.

Terrence Cumrnerford, first man to locate in Utica township.


First male white, child born within the limits of the county, Elmer Case, at Greenwood.

John and J. A. J. Bird and others settled at Bradford village.


First school at village of Bradford and the first one in the county. James Lyon, afterwards the first county judge, located in what is now Utica township.


During this year the first attempt was made towards organizing the county and an election was held, but John Bird, organizing sheriff, for some reason withheld all returns and it was a failure.

The first settlement made in what is now Chickasaw township by William and Joel Bartlett, Jos. Lee, L. D. Hoisington, Samuel Monroe, James L. Frazee, and others.

Henry Shaffer located in the township of Jacksonville, being the first to do so within its limits.

The first sermon was preached during the year by Mr. Ingam at the house of John Bird at villiage of Bradford.

The first store in the county was also opened this year at the same place by J. A. J. Bird.

The first marriage license was granted to Joseph Aving and Elizabeth Jarrard, September 5.


County organized, with but one election precinct, called Bradford, May 3rd.

First license to peddle issued to L. E. Hackleton, Feb. 10, by the county court.

Commissioners, appointed for that purpose, locate the county seat at Bradford village.

First court house built the same year, being a log house, with-out ceiling.

Andy Sample, built the first saw mill and George Bronson the first hotel in the county, both these at Bradford, where alone there was any settlement to amount to much. William Dow, who has the honor to be the first blacksmith also located this year.

The town of Chickasaw surveyed and platted, and the sawmill at that place erected, this year, as was also the school organized and taught by Miss Jane Billings.

September 1st, Frederick Padden, located at Fredericksburg,being the first settler in that township Samuel Marsh and others following in this same year.

The first settlement was made in Deerfield township, this yeat, by Almon Harris, John and Myrick S purr, Edwin Hale and others, in May.

Hazard Green, one of the most prominent men of the early days, first settled in Jacksonville township, this year, and built the first building, in what was in later times the village of Jacksonville. He was afterwards hotel keeper, justice of the peace, postmaster and sundry other things.

The first tax levy was made this year also.

At Nashua, in Bradford township, the first settlement is recorded as occuring this year.

Wm. Millikan located in Dayton township, and established on an island in the - "Wapsie," a cabin known far and wide as the "hunter's home;" this, with the location of a man by the name of Smith, was the first attempt at settlement in that township.

The first settlers in Richland township are recorded as coming in this year also, among them we find the names of J..B. Upham, Joel Parsons, and David Tingley.


It is recorded that the first church society organized in the county, was of the Congregational denomination, and was established under the ministrations of Rev. O. Littlefield during this year.

William Tucker opened the first store in the village of Chickasaw, in the spring, and the grist mill and a steam saw mill was erected during the summer of the year.

At Jacksonville, in the township of the same name, this year, was established the first store in the town, as was the postoffice.

The first settlement in Washington township dates from this year, as does that of the town of New Hampton, the first house in the latter being a small board building, owned by David Edwards. The first store by Jacobs & Ross.

The township of Obispo was organized and an attempt made to do the same in Washington, but was a failure, being set aside for informality.

Dr. S. C. Haynes, the first physician in the county, also located this year, at Greenwood.

During this year, at Fredericksburg, Rev. S. M. Prentiss, a Baptist clergyman preached the first serman. The first hotel and store were also erected at the same place. The following named persons also began to carry on their respective business at the village of Fredericksburg, this year, viz: Emory Combs, black-smith; J. V. Carpenter, shoemaker; George Hillson, wagonmaker.

Postoffice established this year at New Hampton. Osgood Gowan, postmaster.

H. Bartlett, the first child born in Chickasaw township, dates his advent from this year.

The township of Chickasaw was organized


June, Rosa Padden, the first child in the township of Fredericks-burg, was born. The town was also laid out, this year, by Frederick Padden and Daniel Bloxham. In the same township occurs the following events, this year: Steam saw mill erected; Methodist society organized, and the postoffice established at the "Burg," with F. Padden, as postmaster.

First election takes place since organization of county, and 296 votes cast. There was also a special election this year in aid of the McGregor, St. Paul & Miss. railroad, the vote being by a large majority in favor of such aid.

This year the county divided into various election precincts, and Deerfield and Richland townships were organized.

With this year the county seat question comes to the front. In February a petition was presented to the county court, asking that a vote be taken, at the next election, on the location of the county seat, as between Bradford and New Hampton. The petition was granted, and at the April election the question was submitted to the voters, and decided in favor of Bradford, by the board of canvassers throwing out the vote of Washington township and ten votes in Deerfield, for alleged informity. This led to lawsuits, etc., but was finally settled in favor of New Hampton, that being the geographical centre of the county.

During the year "Brinks Folly" was erected; this was a large hotel, far in advance of the town, built at Bradford.

Deerfield township was organized April 7th of this year; W. F. Wright, organizing constable.

The first school in the town of Jacksonville was established by a party named Cole, and the village laid out and platted in March.

Miss Maggie Nichols teaches the first school in Nashua. Also the first store, in the same place, established, being that of Smiley Sample.


This was a hard year on the early settlers, and is now remembered by them as "starvation year," many subsisting all winter on soft corn.

In May the Jacksonville Republican, the first newspaper in the county, was established. This was followed, the next week, by the Cedar Valley News. The first was edited by Isaac Watson, and the latter by Andy J. Felt. In November of the same year, was formed a stock company, known as the Chickasaw County Republican Association, who purchased the Jacksonville paper of Watson, and changed the name of it to The Chickasaw County Republican.

The first agricultural society of the county was organized this: year. This was a failuare and finally collapsed.

During this year we find the first mention of the town of Nashua on the records of the county judge.

An election held in aid of the Chicago, Iowa & Minnesota raiI-road results in a majority in favor of such aid of said road, being; 309 for and 216 against it.

Washington, Dayton, New Hampton, and Fredericksburg town-ships organized.

The first kiln of brick burned and first brick building erected in the county, being some out building on the place of Hiram Bailey, at Forest City.

A party by the name of Montgomery erects the first hotel in Nashua, and Andy Sample erects the first grist mill at the same place.

Saw mill at Fredericksburg destroyed by fire.

The following are among the events happening in the township of Fredericksburg, this year: First school opened by Miss Anna Bishop; the first marriage was celebrated, being that of Charles Zwick; D. B. Hanan locates as attorney; Julien house built.

Plat of New Hampton is recorded this year, and recites that Gideon Gardner, H. Hamlin, David Edwards, H. Gurley, and E. T. Runion were the original proprietors thereof.

Jno. Nicholas erects first store in Stapleton township, near Crane creek, and the township of Stapleton organized.


April 5th a vote was taken on the county seat question, as between New Hampton and Forest City. On account of alleged informality in some votes in Deerfield, and the board throwing out the entire vote of Washington township, Forest City is decided to have had the matter adjudged in its favor, and court adjourned to that place. The matter was taken to the courts, and the next year decision was given that New Hampton was entitled to the distinction of being the seat of the county government.

In many parts of the country the crops were lost, this year, by entailing much misery.

Utica and Jacksonville townships organized in M arch of this year.

By a vote of the county the aid in favor of the McGregor, St. Peter & Miss. river railroad was rescinded in April.

February 8th the Congregational church, at New Hampton, was organized under the name of the Pilgrim Church of New Hampton. Sawmill, at Fredericksburg, rebuilt.

Dr. Mack, the first physician in the latter town, locates.


The county seat relocated at New Hampton, where it has remained ever since.

During this year was erected at the village of Bradford the Congregational church, well known everywhere as the "Little Brown Church." This was the first church edifice, properly so called, in the county, and stands, to-day, a monument of early days. J. R. Nutting was the first pastor.

Dresden township was organized this year.


This year was made eventful by the first issue of the New Hampton Courier, a paper that still survives the vissitudes of a newspaper life.

In April was organized the agricultural society of Chickasaw county, at New Hampton, and in September 27th and 28th was held the first exhibition of the same. This was a success, and the society still is in existence and maintains a healthy organization.

Baptist church, at Fredericksburg, organized, with Rev. E. G. Groat as pastor, as was the Presbyterian mission, of the same place, with Rev. L. R. Lockwood as minister.

First board of supervisors meet. The tocsin of war having resounded throughout, the land, and the President of the United States having called for men to put down the rebellion that threatened the life of the government, the board pass a resolution, granting to all volunteers from the county a bounty and support for those dependent upon them, who are left to the tender mercies of the world.

In June, of this year, is raised a full company in the county, under the command of Captain Gideon Gardner, and which was incorporated in the famous seventh Iowa infantry regiment, and known as company "B."

In November was also raised a full company, which was attached to the fourth Iowa cavalry, and known as company "H." Besides these many men were enlisted in the county for various other regiments.

New Hampton cemetery association organized.

October, company "C," thirty-eighth Iowa infantry, was raised in the county and went to the front.

Saw mill, at Fredericksburg, destroyed by fire for the second time.


During the year the congregational church, at New Hampton, was erected. The noted Philadelphia banker, Jay Cooke, donating the sum of five hundred dollars in aid of the same.


Mary Case, appointed deputy clerk, being the first instance in the county of a woman's right to public office.

October 3d the first teachers institute held.


The Congregational church, incorporated under the laws of the state of Iowa.

Gideon Gardner, donates the land, in New Hampton, on which to build a court house for the use of the county. The contract to erect the building, was let to J. H. Powers, June 6th, and was to cost $2,986.00.

Cornet band, at Fredericksburg, organized.

The present school house, at the same place, erected.


During the year, a committee appointed, by the board of supervisors, to let a contract, to build the bridge over Cedar river, at Nashua; and to oversee the work on the same.


The committee, appointed by the board, report that they have let the contract, to build the bridge at Nashua, to A. Spaulding, and that he has complied with the terms thereof, and said bridge is completed.

The school house at New Hampton, erected.

The city of Nashua incorporated, under the laws of the state of Iowa.

W. S. Pitts, M. D., locates in village of Fredericksburg.


During the summer of this year, the first railroad broke ground within the limits of the county. This was the Cedar Valley and Minnesota railroad, which entered the town of Nashua in July. It is now known as the Cedar Valley branch of the Illinois Central railroad.

Meeting held in Stapleton township, November 14th, appoint a committee to wait upon the officers of the Milwaukee and St. Paul railroad, approaching the boundary of the county, to ask upon what terms they would put a station at or near Crane Creek.

The fires settlement at the town of Lawler, dates from this year also.

Rosenbaum Brothers, start a bank in Nashua, the first in the county.


In the early summer the Milwaukee and St. Paul railroad broke the ground of Chickasaw county, and located the station at Lawler (or as it was at first called, Crane creek station.) This road was then known as the McGregor and Sioux City, but was shortly after absorbed into the present company, and known as the Iowa and Dakota divison of the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul railway. The settlement of the town of Lawler really dates from this year. The first postoffice was also established with J. A. Green as postmaster.

August 13, Arcana Lodge No. 274, A. F. and A. M. instituted at New Hampton.


The Chickasaw county bank, organized in January, this year. The town of Lawler, was incorporated, with J. W. VanAuken, as mayor. Bryan J. Castle, also established the Lawler Gazette, which however, was of short life as it only run about a year. Methodist church at Fredericksburg erected, and John H. Hiller's saloon at same place destroyed by fire.


Congregational and Catholic churches, of Lawler, organized. Also the German Lutheran church at New Hampton organized, in March of this year.

Independent school district of Fredericksburg organized.


The poor farm purchased, by the county, of Don A. Jackson, for the sum of $3,200, being 160 acres of land, and contract awarded A. W. Utter, New Hampton, to erect the necessary buildings, for the accomodation of the destitute.

Several churches erected during the year; notably, the Catholic and Congregational, at Lawler, and the Methodist at New Hampton.

J. V. Carpenter's residence, at Fredericksburg, burned in the spring the year.


Town of New Hampton incorporated, and first city election takes place May 21st.

Roman Catholic church at Nashua organized, and Catholic cemetery at New Hampton, established.


German Congregational church, at New Hampton, organized. Mount Horeb Lodge, 333, A. F. and A. M. at village of Fredericksburg, established.


Chickasaw County Times, a weekly newspaper, started at Lawler, by F. M. Haislet, now owner of the New Hampton Tribune. Cheese factory at Fredericksburg established.


There being some irregularity in the pievious incorporation of the town of Lawler, a new act of incorperation was past this year.

September 2nd, a lodge of workmen organized, at New Hampton.


This year is marked by the big fire at Lawler, that wiped out nearly the entire business portion of the community. It destroyed, the Times office, the stores of Green and Lynch, E. A. Ervin, Miss E. Lawrence, J. Fitzsimmons, F. Clarkin, W. M. O'Brien, P. O'Reilly, John Nicholas, Lovejoy and McFarland, Mrs. M. F. Binns, Genshaw and Co., J. N. Baker and Co., the saloons of Fitsimmons Bros., and John Doyle, the Lawler litrary, law litrary of D. West, the butcher shop of J. A. Real, five grain ware-houses and numerous other building, and property, aggregating in value $83,500 on which there were was an insurance of only $56,450.

The Episcopal church, at New Hampton, was organized July 30th.

Conflagration at Fredickersburg, destroying the buildings and stocks of Padden Bros., Mrs. Howe and Mrs. Stone, and A. Smith.


John Kolthoff starts the cheese factory, in Dresden township. New church erected in Nashua, by the Methodist denomination, the finest religious edifice in the county.

Lawler Oddfellows organize a lodge.


Smith and Darrow, organize a banking office at New Hampton. Again fire devastates the town of Lawler, burning McNevins, saloon, R. D. Parker's store King's hotel, Exchange bank and the barber shop. The loss was about seven or eight thousand dollars, but the people whose property was thus destroyed, were not discouraged, but went to work with a will and almost before the fire had died out, were making arrangements to continue their business.

First National bank of Nashua organize, with A. G. Case as president, and A. J. Felt, cashier.


Court house at New Hampton destroyed by fire, supposed to have had an incendiary origin. This necessitated a new court house and on this issue hinged the contest for the county seat of this year. Nashua, offering to build a court house and loan it to county for as long as they occupied it for that purpose, but New Hampton merchants, and business men generally, accepting the situation, donated to the county of $5,000 toward a building. This, together with the influence of a remonstrance, signed by a majority of the voters of the county, induced the board of super-visors, to relocate the seat of county government at New Hampton and build the present elegant and commodious building which graces the city.


Again fire visits the apparently doomed city of Lawler, devouring the stores of H. S. Blackett, G. Miller, A. Bechelt, A. P. Johnson, P. O'Reiley and many other buildings, making a loss of about $55,000, of which but a small portion is covered by insurance.

School house, at New Hampton, is also burned during the spring.

During the year, the Methodist Episcopal church, at Williams-town, is erected.

This being a good year for fires, the Dixon house, one of the oldest hotels in New Hampton is destroyed by flames.

First National bank at New Hampton, was organized December 15th.


Vote on the amendment, to prohibit the manufacture or sale of intoxicating liqour, in the state results as follows: 1382 for the adoption of the amendment and 1068 against adoption.

History of Chickasaw and Howard Counties Iowa, by W. E. Alexander, Western Publishing Company, Decorah, Iowa, 1883.


History Index--- Chickasaw County IAGenWeb

Chickasaw County IAGenWeb (2024)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Nicola Considine CPA

Last Updated:

Views: 6251

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (49 voted)

Reviews: 80% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Nicola Considine CPA

Birthday: 1993-02-26

Address: 3809 Clinton Inlet, East Aleisha, UT 46318-2392

Phone: +2681424145499

Job: Government Technician

Hobby: Calligraphy, Lego building, Worldbuilding, Shooting, Bird watching, Shopping, Cooking

Introduction: My name is Nicola Considine CPA, I am a determined, witty, powerful, brainy, open, smiling, proud person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.